We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mistake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hotel Mannheim
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We were visiting Mannheim for a family event and booked three rooms in the City Hotel with a low cost approach in mind. My wife booked it and as we needed one room for three people and City Hotel turned out one of the few that had one available, we ended up there. We normally wouldn't stay in a hotel like this and under different circumstances we would have booked the likes of Steigenberger or Maritim. The experience at City Hotel proved that we will absolutely do so in the future. This hotel is very old and is situated in a not so nice neighbourhood. The parking is detached from the hotel so no direct access and very annoyingly you need to take a remote control (of which they have only one) to go in and out. The rooms are small, old, the beds are very uncomfortable, and the towels are as thin as a newspaper. There is no remote control for the tv in the room: I didn't bother to ask for it. In one of the rooms, the heating couldn't be switched off. The shower works with a timer button to save cost I presume but very annoying as you need to push the button all the time. The elevator must be one of the first ever installed in Mannheim: very uncomfortable and don't go in there when you are claustrofobic... Breakfast was OK but simple, but cheap only 5 euros. Staff was friendly and we got a good recommendation for a great German dinner in town. When booking they asked for a credit card guarantee but told us they would not charge the card. I've just found out they did and we have been double-charged so we need to spend time on correcting this again. Annoying. One of the other parties were charged a higher price for the room than the price stated on the reservation and it was quite a huge amount, about 35% higher or so with the argumemt that prices had gone up. They didn't pay this in the end but very strange and not the first time when reading a couple of other reviews. So all in all: pay double for a good hotel in Mannheim instead of City Hotel would be our recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

Although my booking reported the price of the room at € 68 per night, the management has demanded € 80 per night, declaring that the rates have increased from 1 ^ September.
My reservation was made in February and, according to the management, concerned only the availability of the room, not the price, which could be increased.
I had neither the time nor the wish to call the police for € 12!.
Chinese management. Hotel to be avoided.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guidoflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

A short walk from the station, we stayed four nights at 69€/night for a double room with en-suite bathroom.
The room was large, we had good lights and a big, flat screen TV with access to plenty of channels, including English Freeview channels from Sky. We also had free wi-fi which was a bit hit and miss but on the whole worked well enough for our stay.
The bed was comfortable, the rooms clean and the shower was good, though on a timer, meaning you had to keep pushing the knob in for more water. No problems getting hot water whenever we tried.
There was no mini bar or safe and we opted out of breakfast but from what we saw, it was quite an excellent spread that would keep you going until late afternoon.
Very friendly Reception staff, the hotel is close to the main High Street and it also benefits from a supermarket directly opposite.
See our Blog for more details- address in our profile.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Of course, for 60€, you can't expect luxury, so I won't complain about the dirtyness of carpets, nor about the general terrible state of this budget hotel. But any hotel, even cheap, should give the minimum confort to customers, including reasonable heating. The heating stopped working in the middle of the night, obviously in order to spare a few €. Only one thin blanket was available, so I had to put all my clothes in to be able to sleep. Then, of course early in the morning, the heating went on again, in maximum power...Cheap hotel, but if you add a doctor's consultation after your stay, is it still cheap ? Not sure...

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tonitoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Davince01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 79ngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: nicht im Sommer buchen, und nur wenn es sehr preiswert sein muss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 5Urlauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
1.6 mi away
Rhein Neckar Hotel
Rhein Neckar Hotel
#29 of 45 in Mannheim
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luxa
Hotel Luxa
#37 of 45 in Mannheim
38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mannheim City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#9 of 45 in Mannheim
330 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gasthaus zum Ochsen
Gasthaus zum Ochsen
#34 of 45 in Mannheim
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Friedensplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Mannheim

Address: Tattersallstr. 20-24, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range: £60 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Mannheim 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing