We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sufficient for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Karlsruhe Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sufficient for one night”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed to take the train to Paris the next morning. Rooms are rather basic, but OK, check in and out was smooth, and breakfast adequate for the price. Only complaint: our room faced the train station, and as it was rather warm, we left the windows open (air con did not seem to do anything, and usually, we are not so fond of it anyway). Yet this let to the room being rather noisy - not so much of the train noise, but the station announcements travelled into our room. If you stay, make sure you get a room to the other site.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuaMaRima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    300
    94
    24
    6
See reviews for
48
140
132
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We only stayed one night as we switched hotels because Ibis was closer to the train station. But the rooms were clean and modern, although a little tight, especially the bathroom, but the shower was excellent and the beds were comfortable. It is in a great location, right next to Karlsruhe train station, so perfect for trams, busses and trains. Our window faced an outdoor platform of the train station which was not ideal but double glazed windows minimised any noise. Also, located opposite the beautiful Karlsruhe zoo. Unfortunately internet was not included in the rooms but there are two computers in the lobby free of charge. We didn't get to have breakfast as we left at 6am but there was an option to have an early breakfast which began at 4.30am, so the option was good to have. Staff were friendly enough but it seemed customer service was not their priority. However, my experience was good and standard for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe-eloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I like Ibis and usually tries to stay at their hotels.
If I remember right, below are my experiences of this hotel.
When arriving, one of the two female receptionists (she had hair coloured blond and long nails) asked for my name. Since the name is usually hard for foreigners to hear and spell, I politely handed her my VISA card to read the name from. She reacted with a negative and almost rude "So you can't say it?", which was in contrast with the way receptionists usually react. I responded with a surprised "Oh, sorry, just trying to make things easier", but got no response. Not a very nice receptionist at all, whatsoever, lacking social skills. The other one was slightly better.
If I remember right, doors were very noisy. The cleaning started very early in the morning (7:15?), despite checkout being at noon. I had wanted to sleep to 9:30, but it was impossible.
Regarding breakfast, I rarely eat breakfast at hotels (prefering other solutions), so I have no comment on it.
During checkout, there was a new female (new in the meaning of not being the same as the ones last night) at the reception. I put a complaint to her about the cleaning making it impossible for me to sleep, asking why they start it so early. So responded well, and the conversation got along fine. She was more polite and socially skilled than the ones from the night before, asking if I had seen the town/centre, etc.. I asked for a map, and she helpfully pointed out things on it (just like most receptionists usually do).
I could also use a computer with Internet there (for free, if I remember right).
During my trip, I stayed at a hotel where I thought parking was free but at checkout found out it was not , but I don't remember if that was this hotel. I advice you to ask before you park.

If starting at 3, the rude receptionst made it become 2, and the noisy cleaning 1, but Internet access and the receptionist add 1-2 points, ending up in either or 3 (I have to think a little more before deciding).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedishBypasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This Ibis is located very near to the Hauptbahnhof (central station). Downtown is a 5 min tram ride or a 15 min walk. The zoo is just opposite.
The rooms are very Ibis-typical, good beds, fully dark blinds, a long but small desk from one room side to the other under the window. Asked and got a room facing the street, not noisy whatsoever.
The bathroom is one of these fully plastic, all-in-one extra ones stand in the room.
Breakfast is 10€ and worth it incl. scrambled eggs, espresso and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berlin_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, MA USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This is a fairly average hotel by European standards. Its a very old building that has been remodelled. The rooms are very small. The bathrooms are these all-plastic modular units that take-up about 30% of the space. It is litearally up against the train station physically and if you leave the windows open you can hear all the traffic, platform announcements, etc. With the window closed it was reasonably quiet in my room although some of my colleagues complained. The A/C barely works so on a hot day you probably will be uncomfortable (again fairly standard for Germany). It is inexpensive and very near the train station. There was also car parking which was fairly resonably priced. The staff was helpful but overhwhelmed by the size of our group. The main attractiion here is the value which they make fairly obvious by the large electric sign out front displaying the current room price.

I guess I don't have any major complaints although I still prefer the hotels over by the Kongresscentrum (Novatel, Queens) to the Ibis.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We booked this hotel for a one night stay after visiting EuropaPark with a group of friends. The hotel is located right next to the main train station, neighbouring with post office. Parking is available for a fee (about EUR 7,-) in a courtyard next to the hotel. Lobby of the hotel is very nice, modern and looks like brand new. Reception staff was very helpful and check-in smooth. Rooms are standard, very clean with wooden floors, comfy bed and after a stay in France - large bathrooms :-) Centre (Marktplatz, Europaplatz, Chateau) is some 20min walk along the ZOO, alternatively you can catch a tram (for EUR 2,10) which stops right in front of the hotel and takes you there in 5mins. Altough we were a bit worried about the noise from the railway station, we could sleep well even with half opened window facing it directly. If coming to Karlsruhe, will very probably stay here, although it is a bit further from the centre...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucasprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Székesfehérvár
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2009

There was no heating in the first days. It was too close to the Railway station, we can not sleep well. The cleaning is awful.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dumbadim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
999 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#6 of 61 in Karlsruhe
347 reviews
Südstadt
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
#7 of 61 in Karlsruhe
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novum Hotel Greif
#48 of 61 in Karlsruhe
29 reviews
Der Blaue Reiter
#2 of 61 in Karlsruhe
243 reviews
Hotel Rio
#4 of 61 in Karlsruhe
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Karlsruhe Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Karlsruhe Hauptbahnhof

Property: Ibis Karlsruhe Hauptbahnhof
Address: Poststr. 1, 76137, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Karlsruhe Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the ibis Karlsruhe Hauptbahnhof is centrally located in a historical listed building and has 139 rooms with Internet access. Internet access at the iPoint is free. We will be happy to inform you about leisure activities in and around Karlsruhe at reception, which is staffed around the clock. The hotel also has its own car park and a pleasant patio. Start the day with a hearty breakfast, served from 4am to 12 midday. Snacks and drinks are available at any time of the day or night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Karlsruhe Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing