We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, take care at checkout”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Karlsruhe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Karlsruhe
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, take care at checkout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed in executive room on rate that included "free minibar and room service". Room nice, spacious, very quiet, aircon and opening window. Bed comfortable, but 2 singles bolted together with 2 single quilts which is odd and a bit draughty.

Minibar stocked with 2 beers and soft drinks so no chance of getting drunk on the free minibar! Room service menu limited but the club sandwich was very good.

On checkout they wanted to charge for room service, claiming the "free room service" meant only the delivery charge was free not the good itself. I argued and eventually they relented . I had verified when I checked-in that I could order anything from room service for free so a bit annoyed.

So, nice hotel but take care what is included.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aji1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel K, Manager at Novotel Karlsruhe, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the evaluation about your stay in our hotel.

We regret that there was an irritation regarding our additional services as part of our executive category. Among other benefits the fees for room service do not apply which otherwise will be charged at € 2.00 per service. The dishes ordered are however not included in the executive fee of € 25.00.

In this regard the English text at our webpage was formulated a little misunderstanding. In the meantime the text is corrected.

Yours sincerely

Axel Hoffmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    446
    64
    12
    3
See reviews for
166
292
100
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Not the cheapest around, but the rooms are quiet, the place is spotless too. The food in the main restaurant is fantastic, the wine list is pricey but good, you're talking €30 for a bottle of red. Garage is very handy, Internet in room is slow and a pain, also not cheap, why isn't it included?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VKO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Definitely recommended for a judge of world-known brand hotels. Spacious lobbies, rooms, wide choice in breakfasts, free Internet access in lobby computers, underground parking, charming bathroom decoration, helpful staff but some disappointments: one of the two elevators went wrong, so temporary no possibilities to reach by elevator to underground parking, small and hard beds, reconstruction in the front of the hotel. Hope it will be eliminated before your visits.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxVko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stopped here overnight on our way from UK to Austria. Pure luxury the minute you walk in, very tasteful and room extremely comfortable. 7 year old son received a backpack with a workable toy watch, scrapbook, teddy and colouring bits so he was delighted and kept him amused while we sat outside on the terrrace and had a beer and snack in the evening. Service was excellent. The breakfast was just amazing, everything you can imagine and they cook special requests on the spot. A fantastic start to the day. Only drawback we didn't realise was the charge for the underground parking - an extra 18 Euros.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzsnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Good business hotel with modern decor close to Karlsruhe city centre. Rooms fully adequate, even though a tad bit loud if you want to sleep with an open window.

Some service flaws:
We arrived on a very warm summer night and asked for a lighter blanket instead of the heavy down duvet. The night reception (10 PM) was not able to fulfill the request, since reception in the evening is manned by staff of a security service, without access to hotel resources. We asked the next morning at normal reception hours. Again without avail. We called housekeeping directly, we asked the maids... Finally, on the third day, the hotel managed to replace the duvets with a blanket.

Service friendlyness and attentiveness leaves a bit to be desired. At the Lobby bar, we sat for almost 20 mins waiting for service, all the while bar staff was chatting apparently with friends.

All in all OK, just not great. Could easily be improved, though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vienna-onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I cannot say a bad word for this hotel. You definitely get what you pay for! Cool design, helpful staff, free internet at the reception area, tastefully designed and soundproofed rooms with air-conditioning (you cannot find this in many hotels) comfortable beds and generally a classy atmosphere. I enjoyed my time at the bar since the hotel seems to be alive 24 hours. Music and cocktails was the spotlight of my stay.. I recommend this hotel to everyone, young and old. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria-Lesleynoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
282 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Since many years I stay at the Novotel Karlsruhe (formerly the Dorint Kongresshotel Karlsruhe) at least once or twice per year. Rooms are perfect (good beds, spacious, silent, good working facilities), convenient location between towncenter and motorways, good underground parking facilities, good food and very professional and friendly staff. For us, a certainty.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Der Blaue Reiter
#2 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Südstadt
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
#6 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#8 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Hotel Rio
#4 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Karlsruhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Karlsruhe

Property: Novotel Karlsruhe
Address: Festplatz 2, 76137, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Karlsruhe
#1 Family Hotel in Karlsruhe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Karlsruhe
#1 Business Hotel in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Karlsruhe 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Karlsruhe Kongress offers a perfect inner city location with direct access to the convention centre and close to the main railway station and exhibition centre. With good transport connections to Stuttgart and Frankfurt airports, this 4 starhotel is ideal for business trips and city jaunts. 246 elegant rooms, ten bright meeting rooms, two bars, a restaurant and a wellness area with sauna, steam bath and fitness equipment make this hotel ideal for your next conference or revitalising break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Karlsruhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karlsruhe Novotel
Accor Karlsruhe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing