We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in Marktplatz”
Review of Cafe Knosel

Cafe Knosel
Ranked #352 of 488 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Right in Marktplatz”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Nice historic place right opposite the Church in Marktplatz. Friendly staff. The menus were in German only so I had to ask for a translation...At the end I got a nice fish with vegetables and a fruity local wine. Best for seating outside in the summer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Londinenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    9
    3
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Right on the corner of Haspelgasse and Heiliggestkirche”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Great food! The pork with a slaw of apples and fresh horseradish and oven baked fish from the river with potato salad were superb! The beauty of the city as we dined outdoors. The staff was attentive and the service was excellent . . . and then the dessert and coffee . . . this will be a place we return to.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A quiet haven amidst the storm of busy Heidelberg”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Heidelberg in the summer gets very busy and very noisy. On a hot summers day after a long drive across from England I was just looking for somewhere to sit, eat and relax.

This cafe is still on the main square but behind the church and therefore far quieter. It was also in the shade and felt lovely and cool despite the heat wave that week. I went for the daily special which was tasty and reasonable value at just over 10 euros

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dagog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great choice for us!”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Perfect for us! Spacious seating since we have a stroller and a baby. The menu was limited and not in English but the server explained the menu and everything was delicious! The schnitzel was good and the serving was pretty big. We are pretty happy

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boracayangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Knosel also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Cafe Knosel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing