We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gasthaus Hackteufel
Ranked #1 of 12 Heidelberg B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in central location”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We celebrated our engagement by staying at the Hotel Hackteufel in beautiful Heidelberg.
We chose to stay here because it is a small and intimate place located in the centre of the historic town. It has the character and charm of what I imagine a Bavarian inn to be like.

Our room, possibly number 12, was an attic room. It had plenty of space, a decent bathroom with a bath and shower over it, lovely exposed wooden beams forming the apex of the roof and a gorgeous view over other rooftops toward the castle. We thought it was charming. The room had air-conditioning, which I was very glad about. Be warned - some of the other rooms do not have it.

We read reviews warning about noise levels emanating from the busy street. I am pleased to report we had no problems with noise at all, though I could see it possibly being noisier from other rooms.

Breakfast was pleasant. It was a traditional German breakfast with cereals, fruit and cold meats served in the wonderful and eccentrically decorated restaurant.

The beds were reasonably comfortable but the pillow and sheets felt like polyester. This could be improved in my opinion.

The hotel had lots of character and charm and we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyReviewToo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    43
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
53
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinson, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was my 2nd visit to Heidelberg and 2nd stay here at the Hotel Hackteufel. This hotel is like a home away from home for me, the smell of good tasting German food from the restaurant, and the rooms are very friendly and comfortable. Staff, well you could not ask for anything more perfect, friendly and courteous and the staff treats you as part of the family. Atmosphere is truly Bavarian and would recommend this Hotel Hackteufel to anyone and everyone. I will return to the friendliness and good tasting food here at the Hotel Hackteufel. Very convenient to the Castle and within walking distance to other points of interest within the Old Town. The rooms across the front at times will have noise from the street, but ear plugs are provided in each room, but never used them because I was out in the street being part of the noise making. Great and wonderfully place.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear are less noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganDamnYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

First, there are some positives about this hotel. First, the location is great for restaurants and shopping. The breakfast was good and the young woman who checked us in was very friendly. There is a big difference in room quality though. We were traveling with our daughter and son-in-law. They were given the attic room which was very large and nice. They had a good view of the castle. Our room was not bad, just not near as neat as the attic room. We just had a shower where they had a tub shower combination. Their room was also equipped with an air conditioner, while we had a fan. I was just surprised at the disparity between the rooms when they were the same cost per night.

If you stay here, be aware that it is a little confusing to find even with a GPS. It is a good walk from the parking garage to the hotel. Also, the noise is an issue. We just accepted the fact that until the restaurants in the area closed, we were not going to be able to sleep. Shutting the windows was not an option because of the warm temperatures.

Despite the negatives, I still would have given this hotel 4 stars if not for our experience the morning we checked out. The young woman who checked us in had said they would be glad to store our bags if we wanted to stick around Heidelberg longer on the day we checked out. We were there on a Monday and Tuesday. Lots of the attractions are closed on Monday so we decided to have the hotel store our bags and visit them on Tuesday. There was a middle- aged blonde haired woman who checked us out and she made it clear it was a big hassle to store our bags and she did not want to do it. We were really trying to be nice and put our bags anywhere so they would be out of her way. She very grudgingly showed us where to put them where they would bother her the least. When we walked out of the hotel, my husband said "Let's not let that woman's attitude ruin our day". Nonetheless, her attitude put a damper on the day and we visited just a couple sites we really wanted to see, and then hurried back to retrieve our bags because the clerk had made us feel so guilty about leaving them there. On a positive note, we stayed at six different hotels on this trip and this was one of only two hotel personnel on the whole trip who were rude and unkind. Most of the people we encountered were very warm and friendly.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mizzoualum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We arrived in Heidelberg late in the evening with no reservations. Luck for us, the Gasthaus Hackteufel had a room available! The staff was so friendly and accommodating. The room was absolutely wonderful and a reasonable rate. We had Room No. 8 and was on top of the building with a beautiful view! We got into the room quickly, freshened up a little, then went downstairs and ate dinner in their very cozy restaurant. We ate breakfast in their restaurant as well. The food and service was terrific! We will absolutely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Heidelberg!

Room Tip: It was so pleasant to receive such a warm and friendly welcome after our long drive to Heidelberg!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I've stayed in this hotel on several occasions, and the location is perfect. Right next to the old bridge across the Necker, a two minute walk to the plaza, and perhaps ten minutes from the Schloss (castle) it really can't be beat in this area of Heidelberg. I recommend the large room on the courtyard or the modern room on the second floor above the entrance on the street. the restaurant is excellent, service good for Germany, and everything you need is within a two block radius.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms listed above. They are huge by any standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austex_gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

With a little work this place could so awesome. First off the restaurant is great. We arrived late and they were still open and happy to serve us. The breakfast was awesome as well. The location is perfect. Its right in the heart of things. Parking can be a challenge as you have to park on the street and walk a bit. But they actually offered to come to our car and get our bags. The staff was courteous and helpful. The biggest problem is the place is in need of a serious update/upgrade. The rooms are spacious which is not usual in an old town like this. The furniture needs to be upgraded seriously. The furniture looked like my college furniture from the early 90s. It seemed cheap and flimsy. With an upgrade this place could rival any other hotel in the area.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The hotel is at walk away distance to many attractions and malls. Rooms are neat, compact but not right at the hotel. You have to walk a small distance to reach the rooms. Food is good and not excellent. The service is good. It is like a budget hotel but with enhanced room quality. Though the beds looked very clean, I had severe allergy and had to spread lots of news papers to have a good sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACCUDIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
216 reviews
1.3 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
977 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
#21 of 76 in Heidelberg
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
#15 of 76 in Heidelberg
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Hackteufel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Hackteufel

Property: Gasthaus Hackteufel
Address: Steingasse 7, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthaus Hackteufel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gasthaus Hackteufel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthaus Hackteufel Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing