We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Mack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mack
Ranked #132 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel is near the train station and downtown. They gave us a huge room which had good wifi although it was difficult to open the room's door. Staff was very friendly and helpful and they gave us a map. The breakfast was average, just a normal breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicSustaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Mack for just a single night en-route back to the airport. If you are arriving into Stuttgart by train then the hotel is a 5-10 minute walk up the big hill going away from the Town Centre. You can see the sign of the hotel as you are walking towards it.

There are 2 ways to get to the hotel - take 3 flights of steep stairs, or carry on up the hill, past the hotel and turn right. This is the way you would go if you had a car or can't take the steps. I would advise taking the steps if you can as it's a much quicker route to the hotel!

We arrived slightly earlier than planned and the rooms were not quite ready, but the helpful staff let us drop our bags off so we didn't have to carry the around all afternoon.

The rooms were fine - clean, tidy and the bathroom/shower was clean with toiletries provided.

The location is excellent for the centre of Stuttgart - all the main City Centre can be accessed easily, as can the U/S Bahn networks and the DB Hauptbahnhof, if you need to get a long distance connection somewhere.

We did not take up the offer of breakfast as we had to leave very early to get to the airport - so cannot say if it is good or not.

Overall, I would recommend staying at the Hotel Mack - just if you have mobility problems, the steps could be an issues.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rheadworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for the wknd in august, the hotel was 5 minutes walk from the train station and about 20 minutes to the main town centre shops/bars etc. we didn't have high hopes for the hotel but we were pleasantly surprised, nice clean room and lovely breakfast. all in all i'd recommend the hotel mack

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Hotel Mack is clean. Rooms are small but nice. The staff is generally helpful, and have some English. The breakfast is uninspiring. But the price is right!

My biggest problem was that the hotel was on a hill which required walking up 3 flights of stairs everytime you returned. So if you have troubles with stairs, this hotel is not for you. Also, although it is very close (as the bird flies) the main train station is not as easy to get to as you would think. Construction and a very busy road get in the way.

It is a budget hotel, and you get a clean budget room, with helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breakpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We were there only for one night. Although the hasn't parking we found a place to park immediately. The staff is very kind. We took 2 rooms. One of them was in the basement and it was better one - The room was large, the bathroom was large, and clean. The second room was on the first floor and it was a complete disaster. The room was very small and needed renovation, bathroom was very small and the towels were in poor condition.
We had a breakfast. It was tasty.
We had a dog with us and it costed 5 €.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zanetttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

After reading several poor reviews regarding Hotel Mack, I almost changed my reservation. However, I stuck with the booking and came away very pleased with the hotel.
The location is good. Yes, there are a few stairs you have to climb. And after a few beers at the festival they seem to double in height and length. But in general, the location is good and fairly central.
The rooms are basic, but clean. A little dated, but for the price we paid, I have no complaints.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was no noise from outside the hotel at night.

I cannot comment on the breakfast as I unfortunately never made it on each of the three days we stayed. However, my friends tell me it was a simple, but very good continental style breakfast.

All in all, Hotel Mack was a decent bargin. I'd go back should I ever visit the festival again.

Room Tip: I managed to get the room on the bottom floor next to the entrance. It was large and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinbyrne1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

You get what you pay for. I chose this low price hotel just to spend 2 nights for the conference having no expectations. It was clean, good location, OK breakfast.
What was the most surprising - the stuff. I had to get up at 3.45 am for leaving. My alarm/phone did not work. No alarm clock was found at the hotel. A front desk woman supposed to leave her duty around 12am. Nevertheless she offered to come to work on the purpose to wake me up and knock at the door.
Well, I did not trust that nice attitude at the beginning, I thought it was just a nice wording to a customer.
To my surprise the knock at the door occurred exact on time. On the top of that the woman (sorry, forgot her name) prepared a cup of coffee for me while I was waiting for a cab.
I never seen such warm help in any many starr***** hotel.

Many thanks to the stuff of the hotel Mack !

Room Tip: Make reservation in far advance thus you can get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galactic h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof
Hauptbahnhof
Pflieger Hotel Stuttgart
Pflieger Hotel Stuttgart
#56 of 146 in Stuttgart
119 reviews
IntercityHotel Stuttgart
#58 of 146 in Stuttgart
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#8 of 146 in Stuttgart
779 reviews
Feuersee
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#122 of 146 in Stuttgart
279 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof
#24 of 146 in Stuttgart
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mack

Address: Kriegerstr. 11, 70191 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Hauptbahnhof
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range: £33 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mack 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing