We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in a lovely city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ArtHotel Heidelberg
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Right from the start this hotel made a great impression. Tired after a long drive we arrived to a good welcome and a room full of character, comfort and style. The room overlooked the central courtyard of this tastefully restored and converted building, with old and new blending exceptionally well. If you enjoy stylish design features you will appreciate the care with which this hotel has been furnished and decorated - artful design features never overwhelming the character of the original building but making a statement nonetheless. The hotel was surprisingly quiet for early September, but we enjoyed our stay immensely with dinner and breakfast being of a very high quality! The staff couldn't have been more helpful and contributed to our enjoyment of our stay. On site secure parking was a much appreciated bonus with a car full of luggage,

Situated in the old town, the hotel was perfectly located to explore the most interesting sights of Heidelberg on foot. A university town, obviously popular with tourists, with plenty to see and explore. There was a really nice atmosphere in the central area of the town with cafes and shops in abundance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for ArtHotel Heidelberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel was one of four hotels we stayed in during our road trip of the region. The hotel is a short stroll from all of the central sites, and has been thoughtfully styled. Our room had its original painted ceiling, which was beautiful and unexpected. The bathroom was indeed a bathroom, with a large bath and separate shower (which many hotel rooms don't now have). Our car was also very comfortable during our stay, in the hotel garage. Heidelberg is an ideal city to visit for a short break. Great for romance and history lovers, with a Schloss where James I daughter Elizabeth Stuart once lived following her marriage to Frederick V. The city has a plethora of bars and restaurants to choose from, so no chance of going hungry or thirsty. Fantastic ice creams from the shop on the street leading to the Old Bridge (black cherry was amazing). What also stood out at the Arthotel was the reception we had from the staff, who were at all times genuinely friendly and helpful. For example, on check in we were helped with our luggage and personally shown to our room. Thankyou Arthotel. A memorable start to our road trip.

Room Tip: Check if the painted ceiling room is available
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somersetfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

You will feel at home here. Staff amazing and quite nice rooms for this area of Germany. Would definitly stay again. Easy commute if visitng SAP in Waldorf and much better than actually staying in Waldorf! University town with a great walking area with lots of nice shops.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donjo_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, room was very big, but watch out for low beams in the ceiling! Lovely modern decor. Bathroom was great. Everything was very clean. Good location. Heidelberg is an easy town to get around on foot. Lots of good bars and restaurants. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salutethesunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

All the positive reviews of Art Hotel are 100% true!
Location: Take a taxi from the station to the hotel.
Staff: The staff was extremely professional and warm.
Rooms: The décor was minimalist and stylish.
Food: Excellent.

All in all, the hotel is excellent for those who have come to enjoy the old town of Heidelberg. There are many great attractions nearby, including shopping in the "Hauptstrasse" or a walk in the "Philosophenweg"?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estelle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Located in Heidelburg old town area, Art Hotel is just a short walk away to all the popular historical attractions in Heidelburg and the 'longest shopping street' in Germany! A smallish hotel, yes, but big on service level and facilities. The rooms are a good size, clean, comfortable and furnished in a 'minimalist' way. The restaurant has a nice warm ambiance and the food is good - very good breakfast spread. Service level is great, Tom (I hope i got that right), the manager, was efficient in attending to requests. I note some reviewers found the church bells tolling at certain times of the day disturbing, for me it was rather pleasant and therapeutic! All in, a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at Art Hotel.
My only complaint? I detected slight cigarette smell with the towels on a number of occasions, maybe the hotel can look into this as it may be annoying for none smokers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenlow118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Nice hotel but got a noisy room on road in front of hotel, despite requesting a quiet room from a booking made many months before. Asked for change but was told not available! And the 7am church bells from over the road went for 5-10 minutes! If you want a good nights rest go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
1.2 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
0.4 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ArtHotel Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ArtHotel Heidelberg

Address: Grabengasse 7, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#5 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range: £144 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ArtHotel Heidelberg 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your ArtHotel Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthotel Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing