We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place if you arrive late and leave early...”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #126 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Reviewed 18 April 2013

... so you do not have really the time to spent in the room.

Let's start with the positive elements: the hotel is
1. central
2. 2 min from a commuter train
3. not that expensive

and move to the negative ones: the hotel
1. urgently requires a renovation (stuck in the 70s /80s)
2. would profite from a friendly staff
3. could be in a quieter neighbourhood
4. could improve its breakfast.
5. have a special standard for cleanliness (unfortunately not the highest)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

I recently spent a night with friends in Hotel Astoria on a short city break in Stuttgart. At first I was a little hesitant about booking this hotel as it was so cheap I was afraid we'd end up in a real dump. However, I have to admit the hotel was perfectly adequate for a night. Upon entering the hotel, you can see you're not in a 5-star hotel obviously, but the receptionist was very quick at checking us in and directing us to our room. The rooms are stuck somewhere in the 70's, but reasonably large and clean. Furthermore, the hotel is well located to discover Stuttgart on foot. Hotel wifi worked fine and the breakfast was actually quite good.
I've stayed in hotels that were 10x more expensive than Hotel Astoria, but for its price range it's a perfect hotel. Recommended if you want to stay in Stuttgart on a tight budget. I'm only rating Astoria 3 stars because there are probably many better hotels in Stuttgart - but it gets 5 stars for value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjdq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I can't even write something about the hotel because when I tried to call to reserve a room the receptionist directly said me that she was not able to inform me on the disposibilites because there was a lot of people at the reception of the hotel, then she redirected me to booking.com, to that I answered that I allready tried on booking.com and that the website was not fonctionning well. All she found to say was repeating exactly what she said before and then she hung up on me while I was still talking.

Ridiculous.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandbroading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Room wasn't too bad, although the decoration was DISGUSTING. So weird. The bath was huge and it was just okay. Free computer use in the lobby was okay too. Breakfast was great, expect how close all of the tables were.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sickkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We went to the Astoria hotel for one night. It's a clean hotel but it can need some renovation. The price and quality comparison was good. The personal was friendly and the breakfast was descent and plenty. The hotel lies in 3 minutes’ walk from the Königstrasse, the place to be if you want to go shopping or if you’re in need for a meal or drink. The rest of the city is also very easy to travel because of the bus and tram network. Stuttgart has allot to offer for city trippers because it has lot’s of museums, history, shoppings, restaurants and of course football.

Room Tip: We slept in room 313. It was a descent room. We didn’t hear any noise from outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yves123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This is a typical European business hotel. Pretty functional and NOT fancy by any standard.
The lobby is kinda cramped and service staff is polite though not very friendly and cheery. Overall though, my stay was very comfortable. Rooms are small but clean. The bathroom is spacious and clean as well. Free WiFi with decent speed in rooms but you have to get the daily passcode from the reception. Breakfast is included and is a standard continental breakfast. Nothing notable to cry about the food though it was not bad.
The best thing about this hotel is its location. Its right behind Stadtmitte station on the S-Bahn and every corner of Stuttgart will literally be just a train hop away cos all lines pass thrupugh this station. Also its just parallel to Theodore-Heuss Strasse, which has excellent nightclubs, and 2 streest parallel to the Konigstrasse which is Stuttgart's main shopping promenade.
Definitely not the finest hotel I've ever stayed in, but if I'm in Stuutgart again, Hotel Astoria it is.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

First plus for this hotel is it's location. Easy to find and within a very short walk of the StadtMitte station served direct from the airport via the S-line and standing on a convenient U-line railway.

The main shopping streets of the city are very close by and so is the night life which was excellent on a weekend. Excellent bars and restaurants.

The hotel is a little jaded around the edges but clean and functional which reflects in the reasonable prices. Breakfast was very good and plenty of healthy European fair

The staff were very helpful, particularly Dominik on the front desk.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which was quiet but I get the impression that all rooms were similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuckerbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Rathaus
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Feuersee
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#122 of 146 in Stuttgart
279 reviews
Hotel Centro
#67 of 146 in Stuttgart
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rathaus
Hotel Merit
Hotel Merit
#116 of 146 in Stuttgart
166 reviews
Wartburg Hotel
#36 of 146 in Stuttgart
104 reviews
Rathaus
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#68 of 146 in Stuttgart
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Hospitalstr. 29, 70174 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range: £32 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing