We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stopover en route to Austrian Alps” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aviva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aviva
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
Meopham, Kent, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great stopover en route to Austrian Alps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Booked this hotel via the internet as it was about half way to our Austrian resort. The hotel is a bit off the main route, but not too far. The bedrooms are pleasantly decorated and spacious, very clean and there is free wifi for 24 hours. We found a chinese restaurant a few minutes' drive away. The best thing by far was the absolutely amazing breakfast - absolutely anything and everything your heart could desire - cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries, breads, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, boiled egg, cereals, teas (herbal, green, regular), coffee, hot chocolate, fruit juices. Wow! This was the best breakfast I have had anywhere and at this price it is a gem! Also meant we could drive through to resort without stopping to eat! Well done Hotel Aviva, if we go to this resort again, we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeePenhaligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    57
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
45
18
8
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bochum
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Hotel in a good distance to the city center (Tram 3 about 10 Min. to go). Hotel with different size of rooms, some for singles are a little bit small. Breakfast is o.k. and people are very helpful in the hotel. For the price a good choice. Nice surrunding (forest) an nice restaurant near by (fünf).

Room Tip: try to get a double room if you are travelling allone
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foersterli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Was really surprised at how good this hotel was, easy to find, lots of nice detail like even down to nail files in bathroom and sweets and drinks in bedroom. Was expecting it to be nice but clinical and basic ,was very pleased, although no air conditioning there was a fan, quad room VERY spacious, comfortable beds, best breakfast ever had virtually every combination you could want, free accesss to emails. If I come to this part of germany again I would definately stay here a gain. Just wish the hotel chain in Calais I had stayed at had been as nice

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

I do have made several visits to Europe during 2009. There is no doubt that this was one of the best mid range hotel I stayed during my visit. Staffs were friendly (even though most of them didn’t understood a single word I spoke) and helpful. They do have a very good sauna bath in the top floor. The rooms were clean, room service was very good and internet connectivity was consistent.
Breakfast was well served and there is a MC Donald’s, and several Italian restaurants near to the place

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

The hotel is located rather off but I used this for some jogging in the forrest near by which is very beautiful! Hotel seems still to be under construction but not bothering to the guests. New rooms, modern style, clean an a great girl at the reception made this a good stay in Karlsruhe where it normally is difficult to find a decent priced hotel.
Note: You need a car to get there. Shell gas station and McDonalds just around the corner of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTravelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed at the Aviva to go to the German F1, arrived late on Friday evening and were offered a Pizza supper - all good.
Good sized rooms, very clean. Fantastic buffet breakfast with too much to choose from - hot and cold options - each morning we spotted something we had missed the previous morning. Very helpful Reception staff. In the bar area was a laptop for free access - nice touch when you get back from the track to catch up.
We had two dinners during our stay - both restaurants within easy walking distance.
We had a great meal at the FUNF restaurant - everything from Tapas to a full restaurant menu, served inside or in the garden - part of the University Library - but don't be put off - the staff are really friendly and the food was all freshly prepared. Good value for money.
Not good value for money was the local Italian SAN FELICE. Located in a lovely garden, crisp white table cloths, lovely menu.
As a visitor to the area be prepared to pay for smaller portions of food than the locals are served and a fantastic scam on the wine. When you get the bill you are told that the Wine List prices are all TAKE AWAY PRICES and they add around 10 Euros to the listed price - also the Maitre D assumes after taking for the bill that all the Euros left are his tip - he tried to walk off with an 8 Euro tip on a 32 Euro bill!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venture093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

What a great hotel this was! Nearly new, it's maybe a little out of the way but as we had a car that didn't really matter to us - we were in the city centre in just a few minutes. I know there is public transport nearby.

We stayed in an "apartment" room which had a huge double bed - 2m wide by 2.2m long! - as well as a double sofa bed. There was tons of room between the beds, and we also had a desk with chair, a phone (free calls to fixed phones across Europe) and a TV (which we didn't use). I believe most rooms also have an iPod speaker/charging dock.

The bathroom was functional - toilet, sink, shower - but spotless. The shower screen squeaked a little.

There was a small bar fridge and also a kjitchen setup in the room but the sink was not working (there was a sign). This included a small microwave oven and a kettle.

Half an hour's drive away, in France, there is a fantastic and very v ery huge supermarket - Carrefour - we went there and were amazed. You could easily get food for dinner here and cook it in your room.

We went to the (recommended) local Italian restaurant for dinner and it was pretty good. They also serve pizzas at the hotel - probably frozen, but they smelled great.

The (included) breakfast was good and quite extensive. They also do an early breakfast from 4.30am for early risers and people who are just getting back from big nights out.

The staff were friendly and gave good directions. They spoke good English.

But the best thing of all (especially for our kids) was .... the WII game unit in the foyer. They had a blast playing wii sports, while we had a drink from the bar (really a couple of fridges full of drinks - you could get glasses at reception). This was fantastic for them but would also be great for a group of friends or a conference group.

There is a sauna and fitness centre in the hotel, but we didn't check it.

Free parking was available in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaInAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Innenstadt-West
City Partner Hotel Berliner Hof
Der Blaue Reiter
#2 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rio
#5 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#8 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aviva

Property: Hotel Aviva
Address: Ohiostrasse 15, 76149, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Aviva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing