We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Big labrynthyne hotel on Friedrichstrasse in the centre of Mannheim.WIFI is free but sketchy (I had to sit on the floor near the bathroom to get a signal.Rooms are an acceptable size and clean but this is not a cheap hotel and whenever there is a conference in town they hike their prices (stayed 3 nights,the third night was double the price of the first two.The rooms to the rear face a loading bay and it can be quite noisy until 8 or 9 in the evening.
There are better hotels in Mannheim for less money (Steigenberger,Mercure) and next year a huge new Radisson,I`d try one of those first and use this place as afallback

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint_Kongresshotel, Manager at Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. We sincerely regret all problems you have had during your stay with us and apologize for any inconveniences caused. Please be assured that we will take all necessary steps to avoid these serious shortcomings in future.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again to the Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, with the assurance of our best care for your comfort.
Yours sincerely,
Kirsten H.-H. Stolle (General Manager) & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Dorint in Mannheim is a good business hotel choice. Located in city center, easy walk to train station. Room was small but comfortable, staff accommodating, extensive buffet breakfast, surprisingly good food in restaurant. Only drawback is lack of drawer space in room. But if on a short trip that is hardly a problem.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank DHG716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is fine; the staff are nice and courteous; the breakfast is good; went for a run in the nearby park by the river which was lovely.
The rooms are dated and smell strange - I eventually found a complementary bottle of water hidden in a fridge which was very welcome as the room was quite warm.
All in in all, ok - its about a 15 min walk from the train station and attached to the rosengarten conference centre - so ticked the boxes for me

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank gergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint_Kongresshotel, Manager at Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Sir or Madame,
Thank you very much for your positive comments and your open feedback on the Tripadvisor online tool. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Dorint Kongresshotel at Mannheim.
Kind regards,
Kirsten H.-H. Stolle (General Manager) and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at the dorint for two nights.
Check in was relatively painless however it would be nice if they employed staff that spoke other european languages to avoid miscommunication. That happen many times on arrival.

The second night we arrived home mid afternoon after working all night. We skept untill 8pm then ordered room service at 0930pm. We we told that our food would arrive in half an hour. After losing track of time and giving the hotel the benefit of doubt called back after 1 half hours. The hotel rudely told me that there wasnt anyone in the kitchen...this suddenly changed to they can only make cold food. I repeated I ordered my food at 2130 and it was meant to be delivered at 10pm (service ends at 11pm). The receptionist was unapologetic and was extremely dimissive of the situation. There were no shops open for me to buys any food and the hotel didnt even offer a gesture of a sandwich. Absolutely no customer service whatsoever. Training required. Wasted 1 half only to be ignored. Never returning to this hotel.
It should have two stars given to this hotel.

I stayed on the top floor in room 606. The bathroom amenities are very "low rent" and need improvement. The mini bar that was meant to be replenished on a daily basis wasnt. I am going to ask for the value of the contents of the free minibar to be removed from my bill. Wifi does not work very well on the top floor. Our door keys constantly had to be reprogrammed.

The only good thing the hotel did for us was order a taxi to the airport. Other than the fact its probably the most central hotel in this area I would not reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waitey19810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint_Kongresshotel, Manager at Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. We sincerely regret all problems you have had during your stay with us and apologize for any inconveniences caused. Please be assured that will take all necessary steps to avoid these serious shortcomings in future.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again to the Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, with the assurance of our best care for your comfort.
Yours sincerely,
Kirsten H.-H. Stolle (General Manager) & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Good hotel providing all amenities and services of a 4* property, catering mostly to the business folks on the run. Rooms are of good size and the bathrooms are fully functional. However, the property is starting to age and some rooms have a bit strange smell. The breakfast is one of the best - many choices and all really fresh; absolutely worth the money. Unfortunately, the pool is gone and was replaced with a few threadmills (fitness centre). The location is great, within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the train station. For me still the best choice in Mannheim - and I have tried all of the 4* downtown hotels.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed here on a business trip in May'2012. The hotel is nice and well placed in the centre of Mannheim close to the shops, many restaurants and central square. Close to Mannheim Hbf train station. Rooms are of a good quality and were clean. There was a good selection at breakfast and we also ate dinner here one night which was pretty good.

Room Tip: u may choose any room
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaydip_76_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The location is excellent, only a few minutes walk from the main train station. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. No request, such as holding baggage after checkout, was even questioned. The rooms were exceptionally clean. The breakfast buffet was probably the best that I had during 2 weeks in Germany. The room that I had faced inward from the main street, so it was very quiet during the night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juergen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#9 of 45 in Mannheim
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
#19 of 45 in Mannheim
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Delta Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim

Address: Friedrichsring 6, 68161 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Dorint Sofitel)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mannheim
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mannheim
Price Range: £78 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim is a modern 4-star hotel, centrally located and directly linked to the congress Center Rosengarten.The hotel features 287 rooms and suites, an a la carte restaurant, a bar, a terrace, a fitness area including a sauna and modern fitness equipment and 13 conference and function room for up to 600 people.For guests arriving by car, the basement garage offers adequate parking at all times with up to 1,100 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Kongresshotel Hotel Mannheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing