We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it! Great for families!”
Review of Hotel Aviva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aviva
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Albany, California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love it! Great for families!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent almost 4 weeks in Germany and by far this was our favorite hotel (and we stayed at a Hilton). Great things: the staff. Very helpful and friendly. They helped me to print documents that I needed for work. They also explained where to find a particular store downtown and they helped me with public transportation (timetable and tickets.) The breakfast: superb buffet! Too many choices to try. Very large family room, with fridge and microwave. Very clean. My kids' favorite thing: the Wii system in the lobby. Beer/wine/sodas/bottled water were available for purchase at the lobby. Great happy hour during the World Cup games. If you do not need to stay close to downtown, it's a great place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the community garden (it does not belong to Aviva, but to a neighbor b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmolteni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    68
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
49
21
11
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked this hotel last minute as a quick weekend getaway with a friend. We booked 2 separate single rooms, and both were very spacious, clean and came with free wifi.
My first impressions were a little mixed as I couldn't shake off the feeling of deja vu... it was like walking into a University campus with a art deco twist.
The last minute rate was a total bargain £60 which incl breakfast. And the breakfast was fantastic!
Staff were very helpful and recommended all the nice restaurants and places to go.
The only downside for me was probably the distance, if you don't have a vehicle then it is a hike to get to and from central via public transport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolena22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent a night there in a family room which was positively huge! It even had a small microwave. The receptionists both at check-in and check-out were efficient, nice and helpful. One saw that my kids wanted to play the wii by the reception and rushed to show them how to put it on.
Breakfast display was fabulous, plentiful and good.
In a nutshell, Hotel was very clean, beds confy, quiet, great breakfast, good service and all that at a great price. Why go elsewhere?
Highly reommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

It was a mini heat wave when I arrived at the Aviva - and the small rooms combined with the lack of aircon combined to give a pretty poor nights sleep - just too hot and airless.
If it had been a cool night, then the small room wouldn't have been a problem, I suspect, so I dont want to mark it too harshly.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and I have to say the breakfast choices were first rate.

Aircon would make a massive difference, otherwise if I come back it will be in winter!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoCarpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had booked a family room but were given two doubles - all fine except only net curtains so glad it was a weekend and there were no office people in the building opposite. The gym, sauna and steam were so relaxing and well equipped. We had pizzas in the lounge which were excellent and the buffet breakfast was excellent- so much choice and very good - the best hotel breakfast of our ten day holiday. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

The Hotel aviva has very friendly staff and the location is ok.surrounded by officebuildings the area doesn't have much charme.
My room was really clean,but we had the toilet and the bathroom in our bedroom,just seperated with glas.so you HAD to watch the person you shared the room with taking a shower or using the toilet,cause it was no seperate room.the breakfast was good,just too many people at once and not enough space.i also ordered a pizza which was really good.downtown karlruhe is like 5 minutes away from the hotel,but it seems there always is horrible traffic.
So the staff is really good just the rooms sucked!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have stayed here often and without fail it is always a good experience. Helpfull staff, large rooms (for 3) and a proper, tasty breakfast included...The wifi worked well, parking is easy, we look forward to staying here after a long drive they are always welcoming and could not be more helpful...their language skills putting us to shame with our lack of German. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokindogwheelchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
1,014 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#5 of 61 in Karlsruhe
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Der Blaue Reiter
#2 of 61 in Karlsruhe
253 reviews
Südstadt
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
#8 of 61 in Karlsruhe
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aviva

Property: Hotel Aviva
Address: Ohiostr. 15, 76149, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Aviva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing