We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to transport and tourist information”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #111 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Close to transport and tourist information”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed here in March 2011 and chose it because of it's proximity to the Hauptbahnhof. I was pleased with the size of the room and the cleanliness and by the range of food on offer at breakfast, however at nearly 80€ a night I felt it was rather over priced. I only stayed for a long weekend, but compared to some of the other hotels I've stayed in it was a tidy little hotel that offered just what I wanted. Despite it being on the corner of two busy roads, and close to the central station, with my room looking out on to them, I didn't have any problems getting to sleep from the noise outside.

If prices were a bit lower I wouldn't hesitate at staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deffers90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    75
    123
    47
    36
See reviews for
41
62
58
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
213 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Old, hot and stuffy throughout. Tired and dirty rooms. 70s style bathroom decor and colours. Like a Travelodge in London in an old building but not as good. Not cheap for what you get. Very small duvet. No bar or restaurant and awful breakfast is seven Euros and fifty extra with no hot food, not even a boiled egg.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKStevieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stuttgart hotels

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel is very close to the Hauptbahnhof but use the north exit, straight across the road as there is a station rebuilding in progress nearest to the hotel.
The receptionist spoke perfect English and marked up on a map where I could find a good restaurant providing regional dishes. He said there was no need to give me it's name as it was the only restaurant in the road . Unfortunatly some of the roads had no name plates and some had been closed by the police due to a "political" rally, in fact a man ranting like Hitler to much cheering from the crowd. Needless to say I got lost and never found the restaurant!
My room was small but not too small. unbelievably, with a temperature of 34C, there was no airconditioning! I had to keep the double double glazed window closed as the hotel overlooks a very busy road junction and the station rebuilding. The mini-bar had been removed, something I didn't realise until during the night when I ran out of water, however the tap water was perfectly drinkable. There seemed to be no ventilation from the toilet.The room light switch was so close to the bed head that I switched it on several times as I turned over during the night.
Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of items but the windows were open and the road/building work was in full swing.
Ironically, from my bedroom window I could see a vineyard on a hill overlooking the road junction.
It is just unbelievable that a hotel of this size in this location did not have airconditioning.

Room Tip: Try to go when it is cooler and then you can keep the windows closed without loosing sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
180 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Firstly the good bits, the Hotel Rieker Novum is situated a few yards from the Hauptbahnhof (the main Railway Station) and is very close to the main shops on Koenig Strasse. the staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately when I arrived in Stuttgart the temperature was over 30 degrees Celsius (in the 90's Fahrenheit) and didn't get much cooler at night. My single room (607) was long, narrow and rectangular and only around 6 feet wide which made it feel cell like with a narrow single bed. The air conditioning consisted of a small desk fan and an open window. The hotel however is located on a main road opposite a major construction project, the road was busy 24/7 and the building work commenced at 6am in the morning so my room was uncomfortably hot and noisy which meant I got very little sleep.

My room was so narrow it presumably had a previous incarnation as a cupboard. The TV was small but worked, the small bathroom had a shower, toilet and sink but there was an aroma of something having died recently which I presume was coming from the drains due to the heat, the smell being noticeable every time I entered the room.

Overall not a comfortable nights stay especially in the heat.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms opposite the construction site. Don't book a single room if you're claustrophobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clembo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

With the exception of the friendly Chinese guy on the reception and the location of the hotel next to the train station, there is nothing to recommend about this hotel.

The rooms are awful due to lack of ventilation. Decor is ancient and the bed is poor.

Do not stay here. Stay at the ibis or somewhere similar.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N_Traveller_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I'm so disappointed by this hotel. I travel a lot for business and try to choose mid price options. This hotel cost over €160 for one night and had no air conditioning, terrible room layout and decor and the breakfast was something you'd expect in a low class B&B. I would absolutely not recommend staying here. The other inconveniences of having to hand your key in when you leave I can live with, mainly because they still actually use real keys, with a brass weight attached to them - no joke. I've even recommended that my company booking agent remove this hotel from the booking options for Stuttgart.

Only saving grace is that it's right next to the station.

Do yourself a favour and book the Graff Zeppelin next door - literally next door.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Don't bother with this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a good central location but overall it is a terrible hotel. I would never stay here again as it's not good value for money. The biggest problem is the lack of air conditioning. We couldn't keep the windows open at night because of the road noise so we basically didn't sleep because the room was too hot. The rooms are also very small, outdated and the double bed isn't big enough to be comfortable.

Stay at an IBIS instead. They have very comfortable beds, air conditioning and a even a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
InterCityHotel Stuttgart
#55 of 146 in Stuttgart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Rathaus
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof
#24 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#11 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof

Property: Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof
Address: Friedrichstr. 3, 70174 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Rieker Stuttgart Hotel)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Hauptbahnhof
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Rieker is a small, modern hotel in the heart of Stuttgart. In the immediate vicinity of the main station located, it offers itself as an ideal base for guests who prefer a central location. All rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Here, discerning guests will feel happy here. The rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi internet access and are therefore particularly suitable for your business trips to Stuttgart. In just a few minutes you are in the city center with its many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rieker Hotel Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing