We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convient for the center of Karlsruhe” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe

Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Convient for the center of Karlsruhe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

As others have stated, there is a large amount of construction going on in the street nearby this hotel. However, when I stayed here in early July 2014, the noise was at acceptable levels - and they start working around 7am, so not too disruptive. The whole building is quite secure, having digital entry from the front door required. This could be annoying if you are wanting two keys, as they only provide one. The rooms were clean, though there was a stuffy feeling to the corridor, with no ventilation. In the room however, with an open window, it was acceptable. Of course, if you were facing the street, opening the window might be an issue with the construction noise- luckily we were facing inside. This is a request I would make when booking at the moment. The hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfast was nice, but if you come late, you will not get as many things to choose from. Would recommend this hotel to business travelers who are not going to spend much time in the room, but not for holiday makers who might spend more time in there!

Room Tip: At the moment (July 2014), there is construction, so ask for an inwards facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix_nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    24
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
5
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very good hotel, not expensive, clean, staff is friendly and works good. The whole city is a construction site, so it could be a little noisy in the rooms facing the main street. It is very well located, with many train lines to get almost everywhere in the city and 10min away from the main station (10 blocks away, you can walk). Internet has a very low signal power in the rooms away from the router (ending in xx1, 2, 6 and 7).
Do not accept a room in 4th. floor because they are located right in front of the bar where breakfast is served and they get very noisy in the morning (unless you plan to wake up at 7am).
I'd recommend it for regular travelers not spending a long time (3 - 4 nights).

Room Tip: Facing the lateral street. Ending in xx3, 4, 5 have better internet signal. Avoid 4th floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M-P-Aguirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLV
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I booked it because it is located in the middle of the downtown, and it was expensive, so I expected to find a fancy hotel. I had a big surprise.
First, the positive:
1. Pleasant and nice people at the reception.
2. Central location.
3. Free WiFi (but very weak signal and very slow).
Now, the negative:
1. Because of street construction in the city center, you cannot approach the hotel by car. You must part at a distance and carry your suitcases all the way.
2. When I found the hotel, I saw many people waiting in front of the main door, pressing the ring and waiting to get in. After several minutes, somebody answered the intercom and he opened the door and told us to go to the 4th floor, where the reception is located. The entrance is narrow, not what you expect in a hotel. The elevator is very small and 3 people plus 2 suitcases do not fit in.
3. At 5 AM street constructions start and this is the end of your sleep. They use huge and noisy machines, a few meters from your room! I think that hiding this information from us at the booking time can be considered as cheating. They know that people do not bother to sue them, and they continue to make money and let their customers suffer.
4. The entrance to my room was directly from the small reception. No corridor and no isolation. You can hear every word spoken at the repection.
5. No aircondition and no windows at all. There is a door to a balcony, which is shared by all people on that floor. It means that you cannot leave it opened. So in the summer, you must sleep in a very warm room, with no fresh air. Anyhow, if you open the door, you get exposed to the street noise, which is there all night. Actually, you cannot sleep at all, so don’t dare to take this hotel in the summer.
6. Very minimalistic room. No safe. No supplies, but liquid soap. Two glasses for three people.
7. No free parking in the whole area. You have to park in the city parking, where you pay 6 Euro par day.
8. Much overpriced. The cost is more than double of its real value. Do not get confused: in spite of its central location, this is a very low level hotel.
9. You get one regular key, which opens your room and the entrance to the building. No card or electronic key. If you are two people, you have a problem, because you cannot split. If your partner must leave for a while and you stay in your room, you have to choose, either to remain locked in or to stay in an unlocked room (you cannot keep the key with you, because your partner needs it in order to get into the building.

We complained that we could not sleep due to the noise. They agreed to give us late checkout, but actually this did not happen, since when we returned to the room it was alreday done for the next visitor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isrgbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Karlsruhe hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

and the stay will be much more pleasant. The hotel is located at Marktplatz through which almost trams pass. So it is noisy if you stay in a room facing the market. Those rooms that face the back are quiet. Staff is friendly, and the rooms are clean. I wouldn't mind staying there again given the reasonable price.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nuboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

As usual in Karlsruhe I stayed in Hotel am Markt, so I wanted to review it again as this time was winter and wanted to add some more details.
Same feelings as my previous reviews but better. Staff is still very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is simple but very good. I have got a room not facing Marktplatz and was very quiet.
The single room with big bed was espacious. There is free fast wifi in all the hotel. The location is perfect. The hotel has the Cafe am Markt just downstairs with good prices and very good quality.
I only missed as usual, a fridge or minibar in the room. I will stay again while in Karlsruhe.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing Markplatz for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafaMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Value for money. Good breakfast. Cheaper price. Close to my office and hence was convenient to me. English speaking staff. 24hrs check-in through auto machine is an advantage. Room has good amenities. Newly refurbished and cleanly maintained.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PramodBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

I wanted to like this hotel. Located overlooking the town hall, it is right in the middle of the market. Unfortunately this means the room is incredibly loud. No air conditioning and no fans mean the room windows have to be opened so that the light rail service that goes by every minute and the crowded plaza stream noise into the room. The room is simply unacceptable.

Furnishings are very dated, and the non-smoking room smells like smoke. Pleas to move an exhausted international traveler to the back of the hotel fell on deaf ears.

I simply do not understand how anyone could give this hotel anything beyond the lowest ranking.

Not recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelangst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Innenstadt-West
City Partner Hotel Berliner Hof
Innenstadt-West
Alfa Hotel Karlsruhe
Alfa Hotel Karlsruhe
#39 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Erbprinzenhof
Hotel Erbprinzenhof
#23 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt-Ost
Hotel Blankenburg
Hotel Blankenburg
#11 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#13 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Hotel Rio
#5 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe

Property: Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe
Address: Kaiserstr. 76, 76133, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe > Innenstadt-West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing