We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very close to airport terminal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe
Ranked #17 of 148 Hotels in Stuttgart
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sticklepath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very close to airport terminal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed one short night to be close to catch early flight next day. You can walk from your room to check-in in a few minutes. Hotel renamed and freshly decorated. Nice and quiet even close to airport, windows even open. Room and beds very comfortable. Too short a time to check restaurant. Would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GFM_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear GFM_59,

thank you very much for the good rating and the time you took to write the comment.

We are pleased that you liked the new style of our hotel and that you mentioned the great location of our hotel.

We hope that we can welcome you soon again.

Best regards

Carola Steinle
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    377
    201
    53
    23
See reviews for
97
245
65
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a great hotel for early departures or stranded passengers. It is only steps away from the airport. The hotel is modern and clean. Our room was comfortable and we slept well. Even this close to the airport, it is very quiet. The price makes the hotel a good value.
There was some confusion about the wifi...I booked a room that included it but the hotel didn't honor it. Their standard price for wifi is expensive.
It is expensive to eat at the hotel restaurant or at the airport. We made a picnic with groceries from a little convenience store inside the airport.
The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celusnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear celusnek,

thank you for your good rating and the time you took to write the comment.

We appreciate that you mentioned the great location of our hotel.
Due to the sound proofed windows it is very quiet although we are just 200 m away from the airport.

In order to offer high security standards with our Wifi we maintain our internet on a regular basis. Therefore we charge EUR 15.00 for 24 h for internet access in the room.

We hope that we can welcome you at our hotel soon again.

Best regards

Carola Steinle
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel during Blechexpo exhibition, and i picked it because the price was moderate (for location) and location was right across the main entrance to the exhibition grounds.

4-star establishment closer to the airport building is still called Movenpick, but their old 3-star building across the street is for last couple of years called Windham. It has a new owner, has received a lick of fresh paint, and was fixed up where needed. I stayed in it 4 years ago (while it was still called 3-star Movenpick), and i can say that it is now far better than it used to be. Entrance area, restaurant and some other things were completely redone, while rooms and some other things received just a selective but mostly well aimed treatment.

Lobby is now very cozy with a fireplace and tranquil seating area where you can kick back and leaf through coffee-table books stacked on shelves around the area. Front desk staff is very helpful.
Restaurant and bar are good and have their own vibe. They do not suffer from usual bland appearance that is so common for hotel bars even in very good hotels.

I was in room 365. Room itself was quite spacious, but judging by the floor plan it was one of the smaller ones?! If you care about these things feel free to use the attached floor plan to pick the biggest room, but there is simply no need for that.

Room had a properly stacked minibar. Above it, inside the same furniture element was a tray with water cooker and complementary tea and instant coffee. In place where this tray was set, there was a big round hole on the wooden panel, but electric socket was missing!! In other words i had to move the whole tray to the table in the room to plug in the water cooker. For this i had to disconnect the charger&speaker for the iPod/iPhone. If i was a person that uses iThingies i would have been severely annoyed by this.

TV was large enough and well positioned. Bed was a double that could probably be separated into two single beds - and there was plenty of space in the room to do so. Wardrobe had enough space and hangers in it for a several days of stay. In it was also a safety box. Room also had a full height mirror right next to the entrance door - so you can take a final look before you storm out.
Everything was perfectly clean.

Bathroom was showing that new owner didn't apply full makeover of the establishment. It was clean, had new-looking tiles, plenty of (properly clean) towels, and it was on general up to the 4-star expectation. It had a magnifying back lit mirror, hairdryer, good quality liquid soap, but...

Toilet seat was flimsy, askew, and missing a few rubber bumpers. Glass shield on the bathtub was attached using stainless steel bars that were siliconed into place in haste by someone who is not skilled in this kind of job. Water from shower was able to drip below the glass, between the splattered layers of silicone, and down to the floor.
Bathtub had an anti-slip area on it in the shape of hotel logo, but it was positioned too much to the side behind the glass, so it was of no help when you try to get out of the tub. To make it even worse, curvature of the bottom of the tub is just ideal for slipping on exit. Fortunately there is a towel rack which you can hold on to with one hand to steady yourself... if you are 180cm or higher - otherwise it will be to high for the final landing. You can of course hold on to the thick glass, but that brings with it a whole different set of risks - especially considering how badly it is attached there.

In a bad hotel i'll be quite happy if i don't see any bugs running around, or get a strange looking rash from the sheets.
I know i'm splitting hairs on these bathroom details, but in a good hotel (like this one) i expect that details are also taken care of.

Internet was a kind of pay-to-play cloud WiFi which worked quite ok.

Hotel doesn't have garage. Parking is available on the back of hotel and it is run by Apcoa, but you can pay for it at hotel. However, i was disappointed to learn that a 5 day Apcoa ticket issued by hotel doesn't work in any other Apcoa parking/garage which seems quite unfair considering the price of it and the fact that if you're trying to use it in one place means that you're not parked in the other - and it's the same company. But that's Germany for you: you have to pay even for the air if you plan to inhale it more than once.

Overall i was quite satisfied with my 5 or 6 day stay in this hotel, and if you're attending some exhibition at Stuttgart Messe - this is probably your best choice.

Room Tip: Both sides of hotel are exposed to noise of aircraft taking off, but it is so well insulated that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkovicMilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Mr. Markovic,

thank you very much for the good and detailed rating as well as the time you took to write the comment.

We are pleased to hear that you liked the new style of the Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe.
We would also like to say thank you for the constructive feedback about the room and bathroom. We will have a closer look at this room again.

We hope that we can welcome you at our hotel very soon again.
Maybe next time you would like to take advantage of our Wyndham Rewards Programme where you can earn points for free night stays or collect airmiles or payback points. As a Wyndham Reward Member you also get free upgrades to the next higher room category.

Best regards

Carola Steinle
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Loved the hotel! Very clean and within walking distance of the airport. So nice to stay here and relax before your flight. The train station is in the basement of the airport and a quick ride will get you to the center of Stuttgart. We were there at Christmas and attended a concert and walked through the Christmas Market - Fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear cathyvon,

thank you for your very good rating and the time you took to write the comment.

We appreciate that you mentioned the great location of our hotel.
Very convenient to stay before an early flight or just a 20 minutes train ride away from the city center.

We hope that we can welcome you at the Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe very soon again.

Best regards
Carola Steinle
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We where in the Hotel for just one night. I would recommend this Hotel to visit Stuttgart or the very Close Outlett Shopping Mall "Metzingen". Both, the City and Metzingen are just 20 minutes away by car.
The hotelroom was very clean and in a good standard. Also the Hotelbar was very good. The whole staff was very freindly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alschneiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear alschneiter,

thank you for your very good rating.

We appreciate that you liked the great location of the Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe.
I will also forward the positive feedback to our staff.

We hope that we can welcome you at our hotel very soon again.

Best regards
Carola Steinle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel is situated literally across the road from the airport, and its corresponding S-Bahn terminal, from which you can take the train and be in the Stadtzentrum within the half hour. This makes it ideal as a "business trip" hotel especially as you don't have to worry about battling the morning rush hour to make it to the rental car drop off (I gave my car back the night before and walked it back to the hotel.) The rooms are modern and very quiet, so you are guaranteed a good night's sleep.

The one negative thing I am annoyed about is the service I received from reception during the check-out on the morning of the 12th December. Knowing fully well I needed a speedy getaway, I had paid in full the night before and so that morning I rushed down with the exact change to cover my mini-bar bill expecting to plonk it on the desk, thank the staff and jog to the airport. Instead the guy at the desk (the same guy who had taken my payment the night before!) insisted that I wait behind the other clients who were slowly filling in all their forms and paying for their stays with no rush at all. This inflexibility baffled me, especially as he didn't even give me a receipt for the mini-bar bill but just took the cash and waved me off!

His colleagues, who took care of my check-in, were all brilliant, and I don't want this to be the case of a bad apple spoiling the whole basket. However his behaviour was the one sore sticking point which jarred with an otherwise restful and very efficient stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel face away from the main road and thus quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Michael F.,

thank you for the time you took to write the detailed and good rating for our hotel.

We appreciate that you mentioned the great location of our hotel - especially for business trips. (Airport, Fair Ground, Train and Car Rental place all in walking distance.)

We are pleased that you liked the design of our rooms. Although we are so close to the airport the rooms are quiet due to the sound proof windows.

I will forward the positive as well as the negative feedback concerning our front desk staff.

We hope that we can welcome you at our hotel soon again and wish you a Happy New Year 2014!

Best regards

Carola Steinle
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Literally across the street from the airport, next door to the Messe, this hotel is very convenient for both. The rooms are small, but tastefully designed. Service was nice, the desk always manned by more than just 1 or 2 persons. Nice touch. The only concern we had was walking into a "smoke free" room. There was a heavy smell of cigarette smoke in the hall and that easily transferred into the room. We called downstairs and were immediately reassigned to another "smoke free" room which was truly that. Turns out that 1/2 way down a hall the "smoking" area stops and the "smoke free" area begins. They may need to reconsider that strategy. The room itself was clean, with a small shower/tub. The bed was european firm, and we had a view of the Messe from the 5th floor. It was quiet, and I didn't hear any of the airplanes at all. Breakfast was extensive with a nice selection of breads, juices, sliced meats, fruits, cereals, hard boiled or scrambled eggs, bacon, etc. Parking is in an open lot (guarded arm only) next to the hotel and was not included in the price. We will likely not need a hotel at the Stuttgart airport anytime soon, but it was nice and convenient for what we used it for.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a smoke free room, make sure you state so clearly so they keep you in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandCfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear TandCfromHawaii,

thank you very much for your good and detailed rating.

We appreciate your positive feedback concerning the design of the Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, the rooms and our service.

We only offer approximately 15 smoking rooms in the hotel and therefore cannot have a full smoking floor. Nevertheless I am glad that we were able to move you to a different floor where the room was smoke free.

Thank you for mentioning that you didn't hear any airplanes. Our hotel has sound proofed windows to make sure our guests are not disturbed by any airplane noise.

We are pleased that you liked our breakfast buffet and the large variety of it.

We hope that we can welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards

Carola Steinle
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuttgart
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport & Messe
1.2 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Stuttgart Airport-Messe, by Comfort
1.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Stuttgart Airport Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DORMERO Hotel Stuttgart
DORMERO Hotel Stuttgart
#14 of 148 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
4.0 mi away
Waldhotel Stuttgart
Waldhotel Stuttgart
#2 of 148 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Stuttgart Airport Messe
Ibis Stuttgart Airport Messe
#2 of 15 in Leinfelden-Echterdingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe

Property: Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe
Address: Flughafenstr. 51, 70629 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Grand City Airport Hotel Stuttgart Messe)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 148 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe is situated directly at the trade fair centre of Stuttgart(200m) and just a few metres from Stuttgart Airport(300m). The perfect transport connections of our hotel in Stuttgart are ideal for business travellers who want an uncomplicated journey and flexible accommodation. The Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe Hotel has 229 spacious rooms as well as professional business services and modern conference facilities. There are sufficient parking spaces at the hotel. Free WLAN is available at the lobby and the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing