We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel with friendly staff in the city center”
Review of Hotel Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rio
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great hotel for both business and leisure. Really friendly staff in reception, restaurant and bar. Parking in the basement, hotel is splint on both sides of the little street. I stayed in the newly added section on the other side of the road, facing the backyard and on 3rd floor. The room was quiet, large with a good bed and a nice bathroom. Wifi worked well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Chokk,

Thanks a lot for your recommendation!
We are glad to read, that you enjoyed your stay.

We would be glad to welcome you again in our hotel!

Best regards

Hotel RIO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Everything in the hotel worked well. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was very good. Special mention about the hotel restaurant which was awesome. We had the best dinner in the restaurant, so I would like to really recommend that. Only negative thing regarding to our stay was there is no climate control / air conditioning in the rooms (or at least we didn't have in our rooms). We stayed at the hottest time of the summer and it was really hot.

Room Tip: Would recommend to ask room from the upper floors. If you have to keep windows open during the night...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kyde1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Kyde,

Thanks a lot for this great rating! Especially our kitchen team was very happy about your recommendation.

We hope to see you again in our hotel!

Best regards

Hotel RIO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for one night in June 2014. Very quick and professional check-in. Room pretty small and economically furnished but fair enough for a short stay, and very clean. A bit noisy as I was on the first floor (street side) and there was some construction work going on out front. Breakfast buffet is abundant and tasty enough, service was a bit slow though. The neighborhood isn't particularly interesting, but it's easy and quick to get to the city centre by tram. Overall decent value for an OK stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kloddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel.
We are glad to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards

Hotel RIO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

stayed for four nights in June, Room very good, breakfast excellent, very nice and relaxing bar area. staff were very friendly and attentive. on my last night at 23:30 i reported a problem with the WC ,( Water kept running). within 10 minutes they changed my room and in my opinion it was a much better room than i had stayed for the first three nights. Here on business, if I come again i will definitely stay again. full marks

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alister P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Alister,

thank you very much for this great rating!
We are glad to read, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Best regards

Hotel RIO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very convenient location, cosy rooms, nice and professional staff and even a complimentary welcome drink but the cherry on top was the breakfast, the real feast:) To sum up, a very positive experience, I hope to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EwaMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Ewa,

Thank you for this good rating!
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Hotel RIO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just stayed in the hotel for one night. Nice spacious and very clean room in the building across the entrance. The service at the front desk was great. They gave good advise. The hotel is just of the city centre but on walking distance. If you come from the train station you better take a taxi (about 9 euros) or the public transport. A lot of trams go that direction.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Anthony,

thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel! We are glad to read, that you have had a pleasant stay!

We hope to see you again!

Best regards

Hotel RIO Karlsruhe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

There were lots of tasty choices in breakfast and i really liked it. Service in front-desk was good. The staff was very polite. The location was very convinient and minutes away the city center. It was a very good experience overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaLaier, Bewertungsmanagement at Hotel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your recommandation! We are glad to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel!

Best regards

Hotel RIO Karlsruhe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
1,022 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#5 of 61 in Karlsruhe
367 reviews
Der Blaue Reiter
#2 of 61 in Karlsruhe
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt-West
City Partner Hotel Berliner Hof
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#12 of 61 in Karlsruhe
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio

Address: Hans-Sachs-Str. 2-3, 76133, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range: £71 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing