We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and value for money”
Review of Hotel Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rio
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have recently stayed one night in this hotel and everything went very well. The hotel is within 10 minutes walking distance to the very centric and pedestrian streets of Karlsruhe. I parked easily right in front of the hotel for free. The hotel room was spacious, comfortable, clean and tidy.
I found the breakfast was really nice, with a large variety of choices and good quality for a very low price.
The staff was efficient and helpful.
I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZinaFrancina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for the good rating.
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to see you soon again in our hotel!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel is a absolut standard hotel, nice clean rooms, good breakfast, and good location. The new building front of the hotel is much more newer and nicer. I was here twice for a week in 2008, and that was a good time for me. I recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your recommandation.
We hope to see you soon again in our hotel!
Best regards

Hotel RIO Karlsruhe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I have stayed at a few places in Karlsruhe, and I find the Hotel Rio perfect for those weekends-away adventures with your spouse. Yes, the King beds are actually two twins pushed together, but the double rooms are bigger than the more typical European hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Close to Kaisers Allee, but need to take a taxi to get to/from train station. Short walk to center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizardHntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for the good rating of our hotel.
We hope to see you again in our hotel!

Best regards

Hotel RIO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

friendly, nice rooms, clean, very very good breakfast, comfortable beds
to get better: there was "only" a caretaker at the check in on a saturday at 17.00 - some "cream cheese" at the breakfast, and some rooms with a bathtub would be great

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for recommanding our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards

Hotel RIO Karlruhe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Hotel Rio is close to Club Brasil where we went to see a concert. This was a 5 minute walk (also the tram stops just in front of the building) and it was a 5 minute cab drive from the station as well where you have loads of food options by the way.

Arrival and check in was easy, and very friendly. We had a room in the Guest House across the street, to the garden side so very quiet. To arrange a late check out at 12 was no problem at all. We came in shivering so were very happy to have a hot shower and watercooker waiting in the room and warmed ourselves up with a nice cup of camomille tea.

We loaded the mini fridge with our drinks and put our valuables in the safe, ready for our night out.

It had very comfortable beds (therapeutic matrasses!) and the Rituals Bath & Shower Line which I love!

Check out quick and smooth as well, cab arrived in minutes after ordering and we went back to Zürich with the direct ICE 13.10 - 16.00. Suited the purpose, would go back anytime to discover Karlsruhe since this hotel is also located close to the Schloss & Garten :)

Room Tip: Haven`t seen/ used the fitness center or swimming pool. 2 free drinks in the hotel bar upon arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kipa6cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for the excellent rating of our hotel!
We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay here in Hotel RIO.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Hotel RIO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have stayed here only for one night during my business trip. Hotel is located centrally, on a walking distance to all major interesting spots. I have arrived using the train DB, and hotels was approximately 20-25 minutes walking distance (i have not used public transport or taxi since the weather was nice). Check in and check out were the fastest i have ever experienced, and a big plus for that. I hardly spent minute on the reception. When checking in, I was invited for a free drink in the hotel bar, and i found this very interesting. Room was on the second floor. Nothing fancy and surprising, but still very clean, conformable and there was everything you might need. I had a good night sleep. Internet was free and very fast. Breakfast was really good, you can choose from a variety of options and it was fresh. I also like this tropical mixes at the juice bar during the breakfast. Staff was pleasant and naturally smiling. I will use this hotel again, for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for the good rating of our hotel.
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again!

Best regards

Hotel RIO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

friendly staff, late check out possible. good for business traveller. good breakfast. clean room. there were the old part and new part of the hotel, located opposite sides of a side street. the new one has better décor but both old and new were good enough. the heating was difficult to control and the mattress was very foamy and not as comfy as many other hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel! We are pleased to see, that you enjoyed your stay!

Best regards

Hotel RIO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
1,049 reviews
Der Blaue Reiter
#2 of 61 in Karlsruhe
267 reviews
Schlosshotel Karlsruhe
#11 of 61 in Karlsruhe
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt-West
City Partner Hotel Berliner Hof
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#6 of 61 in Karlsruhe
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio

Address: Hans-Sachs-Str. 2-3, 76133, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range: £73 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing