We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value and in the center of Mannheim”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wyndham Mannheim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Mannheim
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good value and in the center of Mannheim”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Nice hotel in the center of the city.
The room was big enough, clean and good style.
We enjoyed the free welkome beverage include the, cafe and the waterboiler.
The WiFi was not really good.
The breakfast ist a little bit high preis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massimoswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Ciromassimo,
thank you for your great feedback of your stay at Wyndham Mannheim.
We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at your next stay in Mannheim.
Kind regards
your team of Wyndham Mannheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    108
    99
    45
    31
See reviews for
24
83
17
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I'm not going to rant about this one since the reviews are pretty clear, currently at 29%. Since i really rarely have bad experiences like this to review, I will just list our issues and leave it at that.

1) Greeted by nobody at the front desk and waited a good 5-10 minutes before anyone showed up.
2) Reservation seemed to be lost in their system and they were attempting to charge full price because of that, and only when i showed them my reservation confirmation and price on my phone did they give in.
3) Non-smoking room was requested and "provided" but it was clearly a smoking room and was horrible.
4) Toilet didn't flush, shower water pressure was non-existent.
5) Walls were very thin and doors were loud, seemed that you could hear everything and I'm a heavy sleeper.

Overall, anything that could be poorly built or designed was done in that poor fashion. The appearance looks nice, "newly renovated" fresh coat of paint, some new fixtures etc but the underlying issues are big and problematic and if there was great service that can typically make up for a lot but in this case it made it worse. We didn't even dare stay for breakfast because we didn't want to be let down any more so we just went up the street to a tiny bakery which was great.

This was still in the time period when they were trying to transition to Wyndham from the Sir Friederich Hotel name so i hope that Wyndham can clean it up, but we'll see if the reviews get any better, still wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchie_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your booking and your time for your feedback.
We would like to apologize that you have gained such an impression of your hotel.
During your stay in 2013 we had a lot of changes at our hotel.
First we had the name change from Sir Friedrich Hotel to Wyndham Mannheim Hotel.
After becoming a Wyndham Hotel we started renovations which will be finished winter 2014 with our restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Wyndham Mannheim to convince you of your professional service and the design of the house.
Kind regards
your Wyndham Mannheim team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mannheim hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wyndham Mannheim was a visual surprise for me. I liked the fact that it looked and felt different from standard European hotels, it had a cool, urban vibe with its art deco interiors set in a contemporary tone. I loved the monochromatic color scheme of the room which ranged from creme, taupe to dark brown. It managed to transport me to the early 30’s, yet grounded me in present times because of its distinct lighting fixtures, and modern bath amenities. The breakfast buffet was excellent, set in a high-ceilinged restaurant offering a sumptuous array of food for weary travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeway709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay in Mannheim.
Kind regards
your Wyndham Mannheim Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

we have booked here because for another colleagues the usual hotel were we used to go was too expensive.....very frankly speaking Wyndham hotel was a good surprise even if some details can be imroved. Room big enough and confortable, the same for the bathroom, very good breakfast and the best thing is the very good location ; very downtown, a couple of minute from the tram stop in Marketplatz and a little bit more to be in Paradeplatz and in the shopping area.
a suggestion : our ususal hotel provide for free all the guest with a mobility ticket
LAst but not lest personell very gentle and available, for me advisable

Room Tip: I had a room looking at the courtyard and early in the morning the smell of the kitchen, preparing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salvatore m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Salvatore,
thank you for your booking at Wyndham Mannheim. We are pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay with us and you enjoyed your time in Mannheim. You are within walking distance to the pedestrian zone in Mannheim that is why we thought we do not need the free mobility tickets at the hotel. But we will discuss this at our next team meeting.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay at Wyndham Mannheim.
Kind regards
your Wyndham Mannheim team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Tried out this hotel to see if the newly restoration was good. It looks pretty cool on the surface but in the background still an old and not so nice hotel. The room was extremely dark and almost not possible to get enough light to be able to work.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freq_Travlr_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest,
first we would like to thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience at Wyndham Mannheim.
We took care of the dark rooms thats why in every room are extra floor lamp to brighten the rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Wyndham Mannheim despite your unfulfilled expectations, in order to convince you of our service at Wyndham Mannheim.
Kind regards
your team of Wyndham Mannheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

If you want to stay in a hotel without parking, without restaurant, without good accommodations, with people that has no idea how to treat their guests, without air conditioning...this is a good hotel to stay if you like to suffer

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vinhacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your booking and your feedback of your stay at the Wyndham Mannheim.

We want to apologize to you that you have gained such an impression on our service. It is always our goal to give our best and work hard to maintain our high service standards.

It is correct, that there is actual no special lunch or dinner restaurant at our Wyndham Mannheim. We provide a small a la carte Menu at our hotel bar for our guests. Also we do provide a parking garage in the basement of the hotel for € 15/night. If there is no more space there is a parking garage at the "Marktplatz" nearby.

We look forward to welcome you at the Wyndham Mannheim despite your unfulfilled expectations again, in order to convince you of the professionalism of our entire staff and the service standards.

Kind regards
Your team from Wyndham Mannheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I'm astonished that this hotel hasn't received better reviews. I was only there for a night, but my experience was excellent in every way. The room was quiet (as requested), well furnished and very modern. Free wifi, water and fruit juice were provided. The price was moderate. I did some research before choosing this hotel and I wasn't disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank WillVill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Mannheim.

Kind regards
Your team from Wyndham Mannheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mannheim City
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#2 of 45 in Mannheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
0.6 mi away
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
0.7 mi away
InterCityHotel Mannheim
InterCityHotel Mannheim
#8 of 45 in Mannheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Mannheim

Property: Wyndham Mannheim
Address: F 4 4-11 | SH. I.R. Frankfurt Betriebs GmbH, 68159 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Sir Friedrich Hotel Mannheim)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Mannheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Mannheim is a stylish designed hotel in the centre of the city of Mannheim. The shopping promenade "Planken" is known as "Champs-Elysees of Mannheim" - lined with fashionable shops, regal houses, and world-class restaurants. Simply step outside to take it all in. Easily accessible from the international airport Frankfurt am Main - and just a 10-minute stroll from the train station - our Mannheim hotel is the ideal choice for holidays, corporate travel, and weekend getaways. Experience the elegance of the Wyndham Mannheim. The 151 newly renovated hotel rooms brim with urban style and energy. The rooms of Wyndham Mannheim offer you a coffee machine, a flatscreen TV and Wifi free of any charge. The breakfast buffet in Wyndham Mannheim is also a true insider tip and meeting point of the residents of Mannheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing