We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cakes, terrible service”
Review of Grand Cafe Planie

Grand Cafe Planie
Ranked #885 of 1,362 Restaurants in Stuttgart
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cakes, terrible service”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We went there Sarurday morning. There was plenty of people but still the place was not full, however the service was bad and the waitress rude. We waited 10 minutes for the food, 1 hour for an orange juice and 1 hour more for the bill. But cakes are great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank _83_ila_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    61
    49
    26
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
346 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Enjoy the café or the pretty tables inside”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

If you enjoy an outdoors cafe with a delightful sunstreaked restaurant inside, and a wide range of pastries and tasty meals, you'll love this Stuttgart hallmark.  On our visit with a friend, we enjoyed their perfect mohnkuchen mit sahne (poppyseed cake with whipped cream), käseapfel (apple cake), and erdbeerkäse (strawberry tart) with coffee and tea.  Mmmmm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tampatowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Location great, cakes barely edible”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Perfect location, so was service.
The cake I ordered was however deplorable and cafe au lait mediocre at best. Maybe I was just unlucky, but the synthetic unbalanced taste is simply inexcusable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level Contributor
178 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Excellent cakes, but overcrowded on Saturday afternoon”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Cakes are generously sliced (4€20 each), the cafe is beautiful itself and it is on a convenient spotin Charlottenplatz near the center.
Consequently, everyone goes there and the place is simply overcrowded.
So if you're in a party mood, it's your place to be, if not and need more tranquillity either you wait for external tables or search somewhere else.
We noticed customers are all ages, so it is a good sign, and yes, we'd probably return for another cake.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AgentOrangeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
263 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe in downtown Stuttgart”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This is old and nice Stuttgart cafe in the very downtown,
you can see outdoors in the summer and indoors in the winter
or in the evening. Cafe is nicely designed in the style of 20ies,
food and drinks are fine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank StuttgartAbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Cafe Planie also viewed

Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Grand Cafe Planie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing