We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!”
Review of Der Blaue Reiter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Der Blaue Reiter
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I were in Karlsruhe for a conference and fortunately for us, all of the hotels in that city were booked and we stayed at the Der Blaue Reiter in Durlach, about a 15 mins bus ride away from the Karlsruhe conference center. We stayed 5 days and what a pleasant stay - we stayed in the Kubus building across the street from the hotel's front desk. We were on the 3rd floor, in one of the end rooms with a wraparound balcony (on the other end opposite the elevators). The room was spacious and modern. The furniture in the room was lovely. The beds were very cool, each side had a remote to adjust the bed, which made us want to stay in bed watching TV all day! The bathroom was stunning, a large rainfall shower and a separate bathtub. The room also had lots of closet space, where a Nespresso machine, fridge, and sink was hidden. Unfortunately the safe in the closet wasn't functional, even though a repair man came by to try but couldn't fix it. We had breakfast in the main building every morning, which was always tasty! I liked the tea timer. The main building is attached to the Vogel beer garden - so convenient! Without a doubt, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the "Kubus" building are quiet, spacious and modern!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear ahyt,

Thanks a lot for your comment. It is very nice that you enjoyed the room in our hotel.
We’re really sorry for the safe we couldn’t repair during your stay. The next time you will visit our hotel we promise the safe will not make you any problems again.
Do you know that you can buy the tea timer at the reception? Maybe at next time this could be your personal souvenir from the Hotel Der Blaue Reiter.

Without a doubt, we are looking forward to welcoming you again! ;)

Kind regards

family Fränkle and the team of Hotel Der Blaue Reiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    87
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
79
11
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hotel Der Blaue Reiter in Karlsruhe is a fantastic place to stay for travellers who wish to visit Karlsruhe but prefer to be away from the city center, as well as for travellers who want to stop over during long trips via Germany. The hotel is furnished in high standards, with modern design, being able to achieve top levels in terms of comfort, technology and service. The hotel rooms are quite spacious, well insulated, with air conditioning, wi-fi and and large showers. The accommodations are well thought of in every detail. The breakfast is fantastic (wide variety of choices). The staff is highly qualified and friendly. As a plus, there are two restaurants associated to it. We have been to the German one (Bar/Restaurant) and we were quite happy with our dinner choice. It a very informal place, also suitable for guests who just want to enjoy a nice German drink. The hotel has its own garage but one needs to reserve a spot at the time of the accommodation booking. In summary: good value for money. We will certainly return to Hotel Der Blaue Reiter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Karlsruhe is a small city, we went there for a romantic getaway, to see the opera and to go to the spa in Baden-Baden.
The only really negative point was the ugly view we had towards a construction site.
All other aspects were fine. The room was renovated, modern, big enough, and the bathroom very nicely designed, and most of all: clean. Staff was friendly throughout.
We were happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear "Nipa27"!

Thank you for your friendly feedback. Unfortunately we couldn’t avoid the view of the nearby construction site. After the timely completion of the construction work, the view of the neighbor's house, will be even more beautiful than before! We look forward to your next stay!

Have a good time,

Marcus Fränkle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Karsruhe/Durlach is not the sort of place one chooses to go to but goes to out of necessity. The place has no qualities other than to make you feel fortunate to have come from somewhere else and shortly to be going somewhere else again.

The hotel, however, is good. It is modern with comfortable rooms, a good breakfast buffet and secure underground car parking. If I ever have to go to Karlsruhe again, and let's hope that never happens, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDFLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hotel is relatively modern. Has good sized rooms (for Europe). The rooms are modern with comfortable beds. The bathrooms are also very good. The breakfast is plentiful and very good. The hotel is located in a suburb (Durlach) and you can take the train to the city center. Great breakfast and great room. My only irritation was the internet access. As a business person processes a lot of email, ... the internet was much to unreliable. Kept loosing the connection and the speed was SLOW. With a decent internet connection they would be close to perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenrikC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Hendrik,

At first, thank you for the good review and you mostly had a comfortable stay with us.
We know about the problem with the internet connection. And we really apologize for it. We are in contact with our technician. He tries very much to solve the problem. We hope that it is ready soon.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and you won’t have any problems with the Internet connection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Modern design, nice and clean rooms, the staff were very kind and helpful, great breakfast with lots to choose from and very nice micro brewery beer garden next door. Will certainly return on my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alonsegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Alonseg,

Thank you for the good review. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We are looking forward to see you again in our hotel and also in the beer garden next door :) .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed for a 3 days whilst on Business. The hotel staff were very friendly and assisted me by supplying multiple travel adaptors after I had forgotten mine. The location is very convenient for the bars and cafes of Durlach plus the tram service in to central Karlsruhe. The room was small but functional and very clean. The main hotel bar is quiet and serves a good verity of food. The bar directly attached to the hotel has an excellent atmosphere and servers a great selection of German food and beverages. Should I return to Durlach I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Ross!

You enjoyed the stay at our hotel? Nice to hear that!
Thank you very much for your feedback and the time you have taken yourself.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Have a good time until then.

Your team of the hotel der blaue reiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rio
#3 of 61 in Karlsruhe
175 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#6 of 61 in Karlsruhe
353 reviews
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#12 of 61 in Karlsruhe
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Blaue Reiter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Blaue Reiter

Property: Der Blaue Reiter
Address: Amalienbadstr. 16, 76227, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Der Blaue Reiter 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Der Blaue Reiter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing