We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfortable room in the heart of the old city”
Review of Hotel Goldene Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Goldene Rose
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Quiet comfortable room in the heart of the old city”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Whilst holidaying in Germany my wife and I booked just one night in Heidelberg. We wanted to stay as near as possible to Hauptstrasse and chose the Golden Rose. It was a good choice. The tiny entrance to the Rose gave the impression of entering a small rustic pension. In fact, inside, the Rose has been been refitted to a high architectural standard. Our room was light and airy (we had chosen one of the more expensive rooms) and very quiet. The double glazed windows could be opened and had external shutters which we dropped at night. The air conditioning was whisper quiet and very effective. Bedroom and bathroom fittings were contemporary and minimalist and even with two Monet prints on the walls the room felt rather impersonal to our taste. The bed was brilliantly comfortable and, all in all, the Golden Rose met our needs for both an overnight stay and a handy base whilst touring the sights of this magnificent city.

Incidentally, we arrived by train and decided to walk from Heidelberg station. There's little of interest to see on the way and we returned by tram which is fun and much easier. Trams run regularly between the station and Bismarckplatz. Buy your ticket from the machine before boarding and you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    80
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
32
91
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Second time there although I did not remember until I go tot the door. Nice room good location. A little noise in one morning from the street but then it is the city so not unexpected - otherwise very quiet since it is on a pedestrian street. Great location as Bismarkplatz has all the transport and the Altstadt is not far away. I paid 103.5 a night my colleague paid 100. That is reasonable for central Heidelberg.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A very nice, modern hotel with very clean, spacious rooms at the edge of the Altstadt, and therefore easy to find. Best parking in nearby public parking garage (100 m away). Free wifi and excellent breakfast! Perfect choice in wonderful city!

Room Tip: Take a room at the back, not on the street side where it can be noisy later at night. Parking is eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuurstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

When my husband and I were newly engaged, we stayed in Germany for several weeks. Two nights spent here Summer 2010 and two nights back in high school Summer 2006. Stayed in the back house then, and the upstairs room when with my husband. The Garden is lovely and the ambiance is superb. Very affordable place to stay in the medieval town for the quality. Food is OK, many restaurants to choose from nearby so we only ate light breakfast here. English of the hostess is very good.

Room Tip: If you can choose the garden house (Name?) in the back, it has a private alley gate locked entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location, is inexpensive, and very nice. The staff were extremely helpful and efficient having saved us the requested space to park our motorcycles in the on-site garage. Rooms were very well equipped. Breakfast was good. We would definitely stay here again (and probably will now we have discovered it)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel is centrally located, literally on the Hauptstrasse. Room was very clean, wifi worked very well and the bathroom was excellent. Just disappointed that here was no parking available. Be careful, the car park can only accommodate 5 or 6 cars and is very tight. We were told we would have to park in a public car park around 200 meters away - and of course pay the overnight parking fee. Bit of a pain in the morning carrying back bags etc..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rharrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
358 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Don't be afraid to have your nice car parked by the petite lady in high heels at reception, she will do a good job to fit half a dozen cars in a very small car park :-) Ours was certainly in safe hands.

We were given a good room on the top floor, with a king size bed and large corner bath. There was AC (which we did not need) and everything was very clean except that the room smelled a bit - the sort of smell you get when the cloths used for cleaning the room have not been boiled and harbour bacteria. Opening the windows soon solved the problem but it was a bit off-putting. Otherwise, the room was really excellent.

This is no bar of soap in the bathroom (which always annoys my husband and is why we always carry a small bar of soap wherever we go), just liquid soap dispensers at the sink and by the shower. The towels are good quality and - this is a fantastic idea which should be followed by other hotels - you get towels in two different colours so you always know which one is yours.

The hotel itself is extremely clean, with white walls and blue carpets, all looking pristine. The breakfast was fantastic (amazing fruit platter). Free Wifi is a big plus although it did drop a few times when we were using it.

There was an unplugged fridge in the room and it was empty (a bottle of water at €2 is provided), so plan to take your own drinks (although there's no way to keep them cool) or go to a nearby bar.

Overall, a very good experience and the hotel is so near the high street, it's a pleasure to be able to walk to most of the sights after a long drive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caratania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#16 of 76 in Heidelberg
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center
0.3 mi away
Exzellenz Hotel
Exzellenz Hotel
#19 of 76 in Heidelberg
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldene Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Rose

Property: Hotel Goldene Rose
Address: St.-Anna-Gasse 7, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldene Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Goldene Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldene Rose Hotel
Goldene Rose Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing