We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bar staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good bar staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Decent place to stay. Grocery across the street. seemed a little sketchy area or at least down one of the streets. The servers and bar staff were great - highly recommend staying at the bar to eat instead of venturing out. The shower can be a little tricky - not typical in US. We ate downstairs here with out tour group and it was the worst meal we had out of 16 days (cold and not tasty) - BUT the food upstairs looked so much better

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUaVTBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    168
    69
    10
    4
See reviews for
58
70
32
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I always enjoy my stay at renaissance. Located nicely in the city and staff is nice. Walking distance to palce, market platz, and trains. I enjoy the breakfasts and dinner at hotel. Staff is very nice and helpful too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This Marriott is full of very helpful staff. The front desk helped in getting us oriented to Karlsruhe, places to eat, and attractions to visit. The bartender was pleasant and seemed to care that we were using the area.The rooms were clean and met our needs. Unfortunately the noise carries between rooms more than you would expect in a Renaissance Hotel. It would also be helpful if they would inform you in advance of major road work directly in front of the hotel that made finding the entrance to the parking facility an adventure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTDUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a 5 star hotel which says it all... but the service was exquisite. At the reception we received exhaustive information accompanied by maps and internet downloads about what to see and where to go. Every advise was proved excellent, food, sightseeing, wine tours. We truly felt welcomed and pampered. The staff was generous to offer free drinks, and other extras... Breakfasts, included in the price, were superb - amazing variety.
Walk distance to everything. Supermarket across the street offers excellent food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chernomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

At Karlsruhe we took a break before heading for Basel. a hint: Across the street from this hotel is a large market for snacks and sundry items, and do not forget to dine on the salmon dish at the Renaissance--delicious!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mochi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
558 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Even I am an old Karlsruher, but living long time in Asia, I sometimes need a hotel in my old Hometown. The Renaissance is just the first choice, officially only a four star hotel, it beats many five star hotels by its performance and friendliness, the quality of facilities.
And it is located perfectly close to the city center and easily reachable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here at the beginning of September with my wife. I would have never expected the hotel to be so stylish as from the outside it does not look anything special.

Check in was a breeze, they had all my details in order.

The room was much bigger than expected and very well equipped. All the necessary items were there, including safe, ironing board etc.

Parking is under the hotel and charged at 17eur per night.

Bar was open late with good selection and friendly service.

Had a very good night's sleep, in the morning my only complaint would be that the water pressure was a bit low.

Breakfast was one of the best I ever had, with very nice little touches. Very nice quality food as well.

Check out again was quick and the receptionist was very helpful as well.

All and all definitely a hotel I would want to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#8 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Der Blaue Reiter
#2 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#13 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Hotel Rio
#4 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe

Property: ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
Address: Mendelssohnplatz, 76131, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe > Südstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Karlsruhe
#7 Business Hotel in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your new and exclusive meeting and event hotel is located in the heart of Karlsruhe, the second largest city in Baden-Wuerttemberg. 215 modern and fully air-conditioned rooms and suites pamper you with comfortable interior and technical equipment of highest quality. We offer you seven meeting and banquet rooms, equipped with state-of-the-art technique. We make your events at our meeting area (460 sqm in total) up to 250 people unforgettable. Our competent staff is supporting you with the planning of your individual corporate or private events. Be sure, you are in the right hands at ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe. At the hotel's own, bright restaurant "No17 Fleur de Sel" with elegant furniture and its large window front we indulge you with exquisite cuisine and noble wines. Make your after work drink a special one at our stylish bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Karlsruhe
Karlsruhe Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing