We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of Grill 16

Grill 16
Ranked #145 of 538 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Das Restaurant "Grill 16" verwöhnt seine Gäste mit qualitativ hochwertiger Küche. Die Hauptzutat im "Grill 16" ist Qualität - ganz egal, ob sich der Appetit auf Fleisch, Fisch, Pasta oder Salat richtet. Als Steakhaus legt das Restaurant den Fokus auf bestes Fleisch. Unser USDA zertifiziertes Rind von ausgesuchten Züchtern der USA, unter anderem von der Creekstone Farm aus Kansas, ist von Hand geschnitten und bei Steakliebhabern für seinen Geschmack und seine Zartheit bekannt. Die Terrasse des Marriott Hotels am Neckar gehört zu den schönsten Plätzen Heidelberg’s. Bei schönem Wetter ist die Terrasse des Restaurants „Grill 16“ schon morgens geöffnet und empfiehlt sich als Genießer-Oase für viele Gaumenfreuden. Kommen und genießen Sie lokale, saisonale und hausgemachte Produkte – wir überraschen Sie mit einer unkomplizierten, aber köstlichen Küche. Wählen Sie aus unserem vielseitigen Angebot an Fleisch und probieren Sie unsere monatlich wechselnden kulinarischen Highlights.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Used this restaurant several times for breakfast, snacks and dinner whilst staying at the Marriott. Nice, bright and clean inside, with a large patio area outside, right next to the river.
Breakfast was buffet style. Not cheap if you want a full breakfast. €24. Good but not great range of cold and hot options. During the day, this is primarily a steak restaurant. Very nice food but again I would question the value for money. Overall service was very good.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank daveinkent44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens E, Manager at Grill 16, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear daveinkent 44,
Thank you for your great review on TripAdivsor. I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed our service and location.
We are sorry to hear that you found the rate of our All American breakfast buffet to be too expensive. Due to the large variety that we offer, our breakfast buffet is more comparable to an actual brunch buffet, including several warm components.
We would be happy to greet you in our hotel/restaurant again, so that we can show you more of our extensive portfolio of services.

Kind regards,
Your culinary Grill 16 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

The scrambled eggs are served as a brick. If you ask for fresh without a liter of oil in the pan the “chef” gets grumpy about ruining his pan. How can you screw up eggs? Its the first culinary step above boiling water.

Got burger at for dinner and asked for medium rare for my 19 EU burger. Was told “our frozen patties can only be served well done for safety”. It arrived with 5mm of burnt crust on one side.

Eat here if you have to but better choices nearby.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens E, Manager at Grill 16, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Dave H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay. We are very sorry to read that you had just a bad experience with our breakfast. We are also very sorry about the behavior of our chef at the buffet. Usually this is not happening.
Please feel free to contact our service should this ever be the case again by your next stay, they will be happy to assist you with your wishes.

Kind regards,
Your culinary Grill 16 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Stay at Marriott for four days and enjoy the facility the Grill 16 is nice and sitting in the the courtyard watching the Rhine river is certainly relaxing after a busy day. Breakfast is great and have reasonable selection. The staff are welcoming and you can communicate to the staff in English without any problem.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank rayw352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens E, Manager at Grill 16, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Ray N,

Thank you very much for your great rating. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay, our hotel facilities and service, as well as our beautiful view to the river Neckar. We really appreciate your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Marriott Hotel Heidelberg and Grill 16 Restaurant again.

Kind regards,
Your culinary Grill 16 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Came in late after long work day, and ordered food for take away to room, so it was packaged, but the Cesear sallad with grilled prawns was delicious and well made with really good products.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aksel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens E, Manager at Grill 16, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Aksel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay at the Marriott Hotel Heidelberg.
It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay, our hotel facilities and service, as well as our room service. It would be such a pleasure for us to be able to welcome you back at our hotel again someday.

Kind regards,
Your culinary Grill 16 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

I was looking for a steakhouse for having a late lunch (2pm) and - since Heid's opens at 5pm only - decided to try Grill 16. We were not disappointed. The waiter was very helpful to arrange the tables in the way we liked. The Rib Eye steak was one of the best I had in while. The Spare Ribs were very good as well. We spent some 2 hours and enjoyed the serene setting with the Neckar flowing nearby on a sunny day.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StevenJackson2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens E, Manager at Grill 16, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear StevenJackson2016,

Thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your late lunch at our restaurant. Thank you for choosing Grill 16 for your late lunch, it would be a pleasure to us to welcome you here back again soon.

Kind regards,
Your culinary Grill 16 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grill 16 also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Grill 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing