We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good People Watching”

Restaurant Schnookeloch
Ranked #78 of 488 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Diner, German, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Atlanta
Level Contributor
213 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good People Watching”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This location is quaint, on a corner and a great view of the church and faces towards the market square. I stayed in a hotel on this street. The wine variety worked great and was affordable. They have a great indoor establishment with several areas. The food was tasty. They did have free wifi to use for my US based devices. The outdoor seating had candles and blankets as it got cooler into the evening. Service was consistent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in the hotel above and ate here a few nights excellant quality food for fair prices , gets busy some nights so if you know you want to eat there I would recommend a reservation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Fantastic schnitzel”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We tried to get into the Schnitzelbank, but it is mainly a weinstube and only served bottled beer and wine, and we prefer cask beer. The waiter recommended the sister restaurant, Schnookeloch, which is a tavern style restaurant a few streets away. On our arrival, all the tables were reserved but we were invited to share a table with some locals. The schnitzel was absolutely fantastic, one of the best meals of our holiday. The bill was very reasonable considering the quality of the food. By the end of the evening, the restaurant was full of locals who all knew each other, and it had a great atmosphere. We were the only non-German people there.

A great find, and if I go back to Heidelberg I will go straight back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silberhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Historical Student Dining”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

This is worth a stop for dinner while visiting Heidelberg. It is a historical student meeting and eating place throughout the history of Heidelberg University. If weather outside meets your comfort level, then try for a table in the back and outside. Their incredible Badische and Pfalz specialties with Bavarian bier on tap are worth the stop. In high Summer, and on wknd nights, recommend reservations and not a rushed schedule. Gueten Appetit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gbmjrusare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartselle, Alabama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Real German Food”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We found this place almost by accident, and I am glad we did. First off, the staff was very friendly and accommodating to two Americans who did not speak German. The atmosphere of the place is very "German Tavern" (with all the memorabilia on the walls). I got the impression we were the only "non-locals" in the place. Yet despite that, we were made to feel very comfortable, almost as if we were also "locals". Then we received our food. It was fantastic! I had a pork steak in mushroom gravy while my wife had noodles au gratin. Both were VERY good. I know there are a bunch of good restaurants in Heidelberg, but when we return (and we will), we will come back to this place. My wife says it was the best meal she had in Germany.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Schnookeloch also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Restaurant Schnookeloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing