We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant and rude staff at the reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I would not say that Hotel Steigenberger in Mannheim lives up to its official number of stars. Rooms are pretty boring and very standard compared to the price of the rooms.

Breakfast ok, neither bad or something great.

They use aromas in the lobby, which was too much for my taste.

The room I stayed in was to warm and the AC didnt work properly to cool down the room .

I had a bad experience at the reception then I checked in. The receptionist didnt know how to operate the computer which resulted in the system not accepting my credit card. The receptionist declared loudly, while other guests were listening, that there was no coverage on my credit card, which I knew was not correct. After some dissusions where the receptionist reacted very rude and arrogant, he tried out my credit card again and finally admitted that he made a mistake. Not the best start on my stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Dan,

thank you for your booking and your feedback of your stay at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof.

We want to apologize to you that you have gained such an impression on our service. We talked already to our colleauges at the front desk to be more confidentiality. We also told our technician to check the AC. If your room wasn't that comfortable for you, please feel free to ask for a renovated superior or deluxe room on your next stay.

We look forward to welcome you at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof despite your unfulfilled expectations again, in order to convince you of the professionalism of our entire staff and the service standards.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very good conditions, maybe a bit pricey, Steigenberger it's a 4 star hotel targeted mainly at business travelers.
Pluses:
- free fruits and bottled water on arrival
- all my clothes and stuff were neatly arranged in the second day
- very large room (Junior suite) with a comfortable bed and sofa

The only things that I could complain are:
- a very annoying low humming noise during the entire night (on the last night only) - probably a defective A/C unit or refrigerator (in the above room - I switched my AC and refrigerator off)
- it was difficult to stop the water when flushing the WC; the WC was not cleaned properly on the less visible parts
- in this day when WiFi is ubiquitous, offering 4 Internet access vouchers, each for 4 hours is.. cheap for a 4-star hotel. Hi-speed WiFi access should be free for the entire stay.
- asking the credit card on arrival in order to block (hold) a large sum as guarantee it's not so nice, especially when the booking was already confirmed on booking.com using another credit card; I ended up paying 518€ for 2 days in cash on arrival ..

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tudor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear guest,

first we would like to thank you that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof.

Thank you very much for you praise about our comfortable room and the nice prepared fruits on your arrival and your clothes during your stay. We also want use this review to apologize for the annoying noise in the last night. We communicated that problem already to our engineers to find the problem. Also we informed our housekeeping of the uncleaned toilet. Our Wifi is free of charge at the whole hotel. There are prepared vouchers at the front desk for 4 hours. If you need more do not hesitate to contact our front desk staff.

We are very pleased that we could offer you a pleasant stay at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very central Location. More important: Very helpful and friendly staff at reception and the Restaurant. I liked the à la carte breakfast which is included in the breakfast price. Overall best value for money at this Hotel in Mannhiem. Elegant and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Steve,

thank you very much for your great feedback and the praise about our friendly staff, the central location and the a la carte breakfast at our FRANKE Restaurant. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Mannheim.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First time staying at the Steigenberger and I must say I am very impressed. The rates are very good for the location, lots to do around the hotel. The hotel staff is very accommodating. The hot water stays hot, doesn't go warm, cold back to hot (first hotel in Europe I can say that for). Very good breakfast, but, yes it does get crowded. The only drawback was the free internet of which they gave me 3 codes for each good for 5 hour increments. The internet was stable, free and fast though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Todd,

first we would like to thank you that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof.

Thank you very much for the praise about our central location, our friendly and professional staff, the good breakfast and the stable internet.

We are very pleased that we could offer you a pleasant stay at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

smallish rooms, comfortable, good breakfast, 12 euros/day parking, clean, near everything, goofy internet policy.. you get 5 hours free.. which means that if you start in the evening you need to remember to log out overnight cos if you dont you wont have time in the am..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear guest,

first we would like to thank you that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof.

Thank you very much for your praise about our breakfast buffet and our modern rooms. Please note that the Wi-Fi at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof is free of charge for all devices and every time. For more information or help do not hesitate to contact our front office team.

We are very pleased that we could offer you a pleasant stay at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have stayed at the Steigenberger several times on business over the last 3 years. It is well located near the wasserturm. It has more style and a space that many of the other 4 star hotels in Mannheim but this can reflect in the price. The breakfast is good but can get crowded. The reception staff invariable give a warm welcome. The suites are spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear John,

thank you very much for your great feedback and the praise about our location, friendly staff and spacious and modern rooms. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Mannheim.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spacious room with plenty of storage space and big bathroom. Centrally located especially to Opera and Arts Museum and shopping and lots of bars and restaurants. The only negative point was the cleanliness of the bathroom... Overall very happy. Staff are very friendly, helpful, informed and professional (big plus!). Pleasant ambiente, good breakfast (despite booked out hotel) and nice-price deal for families (we were 2 adults and 2 kids).

Room Tip: We booked a normal double but when you mention you travel with kids, staff will make sure the room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Alexandra,

first we would like to thank you that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof.

We want to thank you for the praise about our spacious rooms, the central location, our good breakfast buffet and the friendly staff.

We are very pleased that we could offer you a pleasant stay at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#9 of 45 in Mannheim
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
0.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center
0.2 mi away
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
#15 of 45 in Mannheim
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim

Address: Augustaanlage 4-8, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mannheim
Price Range: £60 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof Mannheim
Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof Hotel Mannheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing