We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's right for the right people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gasthaus Hackteufel
Ranked #1 of 12 Heidelberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you are looking for 5-star accommodations of name brand hotels, go somewhere else. If you want charm, a cultural experience, and a great location, this is the place for you. The location is very central. The breakfast was very good. The atmosphere is warm and quaint. The facility itself is old, which means everything is on the small side, but that's part of the appeal. The service is personal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back alley don't have a view but are quieter. But it's a sleepy town, I recomme...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LBCDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Gasthaus Hackteufel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel with our children and I am really sorry to say our experience was highly disappointing, to be compensated only by the beauty of the city and its lovely people (outside the hotel). We had room on the first floor and our children were on the second floor. Our request for a room on the same floor was flatly refused by the lady at the reception, who all throughout our stay was rude, curt, stiff and unwilling to help! This was experienced not only by me and my husband but also by our children. Unfortunately for us, it is she who was at the reception mostly during our stay. Our first floor room was small and cluttered with old furniture, leaving a little moving space. As both the rooms overlooked the street lined with cafés and restaurants, it was very noisy till late at night, making it almost difficult to sleep. The way to the hotel is through the restaurant which is not a happy feeling, with a common reception for the restaurant and the hotel! The breakfast was very poor with hardly any selection and was very poorly and inconveniently laid on the counter. There was also no one to attend to us or our needs while we were having breakfast. The hotel is close to the major tourist sites- the cathedral square, bridge and the pedestrian street, for which the tariff charged is certainly is on a very high side and unreasonable , looking to the poor service and facilities offered by the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VaneetaG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Not much to add here to the other reviews that say it all really - the location is great, once you are there and checked in - feels a bit strange to drive your vehicle down those cobbled streets full of people, but it's perfectly legal! They showed us a place close by to park our motorcycle, which was helpful. There does seem to be a big difference in the standard of room, and they could maybe think about reflecting this in the price? Our room was absolutely fine, quite small but clean and functional (with a TINY bathroom), and some nice touches like Haribo on the pillow and free wine and water - very nice. Other rooms though (especially the attic room) seem to be way above this standard, so I would recommend asking for this one. I felt the price was a little expensive for the standard of room we had, but if we had the attic room, no doubt it would have felt about right. The free wifi is fine although we could not stream anything using it, just a basic connection, but it worked ok. There was some noise for sure, but this was the night Germany won the World Cup, so I think it's excusable!! The staff were all friendly and helpful, and spoke good English, which we appreciated. Would recommend this place - especially the restaurant!

Room Tip: The attic room!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beckahodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I spent three nights here at the end of April. What a delightful place! Every attempt has been made to capture a traditional German atmosphere and it works. Our room was more than adequate and spotlessly clean. Breakfast in the beautifully presented dining was a highlight. And the staff coudn't have been more pleasant and helpful. The location is brilliant, just a few hundred metres from the Hauptstrasse, the mile long main street. It is also a short stroll to the Neckar river where a leisurely walk along the banks or even a boat-ride lets you take in the truly beautiful sights of Heidelberg We had a room overlooking the main street so there was some noise but not enough to be of concern, although we did wonder if weekends would be worse.

Room Tip: This is an old building in the old part of town and so some noise is inevitable as it probably would...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianwhAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at Hackteufel for 2 nights and really enjoyed this charming little hotel. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. You couldn't ask for a more convenient location to all the tourist sites in Old Heidelberg. It's an easy walk to the Castle, churches, Philosopher's Way, and all of the Altstadt. There is some street noise since the hotel is located on a street of restaurants, cafés and bars, but the noise didn't bother us during our stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank SteveB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

LOVED my stay at this very sweet Inn! Fantastic location right in the centre of Heidelberg, just minutes walking to the bridge, the castle, and the main shopping square. Comfortable beds with a sweet old Germany decor. Our room was at the very top of the stairs with gorgeous views over the rooftop toward Heidelberg Castle. I recommend asking for this one for sure, though there are 2 beds in the room, so best suited for non-couple travellers. Traditional German food served in the restaurant, which while being calorie-loaded, was a meal I will drool over every time I think about it ha! In the morning we came down to a nice little table reserved for the two of us, with a continental breakfast buffet. Everyone at the Inn was amazing, great customer service, I would recommend this Inn to anyone!!

Room Tip: Room on top floor with views toward Heidelberg castle are best!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mpjotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. It's cute with wooden rooms, abundant breakfast, friendly people managing the hotel, WiFi available in the rooms, possibility to have dinner in the hotel (which is also a good restaurant). It's located in the historical part of the city (ca 35 min walking from the stations), very closed to the old and big church, optimal for sightseeing, shopping and eating. In the morning it was quite noisy due to loading/unloading of the surrounding shops.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oibafomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#11 of 76 in Heidelberg
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
#15 of 76 in Heidelberg
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
998 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
#21 of 76 in Heidelberg
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Hackteufel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Hackteufel

Address: Steingasse 7, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Heidelberg
Price Range: £94 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthaus Hackteufel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gasthaus Hackteufel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthaus Hackteufel Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing