We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Marstall
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better than great!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

My travel agent suggested this hotel and she was spot on! Perfect location, great rooms, and super staff! Let me start with the staff. I emailed to inquire about access to the room since so many European hotels do not have elevators. They emailed me immediately with the info and then called to tell me exactly how many stairs there were to the elevator. When we arrived they remembered talking to me and suggested a great place for dinner - Pops. I felt like the staff were welcoming me into their home!

Now the room. I had room 41 and my traveling companion had room 30. Both were very quaint. My room had the slanted ceiling and a dormer window over looking the river. And even though we both faced a major road, there was no outside noise. The fresh air system was quiet and negated the need to open the windows. The beds were typically firm for Germany, however the down comforter I placed under me softened the bed. Room 30 had a window in the bathroom and was a bit larger. Both would be fine for a couple.

Last the location! As I said we were right on the river, 3 blocks from the main walking shopping/ dining area and near the old bridge. Couldn't have asked for a more picturesque and safe location.

I am already planning to come back for Christmas! To say I was completely pleased would be a gross understatement!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank scubachick21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    138
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
118
326
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This was our "quirky" hotel. The room we had was small, but very quaint and the bathroom was well laid out to provide good space for make up and hair things to stay out. The parking is part of the quirkiness as you pull up, unload then find a specific parkade where the price is reduced. ..a bit of a maze. The room was very clean, they even moped the floor of our room everyday. The location can't be beat. We were able to stop back in at the hotel during the day between different outings so we didn't need to pack around a lot of stuff all day.
There are tons of good places to eat nearby, a must try is Joe Molese where a huge pizza for two is between $10-16 euros, we couldn't even finish it.
Only downside to this hotel is you have to pay for the breakfast even though it was smaller than some of the breakfasts we had at other hotels that were included in the room price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linnaea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel has an air conditioning system. Not that the nights are crazy hot. But just makes for more comfortable sleep.
Right on the river and 400m to the old bridge and town gate. 3 minutes to shopping Parking is 8€ a night and a few blocks away but not a big deal. The parking lot is right in the middle of the old town and houses the tram up to the castle. All the employees were nice and made us feel welcome. Would def stay here again

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank homerba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel was definitely one of the best we stayed in Germany during a ten-day Christmas tour! It is situated in an excellent location, it is romantic and beautiful with great decoration and terrific view upon the river, if you book the right room!
Our room was on the first floor with great view! everything was sparkling clean and when we requested extra pillows we were served after two minutes! We were absolutely satisfied by the people from the front desk, they helped us get around the city by providing valuable information and recommended us some places for dinner after requesting it (an accurate recommendation since the place we had dinner was fantastic)
Breakfast was served in the cellar with lots of choices! A great atmospheric place!
We found the hotel simply amazing but were quite disappointed that we only stayed for one night..
We would definitely recommend and choose Villa Masrtall for our stay if we visit Germany again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A non-chain hotel with a special feel to it. Really helpful and English speaking girls in the reception. Spacious bedroom and bath. Parking in garage some hundred meters walk from the hotel. Really nice breakfast in the cave-like cellar!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights on the start of our drive around Europe. The hotel is right by the river, close to the old bridge and the old town. We had a superior room, no. 31, which was really nice with a four poster bed and river views. The windows are also sound proof. It doesn't have a bar and restaurant but a very nice breakfast is provided in the vaulted underground dining area, which is beautiful. You cannot park at the hotel but you can get a discounted rate at car park 13 which is a shortish walk away across the old town square. Overall. Great.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were very pleased with our choice of the Villa Marstal. The location right on the river was convenient to the Altstadt and restaurants and attractions. The room was clean and roomy with a nice view of river and Schloss. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would go back!

Room Tip: Pick one with a river view or view of river and Schloss. Upper rooms have eaves, and at 6' 1&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.1 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
946 reviews
1.2 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
427 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Marstall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Marstall

Property: Hotel Villa Marstall
Address: Lauerstr. 1, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#4 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Marstall 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant hotel is a beautiful 19th-century villa in the heart of Heidelberg, directly overlooking the Neckar River and a short walk from all historic attractions.Opened as a hotel in 2006, the Villa Marstall offers a range of stylish rooms which are classically furnished with solid wooden furniture and cherry-wood floors.All rooms feature all modern amenities, including a small fridge, 40/32-inch LCD TV and free internet access. All rooms are non-smoking with fresh-air AC ventilation to guarantee complete comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HRS, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Marstall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marstall Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing