We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall it was fine - but rooms very hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overall it was fine - but rooms very hot”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here on a couple of occassions recently (May and June) for short business trips. Overall the hotel is fine, nice lobby, clean(ish) rooms (see below), friendly and efficient staff etc and a great breakfast.

Couple of niggly bad points though and would have expected more for the price:

1) Bathroom toiletries non existent - just one common soap / shampoo dispenser in the shower area
2) No air conditioning - I arrived on both occasions very late at night and whilst it was not particularly warm outside the rooms were very hot and stuffy. There was a large industrial type fan in the room but it was impossible to sleep with it on due to the noise
3) Found a pair of boxers (not mine) under the shelving unit but as it was late I just went with it... Rest of the room and bed etc were clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    172
    75
    22
    13
See reviews for
17
44
23
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights during the F1 event at Hockenheim and managed to get a reasonable rate as we booked very early.

Hotel is very clean, functional and the rooms are reasonably well appointed, things I liked:

- Location was good
- Restaurants opposite are excellent (Italian and Japanese)
- Central location - only 6.00 Euro in a cab from train station
- Barman we had was very good
- Check in was fast
- Beds reasonably comfortable
- Good selection in the bar
- Nice mini-bar selection in room
- Plenty of towels and toiletries
- Free wifi was excellent and reasonably fast

Things I didn't like:

- 20 Euro for breakfast per person a bit of a con (no b & b rate available)
- THE most aggressive breakfast room staff I've ever encountered, their only purpose is to chase you around the breakfast room/lobby and get you to sign for your bill - breakfast is completely self-service
- No black out curtains or blinds meaning early mornings when the sun is out
- Weak air-con - I had it on full blast and coldest setting for 4 days and room was still too hot
- Rubbish TV channels - in English all they had was news, news and news.

So, all in all fairly minor faults, if I was to go again I would choose to stay in the very picturesque Heidelberg instead of Mannheim.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monaco7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

+ Breakfast

- Standard rooms do not have aircon
- rooms that do not have aircon do not cool down in summer even though it is cooler outside
- Rooms are rent out even though they have construction works in the floor right above
- Water in shower changes temperature, scalded myself several times (did not like the alternative to have a shower with cold water)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I only stayed one night in Dorint and it was a very hot night! I could not sleep the whole night as the room was hot, humid and stuffy, no AC in the rooms. It is an old and tired hotel unfortunately and needs some refurbishment. Other than that everything was fine. Staff was helpful and nice, the restaurant was a good one, the breakfast had a very good selection of food, the gym was airy, location was good due to closeness to the main train station. However I would avoid staying here next time because of the airless rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSS_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Big labrynthyne hotel on Friedrichstrasse in the centre of Mannheim.WIFI is free but sketchy (I had to sit on the floor near the bathroom to get a signal.Rooms are an acceptable size and clean but this is not a cheap hotel and whenever there is a conference in town they hike their prices (stayed 3 nights,the third night was double the price of the first two.The rooms to the rear face a loading bay and it can be quite noisy until 8 or 9 in the evening.
There are better hotels in Mannheim for less money (Steigenberger,Mercure) and next year a huge new Radisson,I`d try one of those first and use this place as afallback

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint_Kongresshotel, Manager at Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. We sincerely regret all problems you have had during your stay with us and apologize for any inconveniences caused. Please be assured that we will take all necessary steps to avoid these serious shortcomings in future.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again to the Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, with the assurance of our best care for your comfort.
Yours sincerely,
Kirsten H.-H. Stolle (General Manager) & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Dorint in Mannheim is a good business hotel choice. Located in city center, easy walk to train station. Room was small but comfortable, staff accommodating, extensive buffet breakfast, surprisingly good food in restaurant. Only drawback is lack of drawer space in room. But if on a short trip that is hardly a problem.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DHG716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is fine; the staff are nice and courteous; the breakfast is good; went for a run in the nearby park by the river which was lovely.
The rooms are dated and smell strange - I eventually found a complementary bottle of water hidden in a fridge which was very welcome as the room was quite warm.
All in in all, ok - its about a 15 min walk from the train station and attached to the rosengarten conference centre - so ticked the boxes for me

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint_Kongresshotel, Manager at Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir or Madame,
Thank you very much for your positive comments and your open feedback on the Tripadvisor online tool. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Dorint Kongresshotel at Mannheim.
Kind regards,
Kirsten H.-H. Stolle (General Manager) and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Speicher7 Hotel
Speicher7 Hotel
#3 of 45 in Mannheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterCityHotel Mannheim
InterCityHotel Mannheim
#7 of 45 in Mannheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
#22 of 45 in Mannheim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim

Property: Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
Address: Friedrichsring 6, 68161 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Dorint Sofitel)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mannheim
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim is a modern 4-star hotel, centrally located and directly linked to the congress Center Rosengarten.The hotel features 287 rooms and suites, an a la carte restaurant, a bar, a terrace, a fitness area including a sauna and modern fitness equipment and 13 conference and function room for up to 600 people.For guests arriving by car, the basement garage offers adequate parking at all times with up to 1,100 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Kongresshotel Hotel Mannheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing