We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ride upon the hill.”

Konigstuhl Funicular (Bergbahn)
Ranked #7 of 91 things to do in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nieuwpoort, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful ride upon the hill.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Going up the hil on a cable car on a one trail track, maating the downgoing car halfway. At the Köningstuhl a wonderful panarama of Heidelberg, the river , the bridge and a very nice terrace and restaurant to have a break. look also into the lobby of the restaurant to see the photos of distuingished and famous visitors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank walterJGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    236
    96
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Go to the top for a great view”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The title says it all. Go all the way to the top and enjoy the view of the Nekkar valley. The songbirds were abundant and added to the ambiance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DRWMETMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great view from the very top....go ALL the way up! The last part is very steep and looks scary but as you're riding it, it doesn't feel that way. Lots of fun!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Körborn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Included in castle entrance!!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The first couple times here, we did not take the funicular, because we figured we'd get some exercise and spend the extra money on another beer. It was not until later visits that we realized one's ticket into the castle was also good for 2 trips on the funicular (one up - one down). If you park below, you can take it up and back. We usually park above the castle and take the funicular into the city, then back up to our vehicle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Take it to the top - then come down to the castle”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We made what is apparently a classic mistake and bought a ticket to the castle thinking it was at the top. The castle is not at the top so we had to find the second ticket window halfway up to get a ticket to the top. Fortunately we were there in May and there was not much of a line so we quickly got through it and made it all the way up. Surprisingly you cannot see the castle from the top of the funicular but there are great panoramic views. Plus there is an outdoor beer garden and a very interesting bird exhibit (requires additional ticket - purchased at the top). We came down to the castle from the top which had a side benefit as we were the only ones arriving at that moment so we had no line to buy castle tickets. Note that if you plan to tour the castle while you are there the entrance fee does not get you to all the interior spaces. There are some that you can only access on the (paid) guided tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konigstuhl Funicular (Bergbahn) also viewed

 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Konigstuhl Funicular (Bergbahn)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing