We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged double the agreed booking fee, and the service is deplorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 January 2014

November 24, 2013:
BOOKING: I booked this hotel for its location and seemingly good price. A few drop down arrows online were stuck/greyed out so with this faulty system we used the phone to book the hotel for two single rooms, under two separate names for a special TOTAL rate 139euro. That still seemed clear on check in. On check out I was charged 278 euro! I had given myself plenty of time to check out because check in was so painfully slow. But despite agreements and explanations and without access to a manager (I had another 2 hours before needing to leave the hotel), there was simply no one around to refund me. I was told to write an email! Well, my first email (addressed to 3 managers) was never responded to. So I started calling weekly in December. None of my 3 calls were returned, as I had been promised AND one time I was put on hold until I couldn't hold the phone any longer. After three weeks, I wrote another email. 4 weeks after my stay I finally got a 'sorry we can't do anything or refund you' letter. So that lands me here, with my review and warning to others!

ACTUAL CHECK IN EXPERIENCE: With two persons the front desk upon check-in, it still took 20 minutes to get to the counter check in. Everyone around was annoyed and the front desk clerks were not at ease and moreover not apologetic.

CHECK OUT EXPERIENCE: With ONE person working the front desk at 5am there was again a line up as many flights leave early. I am glad I had a book with me, and I wasn't running late.

COMPUTER ROOM: Don't go unless you need a real blast from the past and don't mind dusty computers with viruses.

ROOMS: Good, big, quiet. Beautiful Bathrooms.

RESTAURANT EXPERIENCE: The service was average, but the food and drinks were excellent. What could be a sexy classy space was interrupted as a 4 year old child was running around the bar knocking things over and yelling with excitement, for most of the hour we sat there.

*Mostly pained by: I was over charged by DOUBLE despite their advertised special! And there is no recourse or consideration or return of this money after 2 months (not yet!)

Room Tip: Leave plenty of time for check in and check out. ALSO! Should you book a room there over the phone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Like most people, this was a stop over taking advantage of their parking deal. With an exhibition on at the Messe, all rates are variable which means trying to get a good Internet deal - price vary by 2X otherwise.
Room was large, but only half full - seemed to be missing a second double bed or couch. Two TVs. Last occupant had left the heating on 30C. Overall, too hot and too much noise. Easy walk to the terminal though.
Food and service in the restuarant was mixed. Starters good but main courses were poor. It was a busy evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAPStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear SAP Star,

thank you for your rating and the time you took to write the comment.

We are sorry that you didn't feel comfortable in the room. Please feel free to ask if there is a different room available next time. If possible we are happy to help you move.

I will forward your feedback to our restaurant.

We hope that we can welcome you at our hotel soon again when you take advantage of our great location.

Best regards

Carola Steinle
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed one short night to be close to catch early flight next day. You can walk from your room to check-in in a few minutes. Hotel renamed and freshly decorated. Nice and quiet even close to airport, windows even open. Room and beds very comfortable. Too short a time to check restaurant. Would stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank GFM_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear GFM_59,

thank you very much for the good rating and the time you took to write the comment.

We are pleased that you liked the new style of our hotel and that you mentioned the great location of our hotel.

We hope that we can welcome you soon again.

Best regards

Carola Steinle
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a great hotel for early departures or stranded passengers. It is only steps away from the airport. The hotel is modern and clean. Our room was comfortable and we slept well. Even this close to the airport, it is very quiet. The price makes the hotel a good value.
There was some confusion about the wifi...I booked a room that included it but the hotel didn't honor it. Their standard price for wifi is expensive.
It is expensive to eat at the hotel restaurant or at the airport. We made a picnic with groceries from a little convenience store inside the airport.
The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celusnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear celusnek,

thank you for your good rating and the time you took to write the comment.

We appreciate that you mentioned the great location of our hotel.
Due to the sound proofed windows it is very quiet although we are just 200 m away from the airport.

In order to offer high security standards with our Wifi we maintain our internet on a regular basis. Therefore we charge EUR 15.00 for 24 h for internet access in the room.

We hope that we can welcome you at our hotel soon again.

Best regards

Carola Steinle
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel during Blechexpo exhibition, and i picked it because the price was moderate (for location) and location was right across the main entrance to the exhibition grounds.

4-star establishment closer to the airport building is still called Movenpick, but their old 3-star building across the street is for last couple of years called Windham. It has a new owner, has received a lick of fresh paint, and was fixed up where needed. I stayed in it 4 years ago (while it was still called 3-star Movenpick), and i can say that it is now far better than it used to be. Entrance area, restaurant and some other things were completely redone, while rooms and some other things received just a selective but mostly well aimed treatment.

Lobby is now very cozy with a fireplace and tranquil seating area where you can kick back and leaf through coffee-table books stacked on shelves around the area. Front desk staff is very helpful.
Restaurant and bar are good and have their own vibe. They do not suffer from usual bland appearance that is so common for hotel bars even in very good hotels.

I was in room 365. Room itself was quite spacious, but judging by the floor plan it was one of the smaller ones?! If you care about these things feel free to use the attached floor plan to pick the biggest room, but there is simply no need for that.

Room had a properly stacked minibar. Above it, inside the same furniture element was a tray with water cooker and complementary tea and instant coffee. In place where this tray was set, there was a big round hole on the wooden panel, but electric socket was missing!! In other words i had to move the whole tray to the table in the room to plug in the water cooker. For this i had to disconnect the charger&speaker for the iPod/iPhone. If i was a person that uses iThingies i would have been severely annoyed by this.

TV was large enough and well positioned. Bed was a double that could probably be separated into two single beds - and there was plenty of space in the room to do so. Wardrobe had enough space and hangers in it for a several days of stay. In it was also a safety box. Room also had a full height mirror right next to the entrance door - so you can take a final look before you storm out.
Everything was perfectly clean.

Bathroom was showing that new owner didn't apply full makeover of the establishment. It was clean, had new-looking tiles, plenty of (properly clean) towels, and it was on general up to the 4-star expectation. It had a magnifying back lit mirror, hairdryer, good quality liquid soap, but...

Toilet seat was flimsy, askew, and missing a few rubber bumpers. Glass shield on the bathtub was attached using stainless steel bars that were siliconed into place in haste by someone who is not skilled in this kind of job. Water from shower was able to drip below the glass, between the splattered layers of silicone, and down to the floor.
Bathtub had an anti-slip area on it in the shape of hotel logo, but it was positioned too much to the side behind the glass, so it was of no help when you try to get out of the tub. To make it even worse, curvature of the bottom of the tub is just ideal for slipping on exit. Fortunately there is a towel rack which you can hold on to with one hand to steady yourself... if you are 180cm or higher - otherwise it will be to high for the final landing. You can of course hold on to the thick glass, but that brings with it a whole different set of risks - especially considering how badly it is attached there.

In a bad hotel i'll be quite happy if i don't see any bugs running around, or get a strange looking rash from the sheets.
I know i'm splitting hairs on these bathroom details, but in a good hotel (like this one) i expect that details are also taken care of.

Internet was a kind of pay-to-play cloud WiFi which worked quite ok.

Hotel doesn't have garage. Parking is available on the back of hotel and it is run by Apcoa, but you can pay for it at hotel. However, i was disappointed to learn that a 5 day Apcoa ticket issued by hotel doesn't work in any other Apcoa parking/garage which seems quite unfair considering the price of it and the fact that if you're trying to use it in one place means that you're not parked in the other - and it's the same company. But that's Germany for you: you have to pay even for the air if you plan to inhale it more than once.

Overall i was quite satisfied with my 5 or 6 day stay in this hotel, and if you're attending some exhibition at Stuttgart Messe - this is probably your best choice.

Room Tip: Both sides of hotel are exposed to noise of aircraft taking off, but it is so well insulated that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkovicMilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Mr. Markovic,

thank you very much for the good and detailed rating as well as the time you took to write the comment.

We are pleased to hear that you liked the new style of the Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe.
We would also like to say thank you for the constructive feedback about the room and bathroom. We will have a closer look at this room again.

We hope that we can welcome you at our hotel very soon again.
Maybe next time you would like to take advantage of our Wyndham Rewards Programme where you can earn points for free night stays or collect airmiles or payback points. As a Wyndham Reward Member you also get free upgrades to the next higher room category.

Best regards

Carola Steinle
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Loved the hotel! Very clean and within walking distance of the airport. So nice to stay here and relax before your flight. The train station is in the basement of the airport and a quick ride will get you to the center of Stuttgart. We were there at Christmas and attended a concert and walked through the Christmas Market - Fabulous!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear cathyvon,

thank you for your very good rating and the time you took to write the comment.

We appreciate that you mentioned the great location of our hotel.
Very convenient to stay before an early flight or just a 20 minutes train ride away from the city center.

We hope that we can welcome you at the Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe very soon again.

Best regards
Carola Steinle
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We where in the Hotel for just one night. I would recommend this Hotel to visit Stuttgart or the very Close Outlett Shopping Mall "Metzingen". Both, the City and Metzingen are just 20 minutes away by car.
The hotelroom was very clean and in a good standard. Also the Hotelbar was very good. The whole staff was very freindly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola S, Manager at Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear alschneiter,

thank you for your very good rating.

We appreciate that you liked the great location of the Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe.
I will also forward the positive feedback to our staff.

We hope that we can welcome you at our hotel very soon again.

Best regards
Carola Steinle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
DORMERO Hotel Stuttgart
#17 of 146 in Stuttgart
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Pullman Fontana Stuttgart
#14 of 146 in Stuttgart
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe

Address: Flughafenstr. 51, 70629 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Grand City Airport Hotel Stuttgart Messe)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range: £68 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe is situated directly at the trade fair centre of Stuttgart(200m) and just a few metres from Stuttgart Airport(300m). The perfect transport connections of our hotel in Stuttgart are ideal for business travellers who want an uncomplicated journey and flexible accommodation. The Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe Hotel has 229 spacious rooms as well as professional business services and modern conference facilities. There are sufficient parking spaces at the hotel. Free WLAN is available at the lobby and the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing