We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Hotel Mannheim
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

In most of the times i'm happy with hotels but this time...... Very small room with short beds. Not funy when you are almost 2 meters.
Thee offer you free Wifi but most of the time it is not workingon my MacBook.
Even the breakfest could not make anything good.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

I dont leave many bad reviews but this place was awful. Room was smelly and the sheets very dusty. No air con so the room was unbearably hot. Considering I paid almost 90 euros it was dreadful value. Avoid!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights Wednesday - Sunday and the staff were always helpful especially as our arrival was 2 hours later than planned, getting in at 00:30. The 5 euro breakfast was very good value and kept us going all day. We were well advised for good local restaurants in the evenings and the location within a few minutes' walk of the station suited us 'eisenbahnfreaks'. The decor is a bid jaded, but it was a great 'bed & breakfast' establishment. We would visit again.

Room Tip: The road outside the hotel is quiet, but there is some traffic noise and there are quieter rooms but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIKE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our experience of this hotel was not so bad, as it is written in some earlier comments. We stayed in a double-bed non-smoker room, which was quite clean and maintained. Strength of this place is definitely its location - just about 5-10 minutes from the Main Station, and the symbol of the City - Wasserturm. Bad thing are too soft pillows and extremely disastrous wi fi connection. Hotel staff is kind and speak various languages.

But, for the next time, we would consider taking another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank Necati H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Booked a three bed room and asked for a cot for our youngest child three months in advance for a family trip. When we arrived, we were told there were no more three bed rooms and no cots available. Staff apologised and we were given two double rooms instead, but not the ideal situation. Staff were friendly, but the hotel seemed to be run a bit like Fawlty Towers minus the comedy. Our rooms smelt strongly of many years of accumulated cigarette smoke, were generally run down and the towels were threadbare. I guess you can't expect too much for the price we paid and the breakfast wasn't bad. Unfortunately, though, I cannot recommend this hotel, unless you are really budget concious and there is nowhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sacha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Apart from its proximity to the railway station, nothing stands up to justify a recommendation. Everything is average. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baodai999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is cheap. But I had absolutely no problems. The staff were friendly, the bathroom in my room was very modern, the bedroom was functional, the breakfast was great, I could walk to and from the conference centre and it's a two minute walk from the train station. At this price, I couldn't really ask for more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mannheim City
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Mannheim
Wyndham Mannheim
#16 of 45 in Mannheim
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Mannheim
H+ Hotel Mannheim
#27 of 45 in Mannheim
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luxa
Hotel Luxa
#38 of 45 in Mannheim
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#32 of 45 in Mannheim
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#9 of 45 in Mannheim
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Mannheim

Address: Tattersallstr. 20-24, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range: £61 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Mannheim 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing