We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Alex 30 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alex 30 Hostel
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I booked Alex30 after seeing the great reviews here. I was not at all disappointed. The hostel was a short walk from the main station. The staff are really friendly - always willing to help with any questions or directions. The room was clean and so was the bathrooms. I did think that being on the second floor it was a little tedious to get the luggage up - but that's just a minor thing.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road will have some noise from the tram and traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prakashh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Heading says all. Very helpful staff manning the front desk. I was delighted that my room was only on the 1st floor as I read from reviews that lagging your luggage up the higher floor is a nightmare. Thank you. Located at a rather convenient are, walking distances to a lot of place of interest, palaces, churches, park, shopping mall, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chempaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Don't follow the advice of Google Maps and walk to the hotel- there's a bunch of really convenient S-bahn stops nearby that save a whole lot of walking up and down hills. The hotel is very clean; rooms are pretty standard for a hostel. Staff at the front desk are really friendly and will help with directions, etc - they know quite a bit. The hotel doesn't have an elevator so the higher the floor you're on the more stairs you'll obviously have to do - in hot weather though you may get more of a breeze. There isn't air conditioning. Shared bathrooms but the bathrooms are really clean and separated based on genders (the same for showers). There are fans you can rent (I believe for a deposit) if you're too hot.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank wonderguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

After a horrifying day, my friend and I collapsed in Alex 30 Hostel. The staff was accommodating after we discovered we'd booked our stay for the wrong night. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. No there isn't air conditioning, but the room temperature isn't an issue with open windows. A fan is available if needed. The staff was very knowledgeable about local attractions and sights. For 1 euro you can buy a city map and the staff pointed out things to visit. There is plenty to see within walking distance of the hostel as well as delicious local eateries. Two-thumbs up from this newbie to the hostel world.

Room Tip: When you booking with hostel bookers.com you get free WiFi. Aim for a room on the lower levels becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincinnatideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Rooms, corridor and toilets were very clean. Good location, just 3 minutes away from the tram stop. Free towels with a 5 Euro deposit. Friendly and highly efficient reception staff, stay here if 24 Euros/night is well within your budget

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flytheworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The staff was very personable and easy to talk to, the place was very clean and the location was convenient. The only difficult part was the stairs but otherwise, it was a great hostel. They had breakfast which was a good spread. The hostel is walking distance to the schlossplatz and also has the ubahn close by. I've never been in a cleaner hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This place was clean, convenient and friendly. The stairs are a little tricky to navigate, especially with luggage, but otherwise it is good. The bathrooms are fine and the rooms are standard hostel rooms.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hotel Stern Stuttgart
#130 of 146 in Stuttgart
44 reviews
Rathaus
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Stuttgart Centrum
#19 of 146 in Stuttgart
715 reviews
Le Meridien Stuttgart
#3 of 146 in Stuttgart
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex 30 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex 30 Hostel

Address: Alexanderstr. 30, 70184 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Stuttgart
Price Range: £24 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALEX 30 Hostel, the first hostel in Stuttgart with the service of a hotel. Our hostel is located in the center of the provincial capital Stuttgart. In our artisticly designed rooms we will provide our guests with a hotel-like service combined with very favorable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alex 30 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing