We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Oriented”
Review of Hotel Monpti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monpti
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
139 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Location Oriented”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

As other people have stated, it's hard to pinpoint a review of this hotel. We ended up here because we received a voucher from friends of our. The hotel has a superb location, right on edge of the Altstadt. It is easily accessible by car and also offers parking for 12.5 Euro per day, which is a very fair deal indeed. The problem is that it's a small family hotel and it shows. The main problem with the room was the bed. It was quite uncomfortable. The windows had no proper blinds so we up as soon as the sun was shining. The breakfast was an average hotel buffet. Nothing spectacular but decent, although the staff were in no rush to refill the buffet, so you had a 'move it or lose it' feeling, which one shouldn't have in a hotel. The staff were friendly and the hotel was very clean. So, if you don't mind the lack of luxury, by all means and looking for a good location in Heidelberg, by all means, book it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 559ThomasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
11
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights during a business trip. Unfortunately, my trip fell into a heat wave in Germany and the room was under the roof. There was no air conditioning, so the nights were hot. My room was very quiet. The room was large with an even larger bathroom, equipped with a tub. The room was clean but showed clear signs of usage. The hotel is charming, though, with its wooden stairs and the unconventional interior. The room had a carpet, which personally, I don't like too much in a hotel. WLAN was free of charge, but the signal was too weak in my room.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good and fresh. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the shopping mile in the old center of Heidelberg.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas68_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I find it hard to assess this hotel because many aspects are good, and some are not so good. Let's start with the good things. The ladies who are on the front desk are delightful, and will help if they can. But in some things they cannot, it seems. Although there is a bottle of Gordon's gin on display behind teh desk, there is no tonic. Why? Because the spirits are for display! No-one (apparently apart from me) has asked for a gin & tonic. A good thing is the art deco style of the ground floor. I found it very arractive. the down side is that there is no air-conditioning, and a good deal of traffic passes the windows of the hotel on the opposite side to the river. The rooms are quite clean, but there was a noticeable smell coming from thE toilet when I arrived. No problem. The lady from the front desk quickly came with a toilet cleanser (or similar), and that smell had gone (replaced unfortunately by the cleanser smell). The bed I found narrow (I am big).


Breakfast was downstairs (steep flight) where you help yourself to a mostly cold-cut breakfast. . The lady from teh front desk will make you eggs if you ask, but seems unfamiliar with paoched eggs. It really is an odd room with little light, and a verandah filled with "spare" objects for the hotel.

In all, an eccentric hotel, which I actually enjoyed a lot, due almost entirely to the ladies on the front desk.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herberts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Yes, it deserves every single star I gave it. I've stayed at a few places in Heidelberg, have not reviewed all of them (yet?), but all that bugs most of the people makes the
charm of this place. It's not close enough to the city centre? Well it's not that far, a few
minutes walk actually, through dimly lighted streets and passing one of the nicest churches
in town. It's also extremely conveniently located near one of the paths leading up to the
Schloss, one of the places you will not be forgiven for if you haven't visited it during
your stay, however short it might have been. It's not easily accessible? Monpti is just a
few steps away from the bus stop that will take you directly to/from the trainstation within
a dozen of minutes or so (depending mainly on the state of the traffic, which - well - can
be as bad as any in any city).

Once inside, everything is really clean and colourful. Rooms are on 2 floors but there's no
elevator (nor help offered to take them up it seems - not that I needed it!). I have to say
I'm impressed with the super friendly staff, and they won't harass you with deposits,
pre-paying or take your credit card references before the end of the stay.

The rooms are extremely pleasant to be in (see picture), tastefully arranged and have all
the required items you'll need as a tourist or a business traveler, including a small desk
with conveniently located power and internet plugs - yes, no wifi, so either bring your own
cable along or ask for one, but it makes for a very good internet speed, simple, effective.
The mattress and bedding are super comfy, the bathroom is large, with a stone-style
decorated floor, with a very relaxing lighting, includes hairdryers etc.. The cleaners
do a good job and it's great to come back to an impeccable room.

Breakfast is provided downstairs and is among the best quality I've had. Fresh coffee,
juices, diced and plain fruits, yogurts, different kinds of hams, cheeses or even bits of
salmon, in a nicely decorated and large room with different areas, so you're not staring at
each other across the room which I find often annoying. There's also the possibility to get
a sunny side egg instead of the hard boiled ones.

A few suggestions for improvements however. I personally am slightly annoyed by
the pop music played down in the breakfast room in the morning. Something quieter,
classical, jazzy - whatever, but not that - would make the experience more enjoyable. This
is really my only downer.. Otherwise, perhaps having a vending machine somewhere would also
cope with some late night cravings..

Room Tip: If possible try to get a room not facing the road, which can be busy and noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel one night in July, having chosen it because it featured in the French equivalent of the 'rough guide'. Our room was on the ground floor and gave onto a very major thoroughfare with cars, lorries and coaches continually driving past our window. No air conditioning, so you had to endure either the noise, or the heat. When asked the following morning how things had been with the bedroom, I of course mentioned the noise, to which the girls at the reception desk could not do anything but slightly opine, looking rather contrite. I have the feeling all the bedrooms were priced similarly, which if it is really the case, is rather outraging, especially since in Heidelberg, a very touristic place, hotel rooms are rather pricey.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Astutious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acor
Hotel Acor
#45 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anlage
Hotel Anlage
#39 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Weisser Bock
Weisser Bock
#40 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perkeo
Hotel Perkeo
#26 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zum Pfalzgrafen
Hotel Zum Pfalzgrafen
#60 of 76 in Heidelberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monpti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monpti

Property: Hotel Monpti
Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 57, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monpti 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Monpti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing