We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and good atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed for a week at this hotel for business studies, on my own budget. Friendly and helpful staff, clean (although slightly dated) rooms and a wide selection of breakfast options at the breakfast bar (only breakfast available). Close to main road so some traffic noises late evening (with window open) but most local hotels are have same issue. Good location for both railway station and university. I would stay here again for a similar trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side are likely to be quieter (away from Bismark Strasse)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    26
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We enjoyed a delightful stay at the Hotel, just a short walk to one of the largest Christmas Markets in Germany. We did not feel like customers we felt like welcome friends. The Hotel was easy to find from the main train station Mannheim, we could see the statue of Barren Von Bismark with his spiked helmet. We walked right out from the front door of the train station saw the buses leaving to our right walked to check the schedules posted and looked up at the Baroque water tower and looking at street level we caught site of the statue with his pointed helmet and the hotel was directly behind that a quick walk away. The staff is friendly and seemed to sincerely care spoke English and were always enthusiastic. We would recommend this Hotel for first timers to Mannheim and returning Americans that may have been to the city before. On the way to the Christmas Market walking from the Hotel you pass the wonderful Mannheim Art Museum newly renovated and does have a nice collection of the old masters. All in all great location clean rooms fair price and great atmosphere Great Job Bismark !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0607HappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The rooms are very small but clean. It is located minutes from the main train station and close to restaurants etc. The breakfast was great and the staff all friendly. it is a family run business. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road, that is what I did on the second night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blank B, Manager at Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, eine Bewertung zu schreiben.
Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie sich bei uns wohl gefühlt haben und Sie unsere Frühstücksauswahl toll gefunden haben. Ihr Lob werde ich gerne an alle Mitarbeiter weiterteilen. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie bei bei Ihrem nächsten Besuch in Mannheim wieder in unserem Haus begrüßen zu dürfen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Bernhard Blank
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

this was a lovely hotel with very helpful staff who nothing was a problem for our very large group of hockey players and parents they were very helpful with local things to do - they recommended a fantastic restaurant for an evening meal

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 187062Nessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blank B, Manager at Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and post your excellent comment on tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel and it is a great compliment for the hole team. We look forward to seeing you back at our hotel. And as always, it is our intention to do the best, to make your stay as much as comfortable as usual.

Best regards,
Bernhard Blank
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We on a trip through Germany and stayed one night in the "Hotel Am Bismarck". Because we four persons, we booked 2 double-bed rooms - so no family rooms in this hotel! Just coming from a very clean hotel in another City, getting into the rooms was a shock. Rooms are old (I mean really old...) and not very clean. Dust around the bed, carpets look like in a US motel :)
Interior must be from the sixties or seventies - and never replaced.

The hotel is located pretty central in the City of Mannheim, very close to the famous Water-tower. Most stuff is in walking distance. Breakfast Buffet was included and large with many choices. The Car park in front of the building is pretty small and sometimes free space is difficult to find.

Staff is helpful and very friendly!

Verdict:

+Location
+Staff

-Cleanness
-Interior
-No family rooms

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blank B, Manager at Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit für eine Bewertung genommen haben. Es tut uns sehr leid, dass Sie während Ihres Aufenthalts in unserem Haus nicht rundum zufrieden waren.Bitte seien Sie versichert, dass die Erfahrung, die Sie bezüglich unserer Sauberkeit gemacht haben, in keiner Weise dem Standard unseres Hauses entspricht. Wir entschuldigen uns dafür!
Dass wir keine reinen Familienzimmer haben, liegt daran dass wir überwiegend von Geschäftsleuten frequentiert werden. Allerdings sind wir Ihnen im Preis auf sehr entgegen gekommen.
Wir freuen uns Ihnen mitteilen zu können, dass ab 2014 eine Renovierung und somit auch eine Modernisierung der Hotelzimmer vorgenommen wird.
Wir freuen uns aber, dass Sie zufrieden mit unserem Personal und die Lage des Hotels waren und würden uns über einen erneuten Besuch von Ihnen sehr freuen!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Bernhard Blank
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have just returned from five days at the Hotel am Bismarck and yet again it was a very comfortable and pleasant stay. The staff are all very friendly, the room was a good size and well kept, breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice and the bikes are available to ride if required.
The hotel is in a very convenient place near to the railway station and close to the shops. We hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowWhiteOnWhiteWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blank B, Inhaber at Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your wonderful review! We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you at the our hotel again.

Best regards,
Bernhard Blank
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I had stayed here in September 2010 and really liked the staff and the location, so I didn't hesitate to stay again in December last year for 10 days. They didn't disappoint. The staff again were so welcoming and friendly, any request is met with a smile and as I was travelling alone, this is greatly appreciated. In fact I will be in Mannheim again in June, so I shall look forward to seeing you all again for the 3rd time!

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rubylouby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blank B, Manager at Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and post your excellent comments on tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel and it is a great compliment
for the hole team. We look forward to seeing you back at our hotel in June. And as always, it is our intention to do the best, to make your stay as much as comfortable as usual.

Best regards,
Bernhard Blank
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#8 of 45 in Mannheim
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Delta Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim

Property: Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim
Address: Bismarckplatz 9, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing