We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good at all”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #127 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The girl at the front desk was quite rude, right from check in, and the wifi barely worked. I raised this with reception, and the response was, no one else has complained. Possibly because most of the people staying are German and have phone plans with internet. I'm travelling solo, I do need to check in with people and let them know I've arrived and I'm alive, so I went and paid to do this.
Don't advertise free wifi if it doesn't work!!
It was also a very noisy hotel, with the peoples conversation in the next room and street noise affecting a good nights sleep. Don't book if you're a light sleeper!
But the bathroom was really clean, and excellent shower pressure, so that was a win.

Room Tip: Ask for something at the back if a light sleeper, and expect to not be able to use wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 29Itchin_feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was given a substandard room, with trailing telephone wires and no refrigerator. I discovered it also had bed bugs. After a two-night stay, I woke at five am to find I had numerous red welts over my back, ankles, wrists and hands. These have since become angry and inflamed. The hotel has offered to refund the cost of my stay, but I've refused so that I can post about this. I don't want anyone else to have to face this experience in the future.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 307. There are bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is situated near the center. But it needs updating.
In our room (203), the curtains didn't close, some lamps didn't work, the sink has no stopper, internet didn't work. The duvet was too warm. There was much noise outside.
The lift stops between the floors, so you'll allways have to carry your luggage upstairs or downstairs.
The receptionist is kind, but we had to ask for the internet code and a map of the center.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel needs refurbishing, is near the train station, and the double room is okay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast is good but the dining room is dark, too dark for having a hearty breakfast, especially during gloomy weather.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewelhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The decor seems to be stuck in the 1980s and the room was falling apart. On arrival, one of the bedside lamps didn't work. The receptionist popped up half an hour later with a spare lightbulb but promptly broke one of the two lightbulbs in the lamp so the electrician had to come out the next day.

When I returned to the room that evening, the lampshade of said bedside lamp was hanging ascew and only one of the two lightbulbs worked - I was told they'd have to rewire the room to get both to work - but could only be operated via a lightswitch on the other side of the double bed. That lightswitch operated both the ceiling light and the bedside light which was fun as, if the ceiling light had already been turned off using the switch by the door, the switch by the bed would turn the bedside light off and the ceiling light on.

The so called double bed consisted of two very narrow single beds with sagging mattresses and a lot of dust on the bedframe. There was no hook for the coat - the guys at the hotel probably expected that guests put their dusty/snowy/wet coats in the same wardrobe as their clean clothes.

And the en suite... The toilet flush didn't refill after use, meaning I had to listen to a gurgling water feature two nights running.

As for the rest of the hotel: very worn carpets, rusty bannisters, scuff marks on the wall, no service at all during breakfast and completely unsuitable for people with limited mobility as the lifts were half a floor above/below the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iamasingletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

-I was there on a business trip with other colleagues, when we arrived the lady on reception told me that they have not a room for me, ("my colleague forgot it.....bla bla") Ok can happen... but the only solution she was able to suppose me was to share a room with other colleague from our group....
-Room was disguise see photos (even my colleagues complained about poor quality).
-There is free WiFi, but each day of your stay you have to get new password, the parking is behind the building and is quite heavy charged.
-On the other hand the breakfast was good in the standard of a 3 stars hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a good room get out of Astoria
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukas743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Despite the desperate attempts of the reception girls to cheer the place up, you have to be honest. This really is getting close to the bottom of the pile.

The rooms are cold and the furniture close to collapse. The bathroom resembled Soviet standards, updated with fittings out of the 70s.

No way that this place has 3 stars.

Room Tip: Chose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwissFrenchBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Rathaus
Hotel Merit
Hotel Merit
#115 of 146 in Stuttgart
168 reviews
Rathaus
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Hotel Astoria am Urachplatz
#122 of 146 in Stuttgart
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauptbahnhof
Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Centro
#70 of 146 in Stuttgart
33 reviews
Rathaus
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#65 of 146 in Stuttgart
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Hospitalstr. 29, 70174 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range: £35 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing