We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Great place and location.”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my say at the hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful and its not to pricey. Hotel room are hot in summer but in winter thy are great to stay in. Buffet breakfast is of the best in Mannheim but dinner menus does not have to may selections. Hotel walking distance from all main attraction and main train station. Best hotel I have stays in Mannheim so fare.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    172
    75
    22
    13
See reviews for
18
44
23
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This is a good business hotel. The rooms are clean the hotel is clean standard business type quality. There is a standard European buffet breakfast with cold cuts, cheese, etc in the morning... but the breakfast price is a little high. The location is excellent within walking distance to the water tower and other restaurants and bars.

The wireless internet is not tmobile, and paid per device, plus daily or hourly rate only.

Overall, the price is a little high for what you get. Even though it is not quite as central, I prefer the Mecure which is definitely a better value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jciao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is located in the center of Mannheim, which gives you a lot of possibilities to go out for dinner. It's an ideal hotel business customers.

There is a possibility for underground parking for a small charge.

The rooms are clean and there is a nice bar downstairs.
No free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint_Kongresshotel, General Manager at Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us on your short business trip.
We hope to welcome you back to Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim very soon.
Kind regards,
Kirsten. H.-H. Stolle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Although the Dorint is a big business hotel with very little charm, it is located a stone's throw from the fressgass, which is a walking area filled with shops, restaurants and gelateries, and the Mannheim Hauptbahnhof (8 min walks from train station to hotel), making it a convenient choice for a one-day stay to see Leonard Cohen at the Sap Arena.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic and comfortable. Because we were there when the weather was mildly cool and rainy, I did not experience heat or discomfort in the rooms, as some other reviewers experienced. However, most hotels and homes in Germany do not have A/Cs because it never gets that hot in the summer usually, so I do not expect A/Cs in German hotels. But I can imagine how uncomfortable it could be if there was suddenly a heat wave and no A/C.

What I liked about the hotel is the central location. The walking area for shopping and cafes is literally right across the hotel. When we visited, there was a festival going on in that area so lots of tents with food, handicrafts, drinks, music, etc. The hotel is quite close to the Waserturm, which during our visit had a stage set up with bands playing for the festival. If you walk through the fressegasse, you come to the University (about 20 min walk). Therefore, this hotel can accommodate business travelers and parents or visitors to the University. I also liked the fact that the hotel is about 8 min walk from the train station. After the Leonard Cohen concert, we took the S-bahn train back to town, which was easy and fast. The costs for the train ride were included in the concert ticket. I am not sure if this is the norm for all concerts at Sap Arena, which is about a 20 min train ride from the Mannheim train station, but it makes sense if it is.

The only caution I have about this hotel is parking. If you are planning to drive and you have a car that is bigger than a Mini, be careful driving into and out of the underground parking lot beneath the hotel. The turning radius in the circular ramp down to the garage is very very tight, even by European standards, which are much much smaller than U.S. standards. Our rental car was not as big as an SUV, but it was big enough that driving in the circular ramp required more patience and very careful manuevering. If you're not planning to have a car and want to stay central and close to the train station, this would be a ideal choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelandeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint_Kongresshotel, General Manager at Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay with us.
We hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Kirsten. H.-H. Stolle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Dorint in Mannheim provides excellent service, combined with nice rooms.
I was there on a business trip and can't say much wrong about the hotel
The breakfast is absolutely recommendable, such a variety...if you can't find your choice, there's probably something wrong with you :-)

The staff is very helpful and they try to make you feel as comfortable as possible (e.g. the coffee corner next to the conference rooms was always provided with sweets and fruit).

There's some points of concern though:
First of all, the air condition system needs an upgrade (or should even be installed, like in the rooms). The temperature in the meeting room couldn't be adapted, resulting in an unfresh and warm room after some hours of meeting.
Secondly, Wi-Fi and parking are expensive. Why aren't they included, the hotel rates aren't cheap and then such amendments to the bill (3-day parking about € 50, Wi-Fi ca. € 10 a day).

But of the hotels in Mannheim, it's certainly on of the recommendable ones.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the non-sunny side of the building, certainly during the summer. In the winter, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brugst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint_Kongresshotel, General Manager at Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback on our breakfast. We are also happy to inform you that we are increasingly working on planning an upcoming room renovation in the near future.
We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Kirsten. H.-H. Stolle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed 1 night in june during a warm summerday. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are nice and clean. Unfortunately there is no air conditioning in the room, so special on a warm summer day it can be very hot. Breakfast is however extensive and very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbierens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint_Kongresshotel, Manager at Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear guest,

We are very pleased that you have had a nice stay with us and that you were very satisfied with our service. Unfortunately a number of our rooms have no air condition. Step by step we are going to plan the full renovation of our rooms including air conditioning.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Kirsten. H.-H. Stolle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, Berkshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed for 1 night at this property as there was a conference at the hotel. While the meeting areas on the 2nd floor are great, complemented by staff that go that extra mile, the rooms in this hotel are shocking. First, as a heatwave hit Germany, the room had no aircon and could not be cooled down. Despite changing rooms and being given what seemed a cooler room, it was still hot and there was no way to cool the room down.

Rooms do not include a safe, there is no iron and ironing board, there is a distinct lack of sockets to plug in your phone and devices (there is one on the desk and one next to the room), the clothes hangers are those awful ones that do not have a hook at the top. Furthermore, the hotel insists on just giving you one hand towel and one bath towel. There is no robe and the soaps and shower gels are those awful dispenser type things stuck to the bathroom wall. And the towels are pathetic in quality.

Adding insult to injury, wifi is charged at 9.95 Euros per device, which is an absolute disgrace in 2013.

Sleep quality was ok, but I awoke at 5am as the room was so warm and stuffy. Plus, the linens do not seem to be 100% cotton.

Of course there is a mini-bar but it is ludicrously overpriced. The fitness area on the 1st floor is ok, but there are only a handful of apparatus for this 200+ room hotel, so make sure you get there early or go when it is not busy.

Staff on reception are good, but in the morning when checking out, only 2 colleagues were working which meant there was a long line.

Breakfast is nice, but at €25, so it should be. As for the bar and beer garden, staff seemed a little surly and you felt you were imposing when you asked them to bring the drinks menu.

In all, if you want to put a meeting on in this hotel, do it. If you want to stay here, think twice. Ironically, the Dorint's marketing slogan is "Sie werden wiederkommen" ("You'll be back"). In my case, no I will not. Especially when they charged me €175 for the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bag away from the Ring and the tram line
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ascottowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint_Kongresshotel, General Manager at Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments. We sincerely regret that the time spent with us was not to your full satisfaction and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We appreciate the time taken to post the message including the problems you have encountered during your stay, as only open feedback from our guests can help us to strive for excellence and meet our goals.

After a complete renovation of our meeting and functions rooms last year we are going to plan a full step-by-step renovation of our guest rooms in the near future.

We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and are confident that an updated and fresh critique and review of our services will prove more positive.

Yours sincerely,

Kirsten. H.-H. Stolle
(General Manager Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Speicher7 Hotel
Speicher7 Hotel
#3 of 45 in Mannheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterCityHotel Mannheim
InterCityHotel Mannheim
#8 of 45 in Mannheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
#21 of 45 in Mannheim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim

Property: Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
Address: Friedrichsring 6, 68161 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Dorint Sofitel)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mannheim
#4 Business Hotel in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim is a modern 4-star hotel, centrally located and directly linked to the congress Center Rosengarten.The hotel features 287 rooms and suites, an a la carte restaurant, a bar, a terrace, a fitness area including a sauna and modern fitness equipment and 13 conference and function room for up to 600 people.For guests arriving by car, the basement garage offers adequate parking at all times with up to 1,100 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Kongresshotel Hotel Mannheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing