We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection achieved...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
Ranked #8 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“perfection achieved...”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a 5 star hotel which says it all... but the service was exquisite. At the reception we received exhaustive information accompanied by maps and internet downloads about what to see and where to go. Every advise was proved excellent, food, sightseeing, wine tours. We truly felt welcomed and pampered. The staff was generous to offer free drinks, and other extras... Breakfasts, included in the price, were superb - amazing variety.
Walk distance to everything. Supermarket across the street offers excellent food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chernomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    172
    73
    10
    5
See reviews for
60
72
33
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

At Karlsruhe we took a break before heading for Basel. a hint: Across the street from this hotel is a large market for snacks and sundry items, and do not forget to dine on the salmon dish at the Renaissance--delicious!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mochi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
592 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Even I am an old Karlsruher, but living long time in Asia, I sometimes need a hotel in my old Hometown. The Renaissance is just the first choice, officially only a four star hotel, it beats many five star hotels by its performance and friendliness, the quality of facilities.
And it is located perfectly close to the city center and easily reachable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here at the beginning of September with my wife. I would have never expected the hotel to be so stylish as from the outside it does not look anything special.

Check in was a breeze, they had all my details in order.

The room was much bigger than expected and very well equipped. All the necessary items were there, including safe, ironing board etc.

Parking is under the hotel and charged at 17eur per night.

Bar was open late with good selection and friendly service.

Had a very good night's sleep, in the morning my only complaint would be that the water pressure was a bit low.

Breakfast was one of the best I ever had, with very nice little touches. Very nice quality food as well.

Check out again was quick and the receptionist was very helpful as well.

All and all definitely a hotel I would want to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is part of the Marriott empire and offers the friendly staff and wide choice of breakfast items on the buffet. It has good tram connections to the station and Rastatt and is a 10/15 minute walk from the town centre and former royal palace. It has its own restaurant but there are other good eating options nearby on the Tripadvisor list.They sometimes do rate offers on the suites on weekends and it is worth looking at this as the rooms are very spacious with high ceilings as they are on the top floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajerovista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We picked Karlsruhe as our base for Black Forrest travel even though it is at the very north tip of the area. The hotel is group-tourists oriented. Not strategic located within city center but a brisk walk away from there. A Nice mall is also close by (450 M). There is no restaurants close buy except for a Chinese and a big supermarket across the street. Elevator is obvious 1980s quality and has an annoying step out and in. Tram from main stations takes 7 mins and stopst 150 meter away but with some serious street crossings. Free WiFi Internet in the lobby.

Rooms are nicely sized, Firm mattress, Marriott quality. Access to Roller beds and sleeping cots is easy. A/C is ok. Not much difference between executive and regular rooms. We stayed in the corner with two rooms the rooms can be combined by an ou side door. Due to tourism except some wear and tear in furniture. Bath: Very clean. It seems that baths have been remodeled more recent than the room. Hot water is reliably available, but shower pressure is ok to subpar.

Breakfast is average and the breakfast area is small and busy. The supplement costs 17e per adults and free for children

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful despite the high occupancy rate, and seems eloquent with multiple languages.

Would stay there again for the location concept as most black Forrest hotels are not chain hotels.

Room Tip: we had a nice combo of 526 and 525 that can be combined to one section in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edniburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We spent the first night of our driving holiday from the UK to Puglia here, and were absolutely delighted with this hotel. It was very close to the town and castle, where there happened to be an outdoor opera playing the night we were there. The staff were very helpful, the room spacious and well appointed, and the breakfast was excellent. If we were to be in this area again, we would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishItalianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
1,014 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#5 of 61 in Karlsruhe
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#11 of 61 in Karlsruhe
165 reviews
Der Blaue Reiter
#2 of 61 in Karlsruhe
253 reviews
Hotel Rio
#3 of 61 in Karlsruhe
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe

Property: ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
Address: Mendelssohnplatz, 76131, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe > Südstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Karlsruhe
#7 Business Hotel in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your new and exclusive meeting and event hotel is located in the heart of Karlsruhe, the second largest city in Baden-Wuerttemberg. 215 modern and fully air-conditioned rooms and suites pamper you with comfortable interior and technical equipment of highest quality. We offer you seven meeting and banquet rooms, equipped with state-of-the-art technique. We make your events at our meeting area (460 sqm in total) up to 250 people unforgettable. Our competent staff is supporting you with the planning of your individual corporate or private events. Be sure, you are in the right hands at ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe. At the hotel's own, bright restaurant "No17 Fleur de Sel" with elegant furniture and its large window front we indulge you with exquisite cuisine and noble wines. Make your after work drink a special one at our stylish bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Karlsruhe
Karlsruhe Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing