We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel just off the busy shopping street” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Goldene Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Goldene Rose
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel just off the busy shopping street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel was conveniently located, right by the main shopping street and just a 5 min walk away from the bridge. The hotel (including the breakfast area) was nicely decorated and feels really cosy)..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tabby182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    78
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
31
89
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Whilst holidaying in Germany my wife and I booked just one night in Heidelberg. We wanted to stay as near as possible to Hauptstrasse and chose the Golden Rose. It was a good choice. The tiny entrance to the Rose gave the impression of entering a small rustic pension. In fact, inside, the Rose has been been refitted to a high architectural standard. Our room was light and airy (we had chosen one of the more expensive rooms) and very quiet. The double glazed windows could be opened and had external shutters which we dropped at night. The air conditioning was whisper quiet and very effective. Bedroom and bathroom fittings were contemporary and minimalist and even with two Monet prints on the walls the room felt rather impersonal to our taste. The bed was brilliantly comfortable and, all in all, the Golden Rose met our needs for both an overnight stay and a handy base whilst touring the sights of this magnificent city.

Incidentally, we arrived by train and decided to walk from Heidelberg station. There's little of interest to see on the way and we returned by tram which is fun and much easier. Trams run regularly between the station and Bismarckplatz. Buy your ticket from the machine before boarding and you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Second time there although I did not remember until I go tot the door. Nice room good location. A little noise in one morning from the street but then it is the city so not unexpected - otherwise very quiet since it is on a pedestrian street. Great location as Bismarkplatz has all the transport and the Altstadt is not far away. I paid 103.5 a night my colleague paid 100. That is reasonable for central Heidelberg.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank womullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

A very nice, modern hotel with very clean, spacious rooms at the edge of the Altstadt, and therefore easy to find. Best parking in nearby public parking garage (100 m away). Free wifi and excellent breakfast! Perfect choice in wonderful city!

Room Tip: Take a room at the back, not on the street side where it can be noisy later at night. Parking is eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuurstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

When my husband and I were newly engaged, we stayed in Germany for several weeks. Two nights spent here Summer 2010 and two nights back in high school Summer 2006. Stayed in the back house then, and the upstairs room when with my husband. The Garden is lovely and the ambiance is superb. Very affordable place to stay in the medieval town for the quality. Food is OK, many restaurants to choose from nearby so we only ate light breakfast here. English of the hostess is very good.

Room Tip: If you can choose the garden house (Name?) in the back, it has a private alley gate locked entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location, is inexpensive, and very nice. The staff were extremely helpful and efficient having saved us the requested space to park our motorcycles in the on-site garage. Rooms were very well equipped. Breakfast was good. We would definitely stay here again (and probably will now we have discovered it)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel is centrally located, literally on the Hauptstrasse. Room was very clean, wifi worked very well and the bathroom was excellent. Just disappointed that here was no parking available. Be careful, the car park can only accommodate 5 or 6 cars and is very tight. We were told we would have to park in a public car park around 200 meters away - and of course pay the overnight parking fee. Bit of a pain in the morning carrying back bags etc..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rharrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#11 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.6 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldene Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Rose

Property: Hotel Goldene Rose
Address: St. Anna-Gasse 7, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldene Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Goldene Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldene Rose Hotel
Goldene Rose Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing