We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for what it is”

City Hotel Karlsruhe
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hotel Karlsruhe
Ranked #46 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I only stayed there one night, but the rooms are clean, the staff are super friendly and speak perfect English, it's a small, privately run hotel, you get what you pay for, the location is brilliant, the internet is free, OK it can be a bit noisy as it is on the main square but you know that before you book it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you must, I was overlooking the main square and didn't find it a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
4
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I have stayed in City Hotel many times during my official visits to Karlsruhe. The first thing I like about this hotel is the hospitality they provide. All the receptionists are friendly and welcome you with a smile. They speak good English also specially the manager Mr. Vettermann.
The second best thing is the location. It is right at the heart of city i.e. Europaplatz which is the city center, what else do you want? The rooms are adequate and fairly priced.
I would love to stay in city hotel again!

Room Tip: A room towards the street side would be better !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this hotel and occupied 2 rooms with 4 persons.
The reservation was made 2 days ahead via the website www.booking.com.

Both rooms were well cleaned and had good beds. The bathroom is smal but clean. The wifi-connection was ok on the rooms itself (we slept on the 5the floor).

The breakfast was ok with a choice of several breads, meat, marmelade, ... Even fruit, yoghurt, nuts, ... was there.

If you sleep on the side of the street it is important to notice that it is a busy shoppingstreet so with some noise of people who party at night, or do other loud occupation.

Tha price was 130€ included the breakfast for the 2 rooms. This was the price as mentioned at the reservation.

We found this a good hotel for this price!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Koen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Starting from the entrance: It is a keyed elevator in the street! No reception desk or public entrance. Once you get the keys you are good, otherwise you pray to someone be at the 3th floor lobby. Yes, you read it right, I said KEYS! No magnetic card or PIN. You have a nice set of old fashion keys, with a gas station-size key ring, to the elevator and room.
Room? Well, let me rephrase that. The compartment where the beds are, oh yeah..bedS, they don't have double, queen or king size beds. Only singles together which leaves a nice ditch between you and your companion. Good idea if the trip with your beloved one went a little sour. This was not our case so we hated it.
Bathroom is tiny but no complains about the shower.
Breakfast buffet was pretty decent with limited options of choices.
People are courteous and able to speak other languages, some does French, some does English. You just have to be lucky to meet the right person that matches your language skills. The staff vanishes at 5:00PM. I have no idea what would happen if you arrive late and realize your forgot the keys in the room.
You can have an acceptable night of sleep as soon as you understand that the rumbling you hear when laying in bed it is just the echo of the trams passing by the street.
For us was a late decision to go to Karlsruhe and other places were booked already. Should you have more time and little more budget, try to find another place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newtinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Karlsruhe hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe
Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe
#23 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Erbprinzenhof
Hotel Erbprinzenhof
#22 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Südweststadt
Hotel Astoria Garni
Hotel Astoria Garni
#42 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt-West
City Partner Hotel Berliner Hof
Weststadt
Acora Hotel Karlsruhe
Acora Hotel Karlsruhe
#24 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Innenstadt-West
Alfa Hotel Karlsruhe
Alfa Hotel Karlsruhe
#37 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Karlsruhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Karlsruhe

Property: City Hotel Karlsruhe
Address: Kaiserstr. 152-154, 76133, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe > Innenstadt-West
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Karlsruhe 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your City Hotel Karlsruhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing