We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could not have been more helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“could not have been more helpful”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

this was a lovely hotel with very helpful staff who nothing was a problem for our very large group of hockey players and parents they were very helpful with local things to do - they recommended a fantastic restaurant for an evening meal

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 187062Nessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blank B, Manager at Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and post your excellent comment on tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel and it is a great compliment for the hole team. We look forward to seeing you back at our hotel. And as always, it is our intention to do the best, to make your stay as much as comfortable as usual.

Best regards,
Bernhard Blank
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    26
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We on a trip through Germany and stayed one night in the "Hotel Am Bismarck". Because we four persons, we booked 2 double-bed rooms - so no family rooms in this hotel! Just coming from a very clean hotel in another City, getting into the rooms was a shock. Rooms are old (I mean really old...) and not very clean. Dust around the bed, carpets look like in a US motel :)
Interior must be from the sixties or seventies - and never replaced.

The hotel is located pretty central in the City of Mannheim, very close to the famous Water-tower. Most stuff is in walking distance. Breakfast Buffet was included and large with many choices. The Car park in front of the building is pretty small and sometimes free space is difficult to find.

Staff is helpful and very friendly!

Verdict:

+Location
+Staff

-Cleanness
-Interior
-No family rooms

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blank B, Manager at Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit für eine Bewertung genommen haben. Es tut uns sehr leid, dass Sie während Ihres Aufenthalts in unserem Haus nicht rundum zufrieden waren.Bitte seien Sie versichert, dass die Erfahrung, die Sie bezüglich unserer Sauberkeit gemacht haben, in keiner Weise dem Standard unseres Hauses entspricht. Wir entschuldigen uns dafür!
Dass wir keine reinen Familienzimmer haben, liegt daran dass wir überwiegend von Geschäftsleuten frequentiert werden. Allerdings sind wir Ihnen im Preis auf sehr entgegen gekommen.
Wir freuen uns Ihnen mitteilen zu können, dass ab 2014 eine Renovierung und somit auch eine Modernisierung der Hotelzimmer vorgenommen wird.
Wir freuen uns aber, dass Sie zufrieden mit unserem Personal und die Lage des Hotels waren und würden uns über einen erneuten Besuch von Ihnen sehr freuen!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Bernhard Blank
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have just returned from five days at the Hotel am Bismarck and yet again it was a very comfortable and pleasant stay. The staff are all very friendly, the room was a good size and well kept, breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice and the bikes are available to ride if required.
The hotel is in a very convenient place near to the railway station and close to the shops. We hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowWhiteOnWhiteWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blank B, Inhaber at Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your wonderful review! We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you at the our hotel again.

Best regards,
Bernhard Blank
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I had stayed here in September 2010 and really liked the staff and the location, so I didn't hesitate to stay again in December last year for 10 days. They didn't disappoint. The staff again were so welcoming and friendly, any request is met with a smile and as I was travelling alone, this is greatly appreciated. In fact I will be in Mannheim again in June, so I shall look forward to seeing you all again for the 3rd time!

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rubylouby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blank B, Manager at Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and post your excellent comments on tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel and it is a great compliment
for the hole team. We look forward to seeing you back at our hotel in June. And as always, it is our intention to do the best, to make your stay as much as comfortable as usual.

Best regards,
Bernhard Blank
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A great business hotel.
The room was clean and tidy.
The quiet and efficient aircon was a pleassnt surprise.
The breakfast was good.
Apart from the yellow sheets and pink towels, this was my only gripe.
This was more than made up for by Renate, who welcomed me and other guests at the end of a tiring working day with a friendly Hello and a big smile.
Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blank B, Manager at Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, eine Bewertung zu schreiben.
Wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich bei uns wohl gefühlt haben und Ihre lobenden Worte an unsere Mitarbeiter haben wir weiter gegeben.
Um Ihre Kritikpunkte zu beantworten :
Wir haben uns für die cremefarbene Bettwäsche entschieden, um den Zimmern mehr Wärme zu geben.
Wir bedauern , dass Ihnen die pinke Handtücher nicht gefallen haben. Wir haben sie deswegen gewählt, weil bei diesen im Gegensatz zu weißen Handtüchern - der Schwund gleich Null ist :-).
Wir freuen uns sehr , Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt in Mannheim wieder in unserem Haus zu begrüßen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Bernhard Blank
(Hoteldirektor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I checked this hotel out on TRIP ADVISOR and was very disappointed with this hotel. first of all the receptionist on arrival was not friendly as stated in the reviews. the lady in the breakfast room was really and truly unfriendly. her eyes never left you, she was watching you very unfriendly and made comments at your back. the bathroom very small. the walls are yellow and the 1 ply towels were pink. very average hotel. but must say ...the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: rooms on street are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southafricasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The hotel staff was very friendly so this is a big plus.
The hotel is clean, The rooms are big enough but the design is old 80s-90s like.
The breakfast selection was very good - continental breakfast; there is no English or French breakfast, but for me the continental was more than perfect.
The hotel is very close to the main train station - 3 minutes walk.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side are more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alin_Ionescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blank B, Manager at Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Google Translation
Sehr verehrter Gast,

vielen Dank für die gute Bewertung. Ihre lobenden Worte an unser Personal geben wir sehr gerne weiter!
Bezüglich Ihrer Anmerkung zu unserer Zimmern freuen wir uns, Ihnen mitteilen zu können, dass ab Januar 2013 eine Zimmer Renovierung schon begonnen hat.
Wir hoffen, Sie künftig noch einmal in unserem Haus begrüßen zu dürfen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Bernhard Blank (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.2 mi away
InterCityHotel Mannheim
InterCityHotel Mannheim
#8 of 45 in Mannheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Delta Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mannheim City
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim

Property: Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim
Address: Bismarckplatz 9, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing