We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This "Leading Hotels of the World" brand property was a wonderful experience for us. The staff were pleasant, helpful and discreet. The modern, well-appointed public spaces and rooms were comfortable, quiet and clean. The hotel is close to Konigstrasse which is great for shopping for both bargain and luxury items. There were good German restaurants close by as well as Italian eateries and sushi places. It is across the street from the train station and next door to the Tourist Information Office. The hotel caters mostly to the business traveller, but it was an excellent vacation stay for us. Underground parking was available and safe. We concur with our dislike of management's insistence on charging for wifi--that is outmoded and an anti-competitive practice. You can still go to the lobby, however, and print your boarding passes for free.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zacklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Zacklee,

Thank you very much for the positive comments on your stay with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten soon!

Best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    213
    57
    19
    7
See reviews for
108
225
65
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in a junior suite for 3 persons. 5 star experience in a large room and perfect bathroom with large shower.

Typical german,but modern interior with all things needed for a problemfree stay.

Staff very serviceminded with perfect english language capabilities.

Königstrasse (pedestrian street ) is just around the corner

Only negative: Skip the expensive hotel breakfast and head for the huge 7 Euro breakfast in the cafe around the corner

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear hasse13,

Thank you for sharing your experiences! We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please let me tell you that our Café on ground level offers an à la carte breakfast every day from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., where the prices are lower than the prices for the breakfast buffet.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Very nice hotel perfectly located. My room was large, clean and comfortable.

So why 3 stars ! Because I believe that in 2012, if a hotel doesn't give free internet access it doesn't deserve more than 3 stars. Ok to pay for the breakfast, or the parking, but internet access !

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank pdesaab_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear pdesaab_7,

Thank you for your positive comments on your stay with us. I only can ask you for your understanding, that we charge costs existing from third party providers only to the guests who make use of their services. Please also let me draw your attention to the fact that there is a workstation at the reception where you can use internet free of charge.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and are sending

our best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Conveniently located across the street from the train station. It is at the edge of a park and we enjoyed having breakfast on the terrace overlooking it. The staff is friendly and efficient. The hotel should merit a top rating, however the wifi was terrible. I had to sit in the lobby to access wifi and even then it was spotty.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear traveller90210,

Thank you for the great description of your stay.

I deeply regret the problems you had experienced with our WiFi connection - there was a short period indeed where the connection was very slow and broke down. Please contact me, we are happy to refund the costs for the WiFi usage.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel at the next occasion.

Sending our best wishes,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This was my 2nd business stay at the hotel. Again I was struck by its convenience for arrival by train, for enjoying the gardens and the nearby historical buildings by foot and the cultural centre is a few minutes walk away (on both occasions I have walked to the Opera). The outside facade is drab for a hotel of this quality, but the attentive and friendly staff as well as the general condition of the interior makes up for this. The breakfast room is elegant, tables set well apart and the experience of a high standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Laurence N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment your stay with us.

The entire team is happy about your laud - please let me tell you that our hotel is a listed building, changing the facade is not allowed unfortunately.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next business trip to Stuttgart soon.

Best wishes,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Brilliantly located excellent hotel. There is not a single thing negative to say about it.
The front desk, housekeeping, 'Vinoteck cafe' and bar staff were all fantastic.
Not really an awful lot else to say....................wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Stuttgart!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Shuggyb,

Thank you for your nice description of your stay in our hotel. We are happy that you have enjoyed your time with us.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Sending our best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Right across the street from the train station and right on the shopping mall, what a great combination. The room was very tastefully decorated in rich reds and golds. I used the business center computer to check email and print boarding passes because I refuse to pay for internet service on top of the price of the room. I agree with another reviewer who said it is amazing how the hight end hotels charge you for internet and a chain like Ibis does not. The adjacent shopping plaza and train station access tunnels were frequented by loud teenagers who were drunk and out of control at night. Not the hotel's fault, but a serious social problem. You had to walk right through this chaos to get to the hotel. The plaza was literally trashed every night and the poor sanitation worker were out early in the morning, as we witnessed as were going to a great pastry/coffee on the plaza for breakfast 2 mornings.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocPhil2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear DocPhil2011,

Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay with the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten.

Please be assured that we have had several meetings with our neighbors and representatives of the city and are optimistic to find a medium-term solution for the teenager situation you described.

We hope to be able to show you first achievements when you stay with us the next time.

Sending our best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Waldhotel Stuttgart
#2 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Le Meridien Stuttgart
#4 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#9 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Maritim Hotel Stuttgart
#13 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten

Property: Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten
Address: Schillerstr. 23, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#3 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#13 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This international 5-star hotel is situated in the park landscape of the castle gardens of Stuttgart closest proximity to the Konigstrasse shopping area as well as many cultural institutions such as the city theatre, the famous ballet and opera house, the city gallery, and the new as well as the old castle and belongs to The Leading Hotels of the World(R). The luxurious hotel is only a few minutes away on foot from the central train station Stuttgart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Schlossgarten Hotel
Am Schlossgarten Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing