We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food with "Good Cop/Bad Cop" service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zum Roten Ochsen

Zum Roten Ochsen
Ranked #42 of 480 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Zürich
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food with "Good Cop/Bad Cop" service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Great food, had sausage, ham and mash with beer which was good too. One waitress was exceptionally friendly and helpful, the other one was very offhand and impolite, hence the "Good Cop/Bad Cop" title.....
Would go again as long as we would not be served by the unfriendly waitress!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GNeuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    50
    28
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
195 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“May skip this one mostly stop for history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is suppose to be the place to go. There was almost no one there when we stopped in. The service was one of the worst that we visited. The food was traditional German. Prices were about the same as other local restaurants. It is suppose to be a good location for students from the University but this wasn't the case at least during the time we were visiting. There is a lot of history here to entertain you while dining

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Beee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ok food, terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I found out about this place from many websites and blogs and I have to admit it is indeed a very famous place. But I am so disappointed by the food, but more seriously terrible service. I called to make a reservation and the person who took the reservation told me "ok, be on time, and don't call again because we are very busy". When we arrived, it got worse. Although the place was half empty, when we asked the server to take a picture of us (isn't it a typical touristy thing that they should be used to?), the server said "since I am busy, I will come back to take your photo". Then she never came back -- she offered to take a photo of us when it was only me who was at the table to pay and the rest of us went to the restroom. The food was at least 30-40% more expensive compared to another "popular" restaurant in town (that I loved!) and the food not good. I ordered sausage, but they give us schnitzel instead and we ordered potato soup but it never came. I don't think I will ever go back and I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

The place was (surprisingly) at least half empty when we went there for lunch. Plently of interesting memorabilia and other stuff to see inside. Service was OK with reasonable prices, so great value. The boiled beef was good but the soup was a little too salty for my taste.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pengboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great old world atmosphere and delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We're so glad we found this tavern. It's filled with history, historic memorabilia and an old world feel. Also, the beer and the dinner were fantastic! It's easy to find, just off the Market Square.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Roten Ochsen also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Zum Roten Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing