We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and that is about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expensive and that is about it”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A small room with minimal facilities cost me €154.00 per night. You need to pay extra if you want international television, breakfast (€19.00!), internet connection (wired, no wifi available). The staff at reception are very unhelpful and slow (plan well in advance your check-out if you have a train to catch). For the price, you do not get soap, shampoo or any of the other amenities provided in all hotels today, you only get a generic cleansing product safely attached to the wall. The pillows on the bed are the most rubbish pillows I have ever seen, you need at least two if you want any support whatsoever. The bedroom was a non-smoking room, but the level just underneath had a balcony, where people smoked, so the room regularly smelled of smoke if the window was open. Speaking of the window, the view was on the back of a concrete office building... On the positive side, it is very easy to get from here into the town centre, which is very nice.

Room Tip: Try another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    96
    113
    50
    28
See reviews for
17
44
29
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
248 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Maritim is a hotel where the décor seems to be set in the 1970s, and the photos on the walls leading down to the restaurant give the impression that this was when this residence was in its hey day.

The hotel room was medium size, with a generally comfortable bed. The TV was antique, as was most of the appliances. The bathroom was in need of a refurb and it was a shame that hardly any toiletries had been provided, surprising for a four star hotel.

The saving grace of the hotel was the restaurant and staff. The food was of a very high standard - the roast goose was very good, and the staff went out of their way to help, and were polite and friendly.

Whilst I wouldn't stay at this hotel again, I would return to the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed from 11th November 2013 to 14th November 2013

A business trip to Mannheim required a stay of four nights at this hotel. The staff are courteous & polite while very efficient - checking in took about four minutes while checking out took no more than a couple of minutes, which in view of our schedule was very good.

The room was clean, tidy & well appointed with own mini-bar, a decent bathroom with very good shower (continental Europe seem to have very good showers). Downside of the room was the single bed which was pushed against the far wall. The bar was very comfortable, with a bar tender who's command of English was excellent (far better than my German will ever be). The restaurant is on the lower level. Breakfast was typical continental range with fruits, bread, pastries, juices & a small hot selection of scrambled egg, sausages, meatballs, bacon & beans, though the offering of beans was a bit dismal & dried up. The evening meals were pre-arranged but of decent quality so we did not have chance to sample the normal menu, though service was a little slow.

Overall, this is a hotel geared for business travel so may not suit families & couples on holiday trips. Car parking is available under the Wasserturm, linked to the hotel by a tunnel, at 10 euro;s per night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrThundercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Compared to last time I had a much better stay at this hotel. A quiet room and maybe not so crowded.The bartender was very friendly but attending roomservice as well in the evening made us wait too long for our drinks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you need to catch the train, tram or any public transport from Mannheim, this should be a good hotel to stay. It is just 500m away from the Mannheim train station. This is a typical business hotel for a short stay. I haven't seen other rooms but the one I stayed was quite cramped with little space to move around.
Being at the very centre, has access to many nice restaurents around. For fast food buffs, there is a KFC and McDonalds just across the street!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gopinath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Nice hotel within walking distance of the Mannheim Hauptbahnhof (main station) and across the street from the Wasserturn (water tower) built before world war ii. The hotel was built in the 1880s and has wonderful architecture with marble steps. It is near several restaurants and shopping areas, and a Starbucks is nearby. Mannheim is more of an industrial city than a tourist center, so this hotel attracts more business travelers. From the train station, you can easily get to Heidelberg in 20 minutes, roundtrip 11 Euros. The hotel is quiet in the evenings for a good night's rest and the staff is very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Wasserturn, it's beautifully lighted at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueRidgeTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My hosts put me up at this hotel and it was fine. At first they put me in a smoking room on the first floor which was doubly bad - smoky and too loud. Fortunately they moved me. The rooms are a little tired and small, but really, I wanted to spend as little time in the room anyway, since I was at the meeting with some friends. Lobby was nice and bar was fun with live music at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrainDoc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#8 of 45 in Mannheim
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim

Property: Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
Address: Friedrichsplatz 2, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant first class hotel built in the renaissance style and located in the midst of the particulary beautiful Friedrichsplatz Jugendstil complex forms certainly the ideal framework for guests looking for that very special place. The flight of stairs flanked by columns and the vestibule finished with Carrara marble, Venetian crystal and ornamental plasterwork reflect the exclusivity and the wealth of tradition of our Parkhotel.The very special wedding ceremony! Allow yourself the pleasure of a civil wedding ceremony in the elegant and stylish wedding room of our Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim. Your accommodation is in the city centre surroundedby countless attractions. For instance the Water Tower just in front of our hotel , the principal landmark of Mannheim. Do not miss the impressive waterworks and luminous fountains. The Electoral Residence Castle, on of the largest baroque castles in the world, the oldest baroque Town Hall preserved in its original walls, the museums and the historic observatory and the Luisenpark are within easy reach from the hotel. The city location in the heart of the famous Baden and Pfalz vineyards and wineries makes it a valued destination for wine connoisseurs from all over the globe.Do you prefer your stay to be in a very special atmosphere? Then you will feel welcome in the Maritim Parkhotel in Mannheim. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim Hotel Mannheim
Maritim Parkhotel Hotel Mannheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing