We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten
Nearby Hotels
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Stuttgart City(Stuttgart)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SI-Suites(Stuttgart)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
ibis Styles
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Azenberg(Stuttgart)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
414
248
70
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
248
70
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationturn down servicemichelin star restaurantpark viewjunior suiteluxury hotelroom servicetourist informationthe location is perfectthe hotel staffshopping areabreakfast buffetwould stay againchristmas marketvisiting stuttgartmain shopping streetexcellent hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is exactly in the city center, rooms are very large, luxury level, and staff is just perfect. The breakfast has huge variety and is top quality. Although it ia very high priced, it's worth the money. Would definitly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valy_RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Valy_RO,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

At Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel is modern and centrally located, and very clean.

We stayed here for one night and asked the hotel to book us an Italian restaurant the week before we stayed there. I checked TripAdvisor for a recommendation and told the receptionist the name. It transpired that this restaurant was fully booked, and an alternative was found. When we arrived we were given a map with the address of the restaurant but no name and were told it was walking distance and very easy to find. The receptionist was nowhere to be found to clarify the restaurants name, so we ventured out on foot.

We walked a mile or so in the poring rain and could not find the restaurant for love or money! The Stuttgart roads are multi-lane highways and can be up to 80 meters wide. The street signs are poor and it was quite intimidating as there were a lot of drunk football fans on the streets. We were very unhappy. Why didn't they offer us a taxi rather than an umbrella? Unbelievable.

We took a taxi back to the hotel and ate in the bar. We ordered two glasses of wine from one waiter and another two from another waiter. The measures were 50% larger from the first waiter. We both had a club sandwich and mine was missing bacon, and my wife's had bacon but no egg. Sounds petty but at the prices you get charged you expect consistency.

Once back in our room we phoned room service for some ice; expecting a nice bucket full of ice. Instead, we were given a very small bowl with about 10 pieces of ice in it and a spoon! The double bed was two singles pushed together with two single duvets. That to me signifies twin beds not a double.

We decided not to have breakfast as it was approximately 24 Euros each which is more than you sometimes pay for lunch somewhere nice. Wifi was not easily visible and tea and coffee making facilities would help.

In conclusion, it's all about management here, or lack of it. Someone has spent a lot of money on the hotel infrastructure, it's a shame these inconsistencies have let them down.



Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Tim G,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we have spoken with our service team and given them more trainings to prevent any future occurrences.

At Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kindest regards,
Your team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel is very well located near the main shopping street of Stuttgart and the information tourist point from where you can make an interesting city tour. Service is good and hotel is among the leading hotels of the world. Nevertheless, I stayed in other properties with the same definition and still found that there was something missing here. Everything works but there is always a but.... Amenities in the bathroom are great, but the space for showering is small and depending on the position of the shower it leaks to the fllor. TVi is good, but although there is a variety of European channells, in English you can watch only news. Moreover, internet is extremely expensive and does not seem to be working properly, the wifi signal was rather shaky sometimes and the system of hooping on and off does not work properly. At the reception no one informs about the internet policy and instead of being offered a newspaper in the room, in the breakfast, I would rather have free internet in my bedroom. At one of the nights, I woke up several times due to the banging of doors at the corridor, which felt uncomfortable. I know the hotel is not responsible for its guests al the time, and there was an additional door in the room that could be closed (which levaes the classic room to feel smaller) but it was not pleasant. Old fashioned in a way, works for a certain public.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CristinaSPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear CristinaSPaulo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive and negative comments with my team.

At Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your positive feedback but also your concern. We hope to be able to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is located within a very short walk from the main train station in Stuttgart. It is next to the large and beautiful Schlossgarten (one can do a 10km jogging loop within the park). It is also next a long pedestrian zone with great shops and restaurants. It is a great location for business or leisure in the city with the advantage of quick access to most places by train as well. Of course there is on site parking if you come by car. Service is excellent in all areas: reception, bar, and breakfast. The breakfast buffet is of a very high quality and includes some cooked to order items. The rooms I have had are very comfortable and well configured and included a nice selection of amenities. Rooms are very quiet - mine have had a small hall and second door which eliminated any possible noise from the floor, a feature I really appreciate. This is one of my favorite hotels in the area and one of the very few I would strongly recommend to others.

Room Tip: I suggest a corner room with a view to the park
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gfarm1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear gfarm1981,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your stay with us; it will be my pleasure to thank the team for providing such an excellent service to you. I will be sure to share your comments with the team and thank them for making your stay special.

We agree with you and are very proud of our location, on one hand directly next to the park and on the other hand in the middle of the city center, with walking distance to the shopping district (the famous Königstrasse).

Thank you again so much for your positive comments about our hotel. It is a motivation for all of us to read your wonderful review.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Your team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Firstly anyone visiting Stuttgart could do a lot worse than this hotel, it's five stars but four and a half of those stars are for the staff, room and breakfast. Great bed and nice bathroom and the staff are the best one could ask for as has been documented.
But, lets face it, it wouldn't hurt to have free WIFI, these days if i am paying for a five star hotel it seems a bit penny pinching to pay 8 euros for half an hour when, if i could be bothered, i could walk to a cafe and get it for free.
Secondly a five star hotel really should buy some new towels occasionally. I really couldn't tell if ours were big bathmats or not. I think they were just about ready to be folded and used for packaging food parcels to third world villages.
And why no gym? just convert a room - that one that everyone wants to move from because it overlooks the bins (every hotel has one) and buy a running machine and something heavy to lift. Because no i don't want to go to another hotel for that, if i'd wanted to go to that hotel i'd have booked there in the first place. Which somebody reading this review might well do, so come on guys...it's five stars. It was a good job i didn't try to order a waldorf salad out of hours, I have a feeling they would have 'run out of Waldorfs.'
But these are tiny issues really, we enjoyed our stay and would go back. We came by plane so didn't need the station which is across the road. We had a junior suite which was lovely...wait, one more thing...would it be so hard to have more than two English speaking channels?
anyway...
The cafe part of the hotel is packed full of ladies with shopping bags devouring large slices of cake (the women not the bags) and the wine-restaurant that backs on to the rear passageway is run by a wonderful woman who happens to be English called Jackie. be sure to give her a large tip and tell her I sent you. It's right where all the main shopping is so if that's your thing you'll love it. Unless saunas are your thing and then you'll be disappointed unless you have the presidential suite....which I hear is lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ollyc1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Ollyc1962,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive and negative comments with my team.

Please note that we are providing our guests with 30 minutes of free WiFi in our Lounge, and free internet in our business center located near the front desk.

We appreciate the time you took to share your positive feedback but also your concerns. At Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel for your next stay in Stuttgart.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews