We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”
Review of Der Blaue Reiter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Der Blaue Reiter
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Quite nice hotel, with great service and a certain difference to the main chains! Everywhere lot of space, had a really nice room in the new building. The breakfast buffet had a big choice and they have been flexible even to start earlier on my request. Durlach is also a nice location, some nice restaurants in walking distance and also a good connection via public transport to Karlsruhe city as well as to the A5 motorway

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus F, Geschäftsführer at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank your very much for this nice comments and the great evaluation.

We are really glad, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you liked our room and our dependence KUBUS.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel and at Durlach.

Best regards

Marcus Fränkle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had a lovely business stay recently and would definitely use again. We were upgraded to the rooms along the road and wow, what showstoppers they are! I've stayed in some amazing hotels around the world but was pleasantly surprised by these, large and spacious with a cool vibe and balcony too. Large bathrooms with a great shower - really powerful and just what was needed to get me going in the morning. Breakfast was also good and generally, there is nothing that I didn't enjoy. When I'm next on business in Karlsruhe I will definitely opt to stay here again.

Room Tip: Apartments along from the main hotel are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariarichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

thanks a lot for this amazing comments.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you will visit us again in Karlsruhe.

Best regards

Marcus Fränkle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Well organized modern hotel with nice, quiet and clean rooms. Very friendly staff makes you feel at home. Parking available on location. Breakfast buffet offers a good variety. Walking distance from Karlsruhe Durlach station from where its 10 minutes to the center.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hvanmierle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Inhaber at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your comments.

It is very nice that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and for the whole team it’s a great feeling, that you felt like at home.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Best regards

Marcus Fränkle
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

A modern hotel in a good location. Very clean with well appointed rooms. The beds are a bit small. The room darkening curtains are great and the rooms to the back are very quiet. Air conditioning and heating were working well. The breakfast buffet was inviting and offered a good variety of items. Parking was easy to find on the street close to the hotel. Wifi in the rooms was A+.
I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mianne109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Geschäftsführer at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear “Mianne109”,

thanks a lot for the time you spend for writing the nice compliments.

Talking about our beds – we offer different sizes. The next time, you will visit our hotel you could book one of our suites with 1,80 m until 2 m size beds. Maybe you didn’t know our “KUBUS” yet? – It’s our annex with very large, trendy and innovative Superior rooms and suites. The rooms in our “KUBUS” have all a balcony and a large window. Also you will find a Nespresso machine in the room. All the beds in our annex are 2m size beds.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the “Hotel Der Blaue Reiter” and we wish you a very good start in the year 2014.

Best regards


Marcus Fränkle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My son and I stayed here a couple of years ago when I went for a job interview. The staff was amazing and spoke English. The hotel is only a block or two walk from downtown Durlach, which is a quintessential example of a quaint German town. We loved walking the town and talking to the German storekeepers with our broken German. The hotel is also a short train ride to downtown Karlsruhe, which is well worth the trip! The rooms in the hotel are very nice. Modern/contemporary design. We were there in October and the room was a little warm. The a/c kept the room comfortable but nothing like the a/c in the States. The food is traditional German and should be tried. There's a brewery attached to the hotel and makes some very good beer. Overall our stay there for one week was great. We hated to leave and would definitely stay here in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Geschäftsführer at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear “Ron B”,

Thanks a lot for your nice comments about our hotel. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Durlach and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the Hotel Der Blaue Reiter.

Best wishes
Marcus Fränkle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Over the last 9 years this has been my go to place, my warm refuge and fun home away from home. I've spent St. Nicolas day here with a chocolate Santa on my place mat, enjoyed Aldstadtfest in July and the Durlach Christmas Market several times. When I check in I'm greeted by name and it just feels like home. I challenge you to find a better breakfast, sweeter stay or a more accommodating staff...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikiemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear “Mikiemw”,

thanks for your wonderful comments about your stays in Durlach. It’s always nice to hear the satisfaction of our guests about our hotel and our team.
Talking about St. Nicolas day and Christmas Market – in two weeks starts the Christmas Market in Durlach and we would be very happy to welcoming you again in our hotel maybe you will find an other little surprise for the St. Nicolas day?!

Have a nice time.

Marcus Fränkle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I were in Karlsruhe for a conference and fortunately for us, all of the hotels in that city were booked and we stayed at the Der Blaue Reiter in Durlach, about a 15 mins bus ride away from the Karlsruhe conference center. We stayed 5 days and what a pleasant stay - we stayed in the Kubus building across the street from the hotel's front desk. We were on the 3rd floor, in one of the end rooms with a wraparound balcony (on the other end opposite the elevators). The room was spacious and modern. The furniture in the room was lovely. The beds were very cool, each side had a remote to adjust the bed, which made us want to stay in bed watching TV all day! The bathroom was stunning, a large rainfall shower and a separate bathtub. The room also had lots of closet space, where a Nespresso machine, fridge, and sink was hidden. Unfortunately the safe in the closet wasn't functional, even though a repair man came by to try but couldn't fix it. We had breakfast in the main building every morning, which was always tasty! I liked the tea timer. The main building is attached to the Vogel beer garden - so convenient! Without a doubt, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the "Kubus" building are quiet, spacious and modern!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Fraenkle, Manager at Der Blaue Reiter, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear ahyt,

Thanks a lot for your comment. It is very nice that you enjoyed the room in our hotel.
We’re really sorry for the safe we couldn’t repair during your stay. The next time you will visit our hotel we promise the safe will not make you any problems again.
Do you know that you can buy the tea timer at the reception? Maybe at next time this could be your personal souvenir from the Hotel Der Blaue Reiter.

Without a doubt, we are looking forward to welcoming you again! ;)

Kind regards

family Fränkle and the team of Hotel Der Blaue Reiter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
1,062 reviews
Schlosshotel Karlsruhe
#12 of 61 in Karlsruhe
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rio
#3 of 61 in Karlsruhe
195 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#5 of 61 in Karlsruhe
395 reviews
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#11 of 61 in Karlsruhe
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Blaue Reiter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Blaue Reiter

Address: Amalienbadstr. 16, 76227, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range: £105 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Der Blaue Reiter 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run, 4-star superior hotel in Karlsruhe offers an original design, free internet and a rich breakfast. The train station and city centre are 15 minutes away by public transport. The Hotel Der Blaue Reiter is named after the famous German art movement. It provides stylish rooms and suites with free wired internet and colourful pictures depicting the movement. Traditional Baden and Bavarian food is served in the Vogel Hausbräu restaurant with beer garden. The Durlach Gritznerstraße tram stop is only a 2-minute walk away from the Blaue Reiter. The Karlsruhe-Durlach S-Bahn (city rail) station is also just 7 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Der Blaue Reiter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing