We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have to stay in Karlsruhe stay here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Blaue Reiter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Der Blaue Reiter
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“If you have to stay in Karlsruhe stay here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Karsruhe/Durlach is not the sort of place one chooses to go to but goes to out of necessity. The place has no qualities other than to make you feel fortunate to have come from somewhere else and shortly to be going somewhere else again.

The hotel, however, is good. It is modern with comfortable rooms, a good breakfast buffet and secure underground car parking. If I ever have to go to Karlsruhe again, and let's hope that never happens, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FDFLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    82
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
74
10
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hotel is relatively modern. Has good sized rooms (for Europe). The rooms are modern with comfortable beds. The bathrooms are also very good. The breakfast is plentiful and very good. The hotel is located in a suburb (Durlach) and you can take the train to the city center. Great breakfast and great room. My only irritation was the internet access. As a business person processes a lot of email, ... the internet was much to unreliable. Kept loosing the connection and the speed was SLOW. With a decent internet connection they would be close to perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenrikC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Hendrik,

At first, thank you for the good review and you mostly had a comfortable stay with us.
We know about the problem with the internet connection. And we really apologize for it. We are in contact with our technician. He tries very much to solve the problem. We hope that it is ready soon.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and you won’t have any problems with the Internet connection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
302 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Modern design, nice and clean rooms, the staff were very kind and helpful, great breakfast with lots to choose from and very nice micro brewery beer garden next door. Will certainly return on my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alonsegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Alonseg,

Thank you for the good review. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We are looking forward to see you again in our hotel and also in the beer garden next door :) .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed for a 3 days whilst on Business. The hotel staff were very friendly and assisted me by supplying multiple travel adaptors after I had forgotten mine. The location is very convenient for the bars and cafes of Durlach plus the tram service in to central Karlsruhe. The room was small but functional and very clean. The main hotel bar is quiet and serves a good verity of food. The bar directly attached to the hotel has an excellent atmosphere and servers a great selection of German food and beverages. Should I return to Durlach I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Ross!

You enjoyed the stay at our hotel? Nice to hear that!
Thank you very much for your feedback and the time you have taken yourself.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Have a good time until then.

Your team of the hotel der blaue reiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed a week here for business. The hotel was a very pleasant surprise given how small Durlach is. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. The room was a bit small but standard for European hotels I guess. Overall I was very impressed by the property. My only complaint I guess is that while the location was convenient to the company office, there's not much to do in Durlach itself. Actually there's not much to do in Karlsruhe either..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bimal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calpe1, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you very much – We are happy to know that our guests have enjoyed the stay in our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again, if you visiting Durlach for business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I was in Karlsruhe on business, visiting an office in Durlach, which is a quaint, medieval town with outdoor cafes and cobbled streets. I stayed twice over the summer at Hotel der Blaue Reiter, which is a unique boutique hotel in Durlach. The location is convenient, about a five minute walk from the Karlsruhe-Durlach train station, and with easy access to the restaurants and businesses along Durlach's main street.

My experiences with the hotel varied a bit between the two visits.

On my first visit, I was booked into a room in the hotel's new annex building, called Kubus. This building is down the street about a hundred yards from the main hotel building, on the opposite side of the street. It has its own entrance and parking. The room I stayed in was very large by European hotel room standards, with a beautifully-appointed bedroom, work area, and bathroom, as well as a balcony. I felt like I was staying in a small apartment instead of a hotel room. The downside of this location was that it did not have wireless Internet (wired only) and required a walk to the main hotel for breakfast. But otherwise, it was a good room.

On my second visit, I stayed in a room in the main building. What a difference! The room was much smaller, less nicely appointed, and the bathroom was tiny. There was no power outlet near the bed (for charging my phone which doubles as an alarm clock), but there was WiFi Internet available. Aside from the disappointingly small size of the room, the big positive on this stay was the convenience of being in the main building and being able to zip downstairs to breakfast and return to my room to get ready for my day.

In both cases, I felt safe and slept well. Everyone I met from the hotel staff was friendly and competent, whether front desk, room service, housekeeping, or breakfast staff. I would stay at this hotel again on any further trips to Karlsruhe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in "Kubus" if you want space to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calpe1, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
We have recognized that the Wi-Fi is indispensable. We have acted promptly. Wi-Fi is available at the whole main hotel building and at the new building KUBUS as well. Your hint about the power outlet near the bed is a good point. You will miss it in a few single rooms at the moment. Because of your message we will retrofit this less rooms also.
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed here for three nights -- we used Der Blaue Reiter as our base for the first leg of our trip to Germany. Durlach is charming and it was a quick tram ride into Karlsruhe. Heidelberg was an easy day trip. The room designs are modern and fresh with spacious bathrooms. Sometimes modern hotel design leaves a cold feeling, but not at Der Blaue Reiter. The breakfast buffet was generous - plenty of space and privacy in the hotel even with a meeting booked into the hotel.

When the electric lock to our door malfunctioned, the staff went out of their way to get it fixed. Friendly & efficient service in the dining room and at reception.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermont19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calpe1, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Hello Vermont19!

We are very happy that you enjoyed it to stay at our hotel.
It‘s great to get a feedback like yours! Thank you so much!
We are looking forward to your next trip to Germany.

Kind regards,
Family Fränkle and the Team of the Hotel Der Blaue Reiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Hotel Rio
#5 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Südstadt
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
#6 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#8 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Blaue Reiter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Blaue Reiter

Property: Der Blaue Reiter
Address: Amalienbadstr. 16, 76227, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Der Blaue Reiter 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, HRS, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Der Blaue Reiter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing