We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money - Nicely Located”
Review of Hotel Goldene Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Goldene Rose
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here on a business trip as everything else was fully booked. Being located in a quiet little street close to the old part of town and to public transport makes access very convenient (most central locations can be reached by foot) and the stay very pleasant for me (don't like it noisy). My room was rather small but perfectly clean and equipped with all relevant amenities. Great breakfast, rather extraordinary for the price. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Bottom line: Great value. I can definitely recommend the place and will return when back in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORT2MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Goldene Rose
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel an year back on a short trip to Heidelbeeg. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are well done and cosy. However, my room was right on the Heidelberg's main street due to which it remained noisy even till late hours. The breakfast served was fantastic and the staff was very helpful. I would recommend to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

As part of a recent trip to Europe, my wife and I stayed in Heidelberg for a night. The town–and the Hotel Goldene Rose–caused me to wish we’d planned for a longer stay. For the price, the Goldene Rose is an excellent value

We drove in, so I had reserved parking at the hotel. Their garage is small, so a parking reservation is vital. It’s kind of fascinating to watch the clerk maneuver your car into the tightly packed garage.

The service was efficient and we were quickly in our room. The hotel has some twisty corridors and no elevators, so if this is an issue for you, be sure to note it on your reservation.

The room was about average size for a European hotel, which is to say plenty big enough, but you wouldn’t want to have a cocktail party in there. The room was clean and well appointed and the bathroom was well-stocked with toiletries. Also, internet was free!

The breakfast is excellent, with a large selection of fruit, cheese, meats and breads—certainly the best continental breakfast we had on our trip.

The hotel is at one end of the Hauptstrasse, which is a pedestrian shopping street, so it’s convenient to the shops and cafes there. The hotel staff is pleased to offer dining suggestions. The funicular to Heidelberg Castle is at the other end of the Hauptstrasse, but it’s not a bad walk. We were there right before Christmas, so there was a bazaar in the town square at the far end of the street.

So, for the room quality, service, breakfast and location, the Goldene Rose is an excellent choice for a visit to Heidelberg. I hope we get a chance to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank socalsteve19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel was conveniently located, right by the main shopping street and just a 5 min walk away from the bridge. The hotel (including the breakfast area) was nicely decorated and feels really cosy)..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tabby182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Whilst holidaying in Germany my wife and I booked just one night in Heidelberg. We wanted to stay as near as possible to Hauptstrasse and chose the Golden Rose. It was a good choice. The tiny entrance to the Rose gave the impression of entering a small rustic pension. In fact, inside, the Rose has been been refitted to a high architectural standard. Our room was light and airy (we had chosen one of the more expensive rooms) and very quiet. The double glazed windows could be opened and had external shutters which we dropped at night. The air conditioning was whisper quiet and very effective. Bedroom and bathroom fittings were contemporary and minimalist and even with two Monet prints on the walls the room felt rather impersonal to our taste. The bed was brilliantly comfortable and, all in all, the Golden Rose met our needs for both an overnight stay and a handy base whilst touring the sights of this magnificent city.

Incidentally, we arrived by train and decided to walk from Heidelberg station. There's little of interest to see on the way and we returned by tram which is fun and much easier. Trams run regularly between the station and Bismarckplatz. Buy your ticket from the machine before boarding and you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Second time there although I did not remember until I go tot the door. Nice room good location. A little noise in one morning from the street but then it is the city so not unexpected - otherwise very quiet since it is on a pedestrian street. Great location as Bismarkplatz has all the transport and the Altstadt is not far away. I paid 103.5 a night my colleague paid 100. That is reasonable for central Heidelberg.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank womullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A very nice, modern hotel with very clean, spacious rooms at the edge of the Altstadt, and therefore easy to find. Best parking in nearby public parking garage (100 m away). Free wifi and excellent breakfast! Perfect choice in wonderful city!

Room Tip: Take a room at the back, not on the street side where it can be noisy later at night. Parking is eas...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuurstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#11 of 76 in Heidelberg
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#16 of 76 in Heidelberg
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tannhaeuser
Hotel Tannhaeuser
#40 of 76 in Heidelberg
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center
0.6 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldene Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Rose

Address: St.-Anna-Gasse 7, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range: £100 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldene Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Goldene Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldene Rose Hotel
Goldene Rose Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing