We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big moneyback problems”
Review of Altstadt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Altstadt Hotel
Ranked #67 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big moneyback problems”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Usual small hotel situated in the middle of the city with expensive internet connection. (5 Euro/day).
Not bad food, no crew after 20.00.

But don't book this hotel if you want possibility of cancellation!
I Booked room, after that I felt ill and had to cancel my trip.
1) they blocked ALL sum in the card after booking
2) they didn't return money during cancellation according cancellation policy (one night payment for hotel, other - moneyback.). Honestly they didn't return money at all. So I have to fly to Heidelberg (!) after 10 days of illness and live there until end of my booking to avoid money problems with my company.
At the end of the trip they returned 50 % money for noshow period but I think it's not enough and it's not fair deal.

Room Tip: not under the ladder! it's awfully small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
2
5
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I should have turned around and walked out when I was made to pay for the entire 2 week stay on arrival. Had I not been dead tired from jet lag, I would have. Insult #2 what that they would not take the corporate AMEX that I had used to hold the reservation. I had to use my personal MasterCard which later brought me some heat from my employer. Insult #3 was that the claimed to have not received the changes to the reservation that were sent (and verified) a week before and charged me for the night before my arrival and for one night after I was to depart. The "manager" was not available to make the change right then but I was assured that it would be fixed and credited. #4 was that I was given a room on the 4th floor. They had no elevator and offered no help in getting my bags to my room. the room had a south facing view which looked into other peoples homes and businesses and when the sun came up at 4:30 am, I realized that there were no shades and no way to keep the sun out. The reservation was not fixed and the manager was not available for the last 3 days of my stay so now we are fighting over the charges. Stay away from this place. It is a rip-off.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpecialK_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Heidelberg hotels

San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

what a dump. The staff was extremely rude and unfriendly. there is no staff after 8. the rooms are small. the maids woke us up to clean when we were jetlagged and needed sleep. they made a mistake in the reservation, and despite the fact that we had booked 8 people for 4 days, spending almost 2000 euros, they insisted on charging 20 extra euros because they had not made the correct reservation and there was only a double room for one person left. completely unprofessional, not business oriented at all. no elevators. petty with internet, making it difficult to impossible if you missed the hours that the staff worked, which were few. pompous, monolingual receptionist arguing with guests, quite unseemly. there is no place to hang out or meet people, the lobby is about 2 meters long and wide. they were disorganized, and did not reply to emails about crucial issues. we will never again use this hotel, and please take this advice and find someplace else to stay unless you are a masochist. oh, the breakfast was pretty good, but small compensation for the rest.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunnyhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co.kerry
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My wife and i found this establesment a most depressing place. This is not a hotel, just a very poor guest house. No lift, terrible climb to top floor. Nobody will help you with your luggage. Inches of dust under our bed. Unfriendly and unhelpfull staff. Reception and breakfast room compare in size to a fone box. No reception after 8 pm. If you loose your key or leave it in your room and return after this time your in big trouble. We could not get a contact number for anybody. We could only get one key on check in. We were up early on the morning we were leaving. The greeting we got from the female staff member was ( Yere not getting breakfast now). The location is ideal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We booked a room via Internet and arrived to hotel at 7:55 pm. The receptionist was very nervous as it was 5 minutes until the end of her shift and she slid our card through the reader several times, saying the card was not accepted although we shopped with that card days before and days after this event. She wanted to kick us out, but her boss allowed us to stay until the next day, saying we will try to sort everything out the next day. We then paid 10 EUR in cash for Internet access for two days and went to our room.

The next day we left our room to get some coffee, but another receptionist hailed us saying that he had a message for us. We told him we would like to have some coffee first, but he went on saying that his colleague made a mistake the day before and that everything was settled now and that our card was OK. We said OK and that we would just like to have some coffee in peace now. He did not apologize or let us go grab our coffee, but insisted we handle the paperwork immediately.

After that, we came back to our room around 8 pm on the same day. Nobody was at the reception at that time. We tried to connect to the Internet with the access code the first receptionist gave us, but only then we realized that the access code was valid for only 12 hours. And she did not give us 2 codes, only 1 although we paid for two days (2 x 5 EUR/day). Needless to say that we needed Internet access, but could not get it as the reception was closed.

When you look from the outside and when you see the picture of the hotel on the Internet, you see a decent hotel with its own garage. But please note that this is a different hotel - Goldene Rose - the hotel next door with a 24-hour reception and its own garage, and Altstadt Hotel is a funny little thing next door, not a proper hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madakako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Bayrischer Hof
Bayrischer Hof
#28 of 76 in Heidelberg
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Denner Hotel
Denner Hotel
#71 of 76 in Heidelberg
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#39 of 76 in Heidelberg
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heidelberger Hof
Hotel Heidelberger Hof
#32 of 76 in Heidelberg
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bergheim 41 Hotel im Alten Hallenbad
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perkeo
Hotel Perkeo
#27 of 76 in Heidelberg
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadt Hotel

Property: Altstadt Hotel
Address: St.-Anna-Gasse 9, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altstadt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing