We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tough walk up the stairs at the end of every day”
Review of Hotel Mack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mack
Ranked #133 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A tough walk up the stairs at the end of every day”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Hotel Mack is clean. Rooms are small but nice. The staff is generally helpful, and have some English. The breakfast is uninspiring. But the price is right!

My biggest problem was that the hotel was on a hill which required walking up 3 flights of stairs everytime you returned. So if you have troubles with stairs, this hotel is not for you. Also, although it is very close (as the bird flies) the main train station is not as easy to get to as you would think. Construction and a very busy road get in the way.

It is a budget hotel, and you get a clean budget room, with helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breakpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    20
    27
    21
    53
See reviews for
6
21
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We were there only for one night. Although the hasn't parking we found a place to park immediately. The staff is very kind. We took 2 rooms. One of them was in the basement and it was better one - The room was large, the bathroom was large, and clean. The second room was on the first floor and it was a complete disaster. The room was very small and needed renovation, bathroom was very small and the towels were in poor condition.
We had a breakfast. It was tasty.
We had a dog with us and it costed 5 €.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zanetttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

After reading several poor reviews regarding Hotel Mack, I almost changed my reservation. However, I stuck with the booking and came away very pleased with the hotel.
The location is good. Yes, there are a few stairs you have to climb. And after a few beers at the festival they seem to double in height and length. But in general, the location is good and fairly central.
The rooms are basic, but clean. A little dated, but for the price we paid, I have no complaints.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was no noise from outside the hotel at night.

I cannot comment on the breakfast as I unfortunately never made it on each of the three days we stayed. However, my friends tell me it was a simple, but very good continental style breakfast.

All in all, Hotel Mack was a decent bargin. I'd go back should I ever visit the festival again.

Room Tip: I managed to get the room on the bottom floor next to the entrance. It was large and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinbyrne1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

You get what you pay for. I chose this low price hotel just to spend 2 nights for the conference having no expectations. It was clean, good location, OK breakfast.
What was the most surprising - the stuff. I had to get up at 3.45 am for leaving. My alarm/phone did not work. No alarm clock was found at the hotel. A front desk woman supposed to leave her duty around 12am. Nevertheless she offered to come to work on the purpose to wake me up and knock at the door.
Well, I did not trust that nice attitude at the beginning, I thought it was just a nice wording to a customer.
To my surprise the knock at the door occurred exact on time. On the top of that the woman (sorry, forgot her name) prepared a cup of coffee for me while I was waiting for a cab.
I never seen such warm help in any many starr***** hotel.

Many thanks to the stuff of the hotel Mack !

Room Tip: Make reservation in far advance thus you can get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galactic h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Spezia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

i did not expect that such a low price hotel would be so nice and comfortable.
the hotel is very clean,great breakfast,located very close to the main station and just around the corner from the all the main shopping streets.but above all the staff was very very friendly and made my nice stay in stuttgart even nicer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyal f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The hotel is at walking distance from the railways station, nice staff and nice breakfast. Though the room had a funny smell.
Suitable bargain for a quick trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Location and 47 euro for a double with continental breakfast.unbeatable.rooms small, tv small but overall great.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_eagle64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Pflieger Hotel Stuttgart
Pflieger Hotel Stuttgart
#49 of 146 in Stuttgart
116 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#9 of 146 in Stuttgart
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
IntercityHotel Stuttgart
#55 of 146 in Stuttgart
253 reviews
Aloft Stuttgart
#19 of 146 in Stuttgart
228 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof
#26 of 146 in Stuttgart
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mack

Property: Hotel Mack
Address: Kriegerstr. 11, 70191 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Hauptbahnhof
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mack 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing