We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner/Manager, Fred is extremely rude”
Review of Alex 30 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alex 30 Hostel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Owner/Manager, Fred is extremely rude”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I booked to stay at Alex30 Hostel in Stuttgart, Germany for 3 nights.
On the last night I had a heated discussion with Fred who claims to be the owner & manager. Honestly, with his customer service skills, i'd be surprised if this was true.

I owed the hostel Three (€0.03) Euro Cents. This amount came about because I had €1.40 in my wallet on my final night in Europe before returning home to the UK the next day. I was using the hostel's computers and hopped off the computer when it reached €1.40. Unfortunately, i hadn't realised that the computer timing doesn't stop when you stop using it. It proceeded to go up to €1.50 by the time I went immediately to the desk to pay. I think this is an outdated practice, but it wouldn't have been a big deal if it wasn't my last night in Europe, so I was low on coins

I explained my situation and offered the €0.07 in bronze I had. This was still not good enough and Owner/Manager, Fred threatened to kick me out of the hostel that night (occurred approximately 22:00) and then threatened to call the police when I couldn't pay the additional €0.03

Owner/Manager, Fred, said it wasn't how much I owed, but that I owed the hostel money. I wasn't exactly calm at this stage, but Owner/Manager, Fred seemed to enjoy threatening me.

Is this how he treats travellers very often? I found his behaviour reprehensible and it coloured my entire hostel stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlliK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    56
    32
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
9
49
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I booked Alex30 after seeing the great reviews here. I was not at all disappointed. The hostel was a short walk from the main station. The staff are really friendly - always willing to help with any questions or directions. The room was clean and so was the bathrooms. I did think that being on the second floor it was a little tedious to get the luggage up - but that's just a minor thing.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road will have some noise from the tram and traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prakashh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Heading says all. Very helpful staff manning the front desk. I was delighted that my room was only on the 1st floor as I read from reviews that lagging your luggage up the higher floor is a nightmare. Thank you. Located at a rather convenient are, walking distances to a lot of place of interest, palaces, churches, park, shopping mall, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chempaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Don't follow the advice of Google Maps and walk to the hotel- there's a bunch of really convenient S-bahn stops nearby that save a whole lot of walking up and down hills. The hotel is very clean; rooms are pretty standard for a hostel. Staff at the front desk are really friendly and will help with directions, etc - they know quite a bit. The hotel doesn't have an elevator so the higher the floor you're on the more stairs you'll obviously have to do - in hot weather though you may get more of a breeze. There isn't air conditioning. Shared bathrooms but the bathrooms are really clean and separated based on genders (the same for showers). There are fans you can rent (I believe for a deposit) if you're too hot.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

After a horrifying day, my friend and I collapsed in Alex 30 Hostel. The staff was accommodating after we discovered we'd booked our stay for the wrong night. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. No there isn't air conditioning, but the room temperature isn't an issue with open windows. A fan is available if needed. The staff was very knowledgeable about local attractions and sights. For 1 euro you can buy a city map and the staff pointed out things to visit. There is plenty to see within walking distance of the hostel as well as delicious local eateries. Two-thumbs up from this newbie to the hostel world.

Room Tip: When you booking with hostel bookers.com you get free WiFi. Aim for a room on the lower levels becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincinnatideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Rooms, corridor and toilets were very clean. Good location, just 3 minutes away from the tram stop. Free towels with a 5 Euro deposit. Friendly and highly efficient reception staff, stay here if 24 Euros/night is well within your budget

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flytheworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The staff was very personable and easy to talk to, the place was very clean and the location was convenient. The only difficult part was the stairs but otherwise, it was a great hostel. They had breakfast which was a good spread. The hostel is walking distance to the schlossplatz and also has the ubahn close by. I've never been in a cleaner hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Rathaus
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rathaus
Zauberlehrling
Zauberlehrling
#35 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex 30 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex 30 Hostel

Property: Alex 30 Hostel
Address: Alexanderstr. 30, 70184 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALEX 30 Hostel, the first hostel in Stuttgart with the service of a hotel. Our hostel is located in the center of the provincial capital Stuttgart. In our artisticly designed rooms we will provide our guests with a hotel-like service combined with very favorable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alex 30 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing