We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check-in a bit difficult, otherwise great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dubliner Hotel and Irish Pub
Ranked #50 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Check-in a bit difficult, otherwise great!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We recently stayed at Dubliner. It's very central, the room is spotlessly clean as is the bathroom. The room isn't huge, but it's more than adequate. The bathroom is small, but again it's more than adequate.
The only difficulty I have with it is our attempts at check-in. We knew we needed to check-in at the pub. This is fine, except the pub was very busy when we got there and we found it difficult to get anyone to deal with us. It was frustrating at the end of a long day's travelling!
The bed was lovely and comfortable. We were slightly worried about noise as we could hear the toilet next door flushing, but that was the only sound we ever heard!
All in all, great stay and we'd stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    54
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
15
62
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Might be a good drinking venue but the food is terrible. Cold nachos and sour 'Irish stew' with corned beef which could not be classified as a stew or even food fit for human consumption for that matter. First time I haven't finished a meal in 3 months of traveling Europe. No good!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank JPhegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

we were in town for a friend's wedding and only stayed at this hotel for one night. the location is great: it is perfectly downtown Heidelberg right in the middle of all the cafes and shopping. There are parking garages close by so that you only have to walk a couple of blocks to the hotel. The hotel itself is upstairs from the Irish Pub. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was really friendly.

There was no elevator, so we had to carry our suitcase up to the third floor. (Not a big deal, but something to consider if you have problems climbing stairs.) The window opened up onto the front of the hotel, so there was some noise from the cafes at night, but it wasn't too rowdy.

The really big plus for this hotel was that they provided us a fan! Heidelberg was having quite the heat wave going, and the fan made it bearable and made it so that we could sleep. THANK YOU!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kyra_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divener
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My wife and I had the most amazing time in Heidelberg with special thanks to The Dubliner. We spent 3 days in the city and since the Hotel is right in the heart of Heidelberg, it was the most fun, picturesque and convenient place to stay. Having the best Irish Pub below us made it so easy to get fantastic food (both German and typical Irish dishes) and have a great night's stay just minutes from the streetcars, sites, and castle. The staff was absolutely the best group of people you can meet; all friendly and professionally courteous. The hotel rooms are standard European sizes but with all the conveniences of home. If you have any issues or questions with the rooms, the owner will bend over backwards to ensure your stay is nothing but perfect. Simply, the friendliest, most giving and hospitable place you can choose in Heidelberg. Thanks NS!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Didn't stay at the hotel but the staff and owner of the pub were wonderful and very helpful in navigating the town. The food was traditional Irish which we all enjoyed very much. They went above and beyond in directing us to the local sites. Very friendly!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judbeachler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The room was small, the bad single, no chair, no table, but it is not a problem; the change of towels - only after 2nd night; I had the fissure in my door with corridor light enter inside. position is city center, this is ok.

Room Tip: Here "cheaper" means "worse"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleksisAleksis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My father and I traveled to Heidelberg recently as part of a father-son trip. We stayed at the Dubliner. It has a great atmosphere. The rooms are small by American standards, but so are all German hotels, but the owner is a friendly guy, fluent in English and German. Next door to the bar, it's a fun place to hang out after a long day visiting the beautiful sites in Heidelberg. When we were there München was playing Dortmund. We missed all but the end of it, but still it was a worthwhile stop on our trip.

I personally didn't have any problems with the noise being too loud from the bar--I was exhausted from the flight, but my dad was kept awake till 3:30 by people still partying in the streets outside the bar.

Room Tip: I've heard that if you can, you should request the top rooms as to avoid the noise of the bar be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perkeo
Hotel Perkeo
#26 of 76 in Heidelberg
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weisser Bock
Weisser Bock
#39 of 76 in Heidelberg
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hip Hotel
Hip Hotel
#30 of 76 in Heidelberg
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#36 of 76 in Heidelberg
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dubliner Hotel and Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dubliner Hotel and Irish Pub

Property: The Dubliner Hotel and Irish Pub
Address: Hauptstr. 93, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dubliner Hotel and Irish Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dubliner hotel is located on the main pedestrian street in the heart of Heidelberg. The suite on the top floor has a balcony with a great view of the Heidelberg Castle. It was newly renovated in March 2006. In Summer breakfast is served in the lovely beergarden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Dubliner Hotel and Irish Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubliner Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing